We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Costa Taurito
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
Reviewed February 26, 2009

great location for quiet hol. the beach was great. the hotel was great really clean and quiet.
we didnt go fully inclusive and there wasnt anywhere locally to eat and cos the £ is so poor against the euro it was very expensive. this didnt spoil the great time we had. we were glad we hired a car.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annunziataDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 599 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

It's safe to say that this hotel did not really meet our expectations. While the employees running the reception desk were quite nice and polite, the restaurant staff was incredibly rude, even to the point of rolling their eyes at a simple request for some water. My husband and I are not demanding guests, and this was supposed to be our super relaxed vacation for the year. It was an incredible disappointment. The food was mediocre at best. We were all inclusive, but we found that there were a lot of exclusions to that deal. In addition, the hotel is located directly on the main road, so the traffic noise was less than relaxing. There's also a lot of major construction going on right across from the hotel, and it looks like will be going on for quite some time.

I would like to emphasize, however, that the reception staff was great. They are the only reason I gave the hotel two stars instead of one. It's sad that they have to work for such a disappointing resort.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We have just returned from the Costa Taurito after a weeks stay and thought I would try and give future guests some factual info.
First of all Taurito is a very small bay with a few hotels, there isn't many bars and resraurants unless you visit a hotel on an evening, the few bars that are on the beach front close early on an evening. The beach is pleasant and sea is lovely, there are sunbeds and parasoles that you have to pay for. There are a few shops in the centre with a hotel pool (lago taurito) which has water slides which you can pay to get in (about 3 euros each and its salt water) there is also crazy golf and tennis courts (tennis costs 18 euros with 5 returned when you return equipment. It takes about 30/40 mins from airport in a taxi and costs between 50/60 euros, the taxis are generally cheap and reliable.
The Costa Taurito is at the 'back' of the bay, but is only a short walk to the centre and beach with a small slopey hill, not too steep.
The rooms are quite spacious with a sunny balcony facing cliffs, having said that it is still pleasant. There is building work going on araound the hotel but it isn't noisy at all. There is plenty of storage space and endless hot water for baths or lovely powerful showers. There is a hair dryer (which is a pipe but does the job) there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I took a kettle and it was ok to get tea bags and coffee sachets from the bar. The fridge in the room isnt quite a fridge! it doesn't make and keep things cold, it just holds the temp of whatever you put in. I bought milk which went off in a matter of hours so it was of no use really, i recomend buying powdered milk. There are sometimes tiny ants which once squirted with repellent do not return! If you tell reception they sort it immediately. The maids come every day and make the beds and change towels if you leave them on the floor, they also empty the bins, there wasnt much cleaning done (washing tops, floors, bath etc). A safe costs 27.50 euros for a week and you get 10 back when you return the key.
Reception staff are excellent, happy to help with anything, info, more pillows, coat hangers, pillows etc but if they call you a taxi they charge you (have never known that before).
The pool bar opens at 11 and food starts at 11-30 toasties, chips, burgers, hot dogs, all ok but you are not allowed cheese on your burger!!!!. you can help yourself to tea coffe hot choc etc and ice cream at the bar. dry cake is available between 4-5, after this you cant get a hot drink till 6 which you have to go to the inside 'piano' bar. The pool bar closes at 6pm, but the sun shines till about 7-30/8pm. The sun doesnt get onto the pool till between 10-11 on a morning depending where you sit.
We found all the food very nice and plentyful, fresh fish and meat are cooked for you while you wait and there is also a wide selection of other stew, meat fish, veg etc to choose from. Breakfasts were excellent too with lots of different things, hot bacon saus etc breads, cereals, fruits, danish pastries and smoked salmon and champagne if you wanted. I found the chefs friendly and excellent at what they did but unfortunately the waiting on staff were hopeless.
Entertainment was probably the worst we have seen anywhere, 3 shows were on in the week, just dancers, it passed an hour but nothing great. the other nights was just a cd playing in the back ground or a man came in and played the piano or guitar (which soon emptied the room). The two older guys that usually served in the piano bar on a night were, rude ignorant and miserable. There is an Italian girl called Glays who was an 'entertainer, she did, shooting, archery water aerobics etc through the day and was great with the kids, everyone got on with her and the kids loved her. There is no smoking in the hotel, you can in your room or at the pool but not in the bar you have to go out side. All inc stops at 11pm ON THE DOT and the bar closes at 12 ON THE DOT even if you are sat they just turn the lights off and tell you to go out side or in reception area. In the bar and reception area it is freezing cold, they have air con on very high so take a woolie! it is actuall warmer to sit out side.
There are other nationalities in the hotel but all was very friendly while we were there, the hotel was very quiet while we were there, less that half full until the weekend when a load of spanish arrived on the friday, they took over the pool and dining room from the friday but by sunday evening were all gone again.
There is a bus stop to the right of the hotel at the round about with busses running every 15 minutes to peurto rico (only 1 euro 15) or amadores beach (this beach is a must, gorgeous, shops, bars etc) sun beds are 2.50 parasol 2 euros but a lovely day out, only 5 euros in a taxi from hotel. peurto morgan is also a lovely little fishing harbour/town with a big market on a friday.
All in all we had a lovely quiet relaxing week with no hassle, the weather was gorgeous and we met some lovely people. Most of the staff were really excellent, the hotel was very clean and food was lovely. Just remember though that Taurito is very small and quiet with not a lot going on especially on an evening.
If you need any further info just contact me.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank butchersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

My Daughter & I have just returned from gran canaria .
We enjoyed the peaceful,relaxing,clean hotel.
Lovely food including champagne & smoked salmon for breakfast.Very spaceous room with balcony,view of the sea,good pool,sauna,gym.Friendly & helpful staff. Three evenings of very good shows. Two dance groups & an excellent reptile show.
Good beach for swimming & snorkelling, Excellent bus service to rest of island. Close to the pretty resort of Playa Mogan,with market. Would recommend to travellers who want to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SushiDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Staff were few and far between, unfriendly and sometimes just plain ignorant. The food was very mediocre to say the least - even boiled carrots presented for breakfast! The bar closed at 11pm for all-inclusive guests. Not 4* standard in our estimation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Have just returned again from the Taurito Princess hotel (10 - 17 December 2007) and can honestly say that it was a great place for a holiday. It was 'all inclusive' and it was lovely to stay there again.
The staff are excellent and the ambience of the place is most enjoyable. I admit it is a little isolated but the hotel runs a coach to nearby Puerto Rico, Puerto Mogan and somewhat distant Maspalomas on different days.
We had a lovely room on the 10th floor, with a really good view, the weather was very good although it changed big time the day after we left.
The only gripe I have about the hotel is that the food has definately deteriorated since last year, although is still good and plenty of it.
If you like pork, Heaven has come early!!
Having said that, you would never be hungry and the lunch is actually probably better that the evening meal.
Several regulars are of the same opinion about the food.
The 'all inclusive' works very well and the service at al the bars is very good.
There is no 'loutish' behaviour and most of the clientele are really nice.
The outdoor pool was not warm which was a pity as it was seldom used; the sauna area could be improved to being more 'user friendly' but all in all, the hotel was great.
I may well return next year.

1  Thank Gemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

When me and my partner arrived we were greeted by a very rude lady receptionist. We asked about having a safe and were told it was 35 euro's...very expensive when you can just lock your belongs in a case-but we did it anyway, we continued to ask if there was a shop near by and were told it shut at 9...the hotel shop was never open in the 2 weeks we spent there so we had no way of getting any drinking water. We continued to go to the room where it looked pretty basic. The balcony had bird [--] all over it and the mini bar was empty and very dirty. The shower leaked, and not just a little it flooded the whole bathroom.It seemed as though we were just shoved on the 1st floor-right at the end, no where near the pool. We put our stuff down and proceeded to go down and check out the pool. When we saw it, we looked at each other with dissapointment, it was very small and only around 30 sun beds. Feeling very dissapointed already we went for dinner. Food is atrosious, I lived on chips and bread and my partner on what poorly cooked meat there was available. The fruit was always bruised and never looked fresh and the juice machine only produced some manky water substance. When this was complained about, it then tasted like pure sugar.
We then went for a drink in the piano bar, NO ENTERTAINMENT and if you smoke you will spend you holiday like an outcast, sitting outside in a poorly lit concreted area, where you are shut off from any one else in complete silence.
There was only another 2 English people there the entire time we stayed there. It was mostly German, Dutch and Spanish. After a very disppointing start to the holiday we went up to the room. A few times i noticed the odd bug in the room but the last straw was when i layed down a few bits on the bedside cabinet i noticed something moving, it wasnt just one thing it was hundreds of what looked like wood coloured ants-but smaller, there was hundreds, as we looked closer they were all over the floor and over the headrest. At this point being extremley pissed off we went down stairs for a stiff drink. When returning to the room we found a cockroach in the bathroom (I know this maybe noramal for the country) but i didnt want to touch it, so i stormed to reception and asked to move rooms, the moody receptionist then told me we couldnt move rooms, untill i broke down in tears she chucked a new room key at me, she shoved us again at the opposite end of the hotel,so we had to move our cases a long way. When we went back to the room we realised there was a nest in the corner of the room,She knew what she was doing when she moved us and just to be funny she put us the furthest away she could from our last room. Well from this moment on she really had it in for us and we never got a smile or a sorry. The vending machine ate our money and never gave us anything in return and the same for the cigarette machine. Which the reception staff seemed to find funny.I had a massage from the hotel massure who got oil over the hotel towels, i put it on the floor so the maid would change it the next day, it was just hung up on the peg and was not changed for 4 days. I smelt it to check.
..the sheets were not changed once in 2 weeks as i made a mascara mark on the sheets to see if they would be. They wernt. All staff were extremley rude and not helpfull. The area had nothing but hotels. You couldnt even eat out unless you got a bus or taxi out of taurito, there was no entertainment whatsoever. We spent most of the time at the beach. There is a parrot cage on the way to the beach where we once walked along the decking to look at. When standing on the decking the wood was so weak my foot went straight through it, cutting my foot. Who do you tell that too????There was no one to tell. This is the WORST hotel i have ever been to and the staff made it no better. This is the WORST area i have ever been to. I am heartbroken when i think of how much money we scrimped and saved to spend on our one holiday a year, expecting a little bit of luxury. I really really would reccomend you not to stay there, it's devestating to think i wasted my annual leave on that. These are only a select few of the problems we had, i have a list as long as my arm....and my partners. I would be really interested in any one who has taken action further. Please email me. Eshelleyk@aol.com.

Charlotte

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RobandcharRobandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.2 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
0.7 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.2 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Costa Taurito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Costa Taurito

Address: Calle Alcazaba No. 1 | Playa de Taurito, Mogán, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mogan
#8 Spa Hotel in Mogan
Price Range: $139 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Costa Taurito 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Costa Taurito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Costa Taurito Hotel Mogan
Costa Taurito Mogan
Paradise Costa Taurito Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing