We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's House Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's House Hotel Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Panormos B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a special place. The staff are very helpful and welcoming, the location is superb and the hospitality is excellent. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the courtyard allows you to sit and watch blazing Sun sets before heading out to dinner at one of many excellent tavernas on the waters edge. This isnt boutique accommodation, it is simple, thoughtful, clean and homely and when the surrounding landscape is this stunning you won't spend much time in your room anyway. Thanks for making our first week as husband and wife so perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepitsimplestupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

if you want to spend romantic time on Crete, stop at the "Captain's house" Great mood, friendly service. Hotel beautifully located just above the sea.
Walk through the streets of the town, is a real pleasure. If you like fresh bread for breakfast, a bakery waiting for you in the morning.The hotel have homely atmosphere, a lot of freedom. Everyone can find a place .I visited in June.
Ps: do not miss the sunset sun:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a really wonderful week there. The owners were very friendly and had a good tavern with affordable prices and great food. The owners met us with free drinks and were in general very helpful and kind. We got a room with a nice terrace and a window overlooking the sea. There was enough room and we got very soft and nice bed linen. The towels were changed on the bathroom cleaned regularly. The place is just a few steps from two quite nice beaches and on a nice street whre you can shop for souvenirs. There is also a supermarket some 50 meters away. Panormo itself is very convenient to reach from Rethymno. As we stayed for a longer period, there was no problem to pay by card. There is good parking space by the port.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pliumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Passing through, spending only one night there. Very nice location at waters edge. Very touristy place. Good parking, high steps to walk up to hotel. Room pretty but not recommendable to people w leg or balance problems. Wooden steps without railing from bedroom to bath. € 45 for 2, no breakfast. Beach dark sand, crowded, swimming not as pleasant as in some of the beautiful bays we came from. As our flight was late evening we asked if we might keep the room until 13.00, which was denied. Already at 09.30 am the cleaner was at our door, reminding us "you must leave today", upon which we reassured her that we would be out by 12.00. She parked her cleaning gear (bucket, laundrybag), right at our doorstep to make sure we wouldnt forget. She even dumped some of it right on the chair in front of our room which was supposed to be our resting chair. No credit cards accepted, although 3 machines stood under the desk. All over Crete noone took credit cards, not even the pharmacy. For obvious reasons. In Panormo I also encountered a rather rude woman in the bakery. Altogether not a welcoming experience, just a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Panormo at the Captain's House. The apartments are at the water's edge with fantastic views over the Med, also nearby (less than one minute) are a group of fabulous local tavernas selling fresh local food, and the beach (maybe about a minute) which never seems to get too crowded. If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday in a lovely place then this is perfect for you.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

This year we've decided to rent a place as close to the beach as possible. I've found such a place in a small fishermen village called Panormo, appr. 50 kms from Heraklion. We have rented a suite that accomodates 6 persons but can sleep 2-4 additional guests if they are willing to sleep on sofas that open into double beds. The suite has 2 bathrooms+jacuzzi as well and a well-equipped kitchen with nice furniture, appliances and a/c. The best part, however is the terrace that is facing the sea. Fantastic view and sea breeze. The sandy beach is just a few steps away and the tavern that is attached to Captains House is incredible! Just tell them what you'd like to eat and they will prepare it for you: fresh fish and seafood, vegetables and such. Great location and great price value off the tourist trail...

Helpful?
1 Thank Rayush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panormos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iliana Panormos
Hotel Iliana Panormos
#5 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marelina Villas & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Kastro Apartments
Kastro Apartments
#6 of 14 in Panormos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Philoxenia Apartments
Philoxenia Apartments
#3 of 9 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirki Village
Kirki Village
#2 of 9 in Panormos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Hotel Suites

Property: Captain's House Hotel Suites
Address: Panormos, Crete 74057, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Panormos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's House Hotel Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's House is a unique beautiful old traditional building built over the sea with a magnificent view. It is located over the port and the golden sandy beach of the small fishing village Panormos. Captain's House has been recently restored into fully equipped apartments designed to offer comfort and leisure, a lounge and a nice restaurant which offers traditional greek food and fresh fish. If you would like to enjoy this style of life and the pure hospitality of the Cretan people then your holiday at Captain's House is the holiday you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Captain's House Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain's House Hotel Suites Panormos, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing