We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Cordial Mogan Playa(Puerto de Mogan)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$270
$251
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
157
218
66
27
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
218
66
27
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond resortsshuttle busroad noisespiral staircasesauna and jacuzzion site restaurantpool arearefurbished roomtable tennisevery other daymistral restaurantdvd playercleaned timeshire carsmall shopone bedroom apartmentwater park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 511 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I selected this location via our RCI membership. We were not disappointed. Fantastic location with views to the sea. Get a hire car at the airport it is worth it just to get up into the mountains and travel about the island.( the 'global bus service ' is frequent. We did over 1000 km driving about the island. Use the resorts web page for directions to get there.The motorway goes almost to the bottom of the hill ( taurito exit). Watch your speed, especially in the tunnels (average speed cameras )The staff were were very friendly and polite in all departments, and they also arranged for us to have resort parking (2 euros a day). Parking can be fun otherwise. Our apartment was on level 4 and the lifts were working but if they are not and you are on the lower levels then yes you have got to be fit or you will be by the end of of your holiday. Despite there being reference on their web page of refurbishment in progress etc we did not see or hear any evidence of it. The restaurant has a varied menu at reasonable prices. Try the sangria. The only downside is that the restaurant is adjacent to the pool area. The pool was open every evening until 8pm with the added luxury of 'topless bathing' - (various sizes/ portions but fortunately not on the menu). Very off putting whilst eating and for families with young children. We did hear a few comments re this. The apartment was newly refurbished and well equipped. Housekeeping good.
This was our second visit to the island but our first at this resort.We had an excellent stay and would recommend this resort to others. One final note - the weather was absolutely fantastic , very very hot. Do not make the mistake that a lot of people do and get burnt. Take the sun cream. Chris Heather B

Room Tip: Hope for an apartment on level 4-6 otherwise there is a lot of steps if lifts not working.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments and your tips, surely they will be greatly appreciated. We are delighted to read that you had an overall great stay and enjoyed all that the island have to offer, despite some of the unexpected sightseeing. We are grateful for your time taken to share your experience and hope to see you again soon!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Steps steps and more steps , we stayed here for two nights,the staff were in the most part nice apart from the gruff receptionist.but what lets it down is all the steps,the lift is not working so if you are allocated a room on level one you have to be very fit. Beware of parking we like many others got a ticket,but no warning from the staff and they must know,we were not offered hotel parking although there is some.the mini market is very sparse lots of shelves but nothing on them.
Information was defenetly lacking, oh and don't forget the steps 62 before you find a lift

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WORLEKIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We regret to read that you found the resort a bit hilly, however it is the tiered design that allows us to offer excellent views from most of our apartments and we are often complimented by guests with regard to this. We would kindly note that our team and our website do always try and offer our potential guest the full information regarding our layout to ensure that this does not cause any inconvenience. We apologise if you were not aware of this and hope that you were not dissatisfied by this or the parking issue. We wish you all the best on your future travels

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Myself, my wife and our 3 children (17, 15 and 12) stayed at Cala Blanca. Some friends of ours, members of Diamond Resorts, gave us a week here as a gift, and we booked the second week directly with Diamond Resorts, as we needed a 2 week break.

I thought I would provide as detailed a review as possible, as I have read differing reports both on TripAdvisor and on other review sites.

We rented a car at the airport and drove to Cala Blanca – it’s a (maximum) 45 minute drive, all by motorway to the (recently opened) Taurito exit – please note, you may not see this recent motorway extension on all online maps. As a result, the coastal road is now very, very quiet, thus completely eliminating all noise that some previous/earlier reviews mention. More about cars and driving later…
Check in was pleasant and uncomplicated – very friendly reception staff (available 24 hours a day). There is an internet enabled pc available to guests in the lobby area if required, as well as a book borrowing and DVD library available for all guests.

We opted for a 2 bedroom unit and I had emailed a request for a “refurbished room”, having read in previous reviews that a refurbishment of rooms was/is underway. The room we were given was not a refurbished room (apparently, as we were told, only 3 of the 2 bedroom units have been refurbished as of June 2014). This was not a problem, as our apartment was lovely, and above all else, very clean.
Yes, I would agree that the rooms could do with a bit of a makeover, but there was nothing about it that caused any problems whatsoever. A small gate opens up to a large outdoor seating area, with a large outdoor dining table, chairs and sun loungers. 2 sliding doors open to the main living room area, with large sofa (doubles up as 2 sofa beds), flat screen TV, DVD etc. There are 2 steps up to the well-appointed kitchen area with fridge freezer, hob, oven, microwave etc. I was relieved to find a coffee percolator – a necessity for me!

There is a small downstairs toilet and shower, beside a twin room (the twin room has sliding doors out to balcony also). A spiral staircase leads to the upstairs (large) double bedroom and large en-suite bathroom. This is a lovely room, with large wardrobe, dressing table, flat screen TV, and its own balcony.

The housekeeping staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive – and despite previous reviewers comments, our apartment was cleaned twice a week. All of the housekeeping staff make a point of saying “Hola/Buenos Dias” to all guests (UK & Irish hotels, please take note!!). Fresh Towels are provided – additionally, towels for pool use are available at the reception desk (I wasn’t told this upon check in – I heard this from a rep who gave a brief welcoming meeting on the Sunday following our arrival).

The pool area is amazing – a very nice, deep swimming pool – lovely and warm, and cleaned every morning by pool attendants. There are ample sun loungers around this (admittedly, June is considered a quiet month), but we never had difficulty in securing sun loungers during our stay. There is a semi-covered seating area, should you wish to take a break from the glorious sun, located beside the restaurant/café/bar area.

The bar/restaurant is run by very friendly staff – every day there is a different theme (BBQ, Canarian evening etc.). Food is good, though we only ever ate lunch here – drinks are all circa €2.50 each – a fairly average price in the area. We ate pizza here one day, and paella on another day – all very good.
Kids/teens can avail of the 2 outdoor pool tables, table tennis table and Wii “tent”, all conveniently located beside the pool. There is also a small gym and tennis court, and indoor hot tub, but we never used these.

If you like nightly entertainment (not my thing at all), there is nightly entertainment available, ranging from live music, Flamenco dancers etc.

Now, a few points to note – this resort, due to its position, has lots of steps, although there are 2 lifts available to reduce the amount of steps required to take. I wouldn’t advise people with babies, young children to consider this, as a result, nor elderly people who find steps a struggle. There was a couple with a baby and pram, and every day I saw them struggle to lift it up/down steps near the pool/restaurant area.

A few other points of advice….there is a courtesy bus available that many people use, as well as an abundance of taxis available (taxi rank at foot of road leading to resort – 5-10 minute walk down hill). Car hire is very cheap in Gran Canaria, as is fuel (circa €1.10 per litre), and the roads are not busy in this part of the island, making it less stressful for British & Irish visitors to drive on the “other side” of the road! However, parking outside Cala Blanca can be a bit difficult – from Friday nights to Sunday evening, the parking areas outside the resort are very full. The police (as we were told) had to take a major pay cut, and are now paid commission on parking tickets issued. I got a €40 parking ticket for parking in a loading area. At weekends, you may have to wait up to 15-20 minutes for someone to pull out of a parking bay. During the week, this is not as much of an issue. Also, we were told that the tunnels (there are many on the motorway in this part of the island) have average speed cameras, so ensure you keep to the 80 km/h limit whilst driving through tunnels.

WiFi is free by the pool/restaurant areas, though very slow at busy times – there is a paid WiFi service for guests, accessible in all apartments, though this is “pay per device” based (€15 per week for DiamondResorts members, more expensive for non-members). My teenage sons found this to be a problem, as I was not prepared to pay €15 per week for all of their web enabled devices. I do think WiFi should be complementary to all guests in their apartments, as is the norm in most hotels nowadays.

My only other (slight) gripe was the overly persistent sales rep that was beside the pool area every day, trying to sell (extremely expensive) sun creams etc. Despite telling her the first time that we were not interested in buying her products, she kept trying to sell to us every other day.

The nearby town of Puerto do Mogán (7 minute drive, also accessible via the courtesy bus service from Cala Blanca) has a lovely beach and a large selection of very good restaurants and cafes, overlooking the beach and harbour areas. We ventured out to Mogán most evenings. Very nice.

If you are looking for late into the night nightlife, Cala Blanca is not for you – we absolutely loved our stay here, and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Request a room nearby the pool/restaurant area to avoid lengthy walks!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Feedbacks_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you very much for this detailed and extensive review of your stay at Club Cala Blanca – we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday here, and we feel sure that future travellers will really appreciate all the information you’ve provided.

As you’re aware, the resort has an ongoing programme of refurbishement. We’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to allocate a refurbished apartment for you on this occasion, but we’re pleased that your apartment still met with your satisfaction.

Due to the terms of our current contract for internet provision, we are unfortunately only able to offer individual connections per device. We are taking on board all feedback received from our guests in this regard, however!

We hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we are really pleased that you would recommend Cala Blanca to others. We hope you’ll choose to come back here in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Like others, I just didn't want to come home and am anticipating my next trip already.
Can't complain about anything at all. Staff were attentive and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.
The bar staff were great company throughout the holiday. Felt lie,we were leaving friends behind! what more could you want?
The apartment was great , the restaurant fantastic value for money! The half board option was a real bonus, being able to opt in on a daily basis is a great idea.
Maybe not the best resort for anyone with mobility issues due to the steps but the peace and quiet and totally chilled atmosphere was very Welcome and just what we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you chose to stay at Club Cala Blanca, and that our team helped make your stay here a thoroughly enjoyable one. You are correct that the resort has quite a lot of steps, although the front desk team will be happy to provide assistance and advice to any guests with mobility issues, and we would recommend that you contact us in advance of your stay if you have any concerns in this regard. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Gran Canaria – we’d love to see you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff at the restaurant (Todd, Gerado and friends!!) are all lovely, welcoming and brilliant at their jobs! Really made a difference to everyone's stay to have such lovely and professional staff. The entertainment was good although would prefer it went on longer into the night but was still enjoyable. Food great, good quality and affordable. Staff really can't do enough to help you at both reception and restaurant. Pool area lovely, can imagine it gets very busy in peak months but in June it was perfect. Will be back again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola220188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We are so pleased to read that you would not hesitate to pay us another visit, we hope we will not have to wait too long-thank you for your comments!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews