We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
567
273
114
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
273
114
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared poolisland barhalf boardmain poolsea viewcigar barmain restaurantcretan restaurantsea waterjacuzzi on the balconycold towelssymposium restaurantturn down servicemini marketonsite shopreception staffprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 993 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017

My partner and I specifically chose this property because it was adults only (no kids splashing around) and remotely located, for an opportunity of rest and relaxation, away from the hustle and bustle of big city life. We were primarily looking for ocean views, access to a pool and spa/massage services. This property excelled in those areas, not so much in others. These are our Pros and Cons below.
PROS:
1. Lovely property (well laid out with many different areas and great oceans view all around). Excellent balcony view room with great nightly sunset views. Lobby is airy and beautiful. Landscaping is quite lovely.
2. Excellent SPA services (clean, spacious and MANY different treatments available). World class.
3. Housekeeping staff and cleaning staff were all friendly and attentive.
CONS:
1. Front desk services and management completely AMATEUR. Not knowledgeable of basic locations in town. Upon arrival, we were sat down and basically were attempted to be upsold on packages including buffet and tourist tours. Felt cruise ship like and cheesy. No personal touch.
2. With such a large property, no one was assigned to show us around to where all the facilities and amenities are located. Just a map. "Where is such and such located?" Answer: Look at your map. Missed opportunity.
3. When you walk into the huge lobby daily, 4 or 5 people are standing around by the desk, waiting for you to approach them. No one greets you by your name. Deer in headlights feel. Very stiff. Lacking experience, warmth and character. All what's necessary for a 5 star property.
4. Cheesy list of activites printed on Xeroxed piece of paper. We've seen better list of activities from free YMCAs in the States.
5. No local Cretan flavor and culture represented in the hotel. Felt very generic.
6. HORRIBLE FOOD. We are not snobs. But local fare was not represented well. On property "restaurant" options were confusing, specifically what is open on what night and how to get there. Mainstays most night are the dinner buffet services. Free breakfast buffet has many options. Mostly European continental fare lacking flavor. Pool side food offering mediterannean fare where horrible in flavor.
5. Clientele. If your are a modern, well travelled young adult, hip and fun, you will find mostly older, prudish couples from Germany, Greece, etc. on holiday just laying about and roasting on lounge chairs and lapping up the generic buffet fare. Felt like a 60 and older facility for European pensioners.
6. Transportation. For such a large property, the only transportation they partner with to go into the local town is a rickety "choo choo train" bus clearly designed for kids that stops at other hotels and properties on the way to to town. Not 5 star. They will call you a cab though that arrives within 10 minutes for 7 euro to go into town. The choo choo train bus is 4 euro. What's the point?
OVERALL:
Step up your personal service, attention to detail and your food and you will have a 5 star property. 3 stars at best.

Stayed: September 2017
6  Thank localrusticglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

1. Next to a busy highway with big trucks going by twenty four hours a day and in the middle of no where
2. Crappy check in
3. They do not honor confirmed reservations and try to offer anything they can to get you to settle
4. All inclusive does not even include free water with meals, be ready to pay seven to ten dollars Canadian for one bottle
5. Buffet food is not even average and if you complain about a certain item they will offer you a shot of vodka so you won't complain to the front desk
6. Rooms are outdated and baths are old and no real shower
7. If things don't work in your room ie minibar fridge or bath they take forever to fix(in our case we needed fridge to work so my wife could keep her diabetes injections cool and we told them ten times and for an apology they sent us a chocolate cake with nuts and we told them she had a nut allergy. When asked to speak to a manager they never seem to be around)
8.bar is extremely expensive, $54 for 3 drinks and bar is always empty and service is poor and don't complain if the drink is not well made because bartender gets upset
9. Entertainment in the evening is the worse I have seen in twenty years
10. Management is never around and no one accepts accountability for screw ups
This was our thirty fifth wedding anniversary and they did just about everything wrong to make our stay crappy
Claims it is a five star and is at best a 3 star

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lynnisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We had a fantastic stay and service at the hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and provided us with a great service at all times and the sommelier Pavel knew exactly what he was talking about, just as well as the F&B Manager! Thanks for this unforgettable service!

Room Tip: Great little pools for each housing block (consisting of 8 rooms, in 2 houses)
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias_Schlimpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We have just returned from a week at this resort. The hotel in my opinion deserves 5 star rating, staff are excellent, food good, accommodation and gardens first class. However, this resort is in the middle of nowhere, one hour to Heraklion or more the other direction to Rethymon, there is nothing here except a small village 4 miles away called Panormo which is very pretty with a nice beach. The evening entertainment was abysmal, two evenings out of seven with one night Greek dancing and the other a Latin show, this reason alone we would not return here which is a great shame. Most people appeared to sit outside their room with a bottle of wine in the evenings as there was nothing else to do.

Room Tip: All different depending on your budget
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Large village-like resort, managed by Tui (one of largest German tour operators), smells a recent renovation: buildings, rooms, gardens, infrastructure look in very good conditions.
Personnel are very courteous and efficient.
Buffet at Symposium Restaurant is various and meets nearly all tastes.
Can't judge a la carte other restaurants, but surely are too costly.
Beware of ordering greek wines: outrageously expensive.
Overall atmosphere is rather boring, despite all surrounding luxury, must have your own car in order to get around the island (Royal Blue is practically in the middle of nowhere).
All in all, a nice place but overpriced.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TheSakeOfTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews