We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No plan B in bad weather.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Costa Taurito
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No plan B in bad weather.....”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and altho I still wouldnt say the hotel is 4* by general standards, it is a very decent 3* and actually a very nice hotel.

On arrival we were given a ground floor near the pool as requested on our booking, (Room 103).. the room had two 3/4 beds and a childs Z-bed... Spacious enough for what we needed and the rooms were spotless and cleaned daily.

The resort itself consists of 5 Paradise hotels which all surround the water park, a few shops and the Areana Plaza but other than that there is not much else going on.

The entertainment is mainly centered around the Plaza (not much actually goes on in the hotel itself after dark) and is aimed more so at the children, which in fairness was perfectly fine by me. The main issue with this resort is that if the weather is bad it's pretty much game over!! They have no Plan B!! Unfortunately we had bad weather, so were reduced to spending most evenings watching DVD's in the room because they closed the Plaza Arena and didn't offer any alternatives - thank goodness we took our daughters DVD player.... !!!

Sadly, this time round all the staff seemed a bit 'fed up' to be honest... merely going thru the motions! The food served was a bit hit and miss when it came to choice but perfectly edible and I think if you keep an open mind then you'll be okay, we didnt starve anyway!!

Pool towels were available at 1 euro per towel, per day... and altho we went at various times of the day we never had any problems getting three sunbeds together... The water park is great with some good slides and lots of sunbeds although not actually free even to AI guests... and be advised, the water park is salt water unlike the pool in the hotel.

....In summary, I would say if you are a group of party animals this is not the hotel/resort for you but if you're looking for a quiet family holiday based around the pools and a little light entertainment then this will do the job, just hope for good weather to get the entertainment as advertised...otherwise go prepared with a plan B...!!

Room Tip: Rooms 102 - 114 are on the ground floor away from the main hotel and nearest to the hotels pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoofoowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    202
    108
    43
    32
See reviews for
163
236
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clacton-on-sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 2nd week October
Our room (115 ground floor next to reception)was very nice clean good shower very good aircon maid service very good nice patio with table and chairs. lighting could of been better safe should be free on AI (3 euro per day)as should pool towels(1 euro per towel per day)
Food was very nice good choice at all meals loved the goat and the tapas.Self service beer wine and soft drinks at meal times.They did at times run out of some items but as chef is cooking fresh all the time just have wait a short time for more.
Drinks were fairly good could of been more choice of spirits ie local versions of malibu and tia maria and cocktails were not up to usaul standards.
Didn't really use reception apart from check in and out but they seemed ok.
Swimming pool was bit small but allways found beds and room for a swim.
Seemed to be plenty of day time activitys but as we were out and about did not take part guy in charge think his name was Karell seemed really nice.
There was no evening entertainment in hotel which was rather a let down.
As others have said you cannot get to watch shows in plaza as all seating is claimed by famlies very early and shows for adults do not start till about 9pm.Think they should have seperate area for adults in evening.
Water park was great with some good slides and lots of sunbeds althought we thought they should of been free for AI guests.
Word of warning if you have hire car there is not alot of parking as parking outside hotel is used by all other hotels in resort.But we did find waste land by roundabout which seems anyone can use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I went to the costa taurito in march 2012, our first all inclusive holiday, we had a great time everything said about the hotel in previous's revies are exactly right clean hotel clean rooms lovely food amazing staff what more can I say, we enjoyed it so much we have just come back from another week with friends and are going back for another week or two next september, we never go anywhere twice let alone 3 times. Thanks to everyone sue and richard sandra and paul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have just returned from the paradise costa taurito hotel where I spent 10 days. Hotel is lovely and clean, rooms very nice and air conditioning is ok. the pool area is great we never had any probems getting beds but it was quieter obviously being later in september I could imagine if the hotel was full then it might be a different story, but the pool has a no sunbed reservation rule which seems to work ok. The pool bar is good ad friendly staff. Piotr who does the animation for the hotel does a great job. Every day there was loads to get involved in if you wanted to but he also left you to it if you preferred just to relax. The area that has all the night time animation was fine, the amination itself is not the best but it was easy watching and the team were all very friendly. the bar at the entertainment area was ok it could get a bit busy but whats the rush your on holiday, there was a good mix of people and nationalities and never expeienced any rudeness or attitude. The resort consists of 5 hotels which surrounds a water park and a few shops but other than that there is not much else to do. The water park is salt water which is a bit of a pain and doesnt help with the sun burn! its not the most state of the art place but passes the time and the kids would love it. Food at the hotel is good, I never had any problems finding something to eat but my husband wasnt overjoyed with the selection some nights as he doesnt like fish but overall it was fine. the only thing I would say is there was a LOT of fish and I found the meat was a bit bland although I would say the goat was fab and the chocolate ice cream was worth the visit. We went to the market in mogan(which was about 7 euros in a taxi, but you could get the bus at the end of the street if you wanted) on the Friday which is the usual stuff but again gave you something to do. We also went to great restraunt in mogan one night for a steak as my husband was craving some red meat! overall I would say the hotel and overall holiday was great and i would return. Krabi spa which is across the road is wonderfu, me and my husband went for a massage(me 30mins full body aloe vera and hubby 30 mins back ,neck,shoulders massage) couples get done in the same room which is nice, it was so worth it and good value for money came to about 70 euros in total and this included up to 2 hours in spa itself which was lovely and relaxing and gets the skin ready for the sun so would recommend

Room Tip: all rooms face the same directions but I would say ask for a higher level to get the sun right up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank littlesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked with Travel Republic and I have to say - best holidays in last 5 years! Hotel was clean, staff helpfull and friendly. Food was good, whatever u like to eat u wont go out hungry. Fresh fruitsand veg, cakes, ice creams also in. Animations in hotel and also near the waterpark. Swimming pool is a bit small but there is a Water Park included in AI. Also nice gardens, heli pad if u need one and disco from 11pm (3 euros for small Heineken). Some ppl here are complaining for small choice of drinks in AI. I didnt had this problem. Ask nicely and be friendly and they will mix something good out of AI range. Big thanks to Piano Bar staff, restaurant staff and last but not last to Tony from Pool Bar. Best ppl ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Is it Paradise? Probably not. Is it a good place to spend a couple of weeks away from it all? Definitely.
Overview: The hotel is towards the end of a narrow valley, the river Taurito, what’s left of it, empties under the beach by the Water sports centre. The gardens are glorious, and I am sure even more colourful at the height of the season. Misfortunately the other side of the valley is marred by the remains of a partly built hotel, probably the result of the Europe wide recession. The beach is small with fascinating rock formations and caves at low tide. Some days the sea is utterly benign and the ocean a joy to swim in. on other days mighty Possidean wakes with a hangover and the undercurrent and cross tides throw great boulders onto the beach and suck anything foolish enough to wander too deep under foamy waves. (self-included) Within a few hundred yards around the cove, or a ten minute bus journey is Puerto Mogan, a charming town with glorious floral displays, a Friday market and various choices of restaurants and boat trips.
Arrival: First impressions very good, Light airy reception. All clean and sparkly. We arrived on 19/09/2012 at lunchtime, so there were interesting smells coming from the nearby dining room, (Being barbecue day there were also inviting odours via the patio.) Svetlana greeted us very professionally, and had quickly processed our booking , told us how to find room 223 and about the immediate area and the All Inclusive facilities, this includes the evening shows and pools/bars at the other two Paradise hotels. For those with children who want to take part in the animation activities, these mainly start at Paradise Largo.
Room: Cleaned daily by the friendliest team of chambermaids I have ever encountered, they speak as little English as I do Spanish but sometimes as long as you include a friendly Ola! It is just as good to talk in pantomime and sign language. Bedrooms are a good size for a couple, but could have done with some extra space for storing folded clothes. Three very shallow drawers meant that we stored our more bulky items balanced on top of the safe. Having not entered any but the one room I am not sure if they are all the same, but fear they could be a bit cramped if you have more than two children with you = I would advise checking if there are family rooms available. We would have preferred a double room, but apparently there are very few, and all were booked by the time we chose our holiday. Bathroom was clean, spacious and all in good working order. Nice powerful shower with hot water at any time of day. Being desalinated water it does nothing to improve the taste of toothpaste, and compared to the beautiful soft water of Pembrokeshire, is prone to using up soap at a rate of knots = take an extra bar with you. The hotel provides a little basket of essentials, but the soap/shampoo/shower-jell are just enough to see you through a day or so if you have not bought your own.
Staff: Having worked in hotel and Catering before I salute the lot of you. A very international team is on site and working long shifts. We had only one technical problem: a couple of the lights in our room did not work. A technician in a brown shirt was there within half an hour. Problem solved.
Meals: Generally good quality, lovely fresh salads, sadly overcooked green vegetables. Limited range, but tasty fruit. Good variety of meats and fish both for lunch and dinner. Waiting staff all very friendly and helpful. For those who like a cooked breakfast you may be disappointed, cold meats, cheeses, breads and pastries are all fresh and tasty, but the eggs and bacon are overcooked and cold. A suggestion to the Kitchen manager: warm plates by the hot foods and cool ones by the cold.
Animation: Daytime: Well planned and easy going: any who want to take part are welcomed; those who don’t are not hassled. Evening Young people’s disco 8.00-about 8.45 Bingo or similar 9.00-.40ish then a show. It ain’t Vegas but is all done with good humour and (almost) seamlessly in at least three languages.
Recommendation: Would I go back? Were I looking for another holiday in Gran Canaria almost certainly, and would recommend to friends. It has its drawbacks: having to get bus/taxi for anything “Paradise” unrelated is a bit of a bind, but having briefly explored Puerto Rico we were very glad we booked where we did.

Room Tip: Our room was more Tree view than Sea view, but the sea is only a moments walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salmonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean (if You can call so, because I would call it more “clean enough to live in”, staff is also great, just one big minus – drinks from “AI” list ( it has only 4 options for cocktails and all of them are so “mixed” that You really don’t know the ingredients of them  I don’t like this idea…). Food- variety is not a very big one, but taste is good. Fish was almost every day, fruits – small variety, but also good (only apple, piers, watermelons, melons, bananas, plumps and peaches).
The place for hotel is really nice and calm, for rest and high quality vocations I think it’s a big plus. Ocean is very close to the hotel, and all the necessary services are also
You can easily find car rent companies next to all the hotels (in hotel the same car costs 40 EUR per day, in “shopping area” it cots 30 EUR per day). Also, in some areas you can travel by bus. Bus station is just next to the hotel.
Price and quality – 8 points from 10.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agne M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.1 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
0.2 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.7 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Costa Taurito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Costa Taurito

Property: Paradise Costa Taurito
Address: Calle Alcazaba No. 1 | Playa de Taurito, Mogán, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mogan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Costa Taurito 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradise Costa Taurito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Costa Taurito Hotel Mogan
Costa Taurito Mogan
Paradise Costa Taurito Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing