We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cala Blanca
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Like others, I just didn't want to come home and am anticipating my next trip already.
Can't complain about anything at all. Staff were attentive and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.
The bar staff were great company throughout the holiday. Felt lie,we were leaving friends behind! what more could you want?
The apartment was great , the restaurant fantastic value for money! The half board option was a real bonus, being able to opt in on a daily basis is a great idea.
Maybe not the best resort for anyone with mobility issues due to the steps but the peace and quiet and totally chilled atmosphere was very Welcome and just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you chose to stay at Club Cala Blanca, and that our team helped make your stay here a thoroughly enjoyable one. You are correct that the resort has quite a lot of steps, although the front desk team will be happy to provide assistance and advice to any guests with mobility issues, and we would recommend that you contact us in advance of your stay if you have any concerns in this regard. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Gran Canaria – we’d love to see you again!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    182
    48
    20
    34
See reviews for
121
216
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff at the restaurant (Todd, Gerado and friends!!) are all lovely, welcoming and brilliant at their jobs! Really made a difference to everyone's stay to have such lovely and professional staff. The entertainment was good although would prefer it went on longer into the night but was still enjoyable. Food great, good quality and affordable. Staff really can't do enough to help you at both reception and restaurant. Pool area lovely, can imagine it gets very busy in peak months but in June it was perfect. Will be back again :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola220188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We are so pleased to read that you would not hesitate to pay us another visit, we hope we will not have to wait too long-thank you for your comments!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place to stay.At the moment there is a big refurbishment of the apartments going on but the workers are very polite and seem to go about their work in a professional manner.The staff are very helpful and if anything is possible they make it happen.The courtesy bus to Puerto Rico and Peurto Mogan is superb and saves a long walk up and down the hill. The BBQ night was a great success and the food very good and beautifully displayed.I have always loved staying but think it will be amazing when the refurbishment is finished.Met some lovely people as on an evening most guests went for happy hour to the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to the ones being refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are glad to read that our refurbishment program has not inconvenienced you and that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and made the most of your stay in the area. We are looking towards another opportunity to host you again in the future!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just got back from a week at Cala Blanca and wish we could have stayed longer, the staff and the service were brilliant they couldn't do more to be help, and are great with children. Getting a hire car might be a good idea as there are quite a few hills, the free tour that you are offered takes you to a sales pitch which takes an hour and a half but the rest of the tour is well worth doing. But all in all the resort and the accommodation were better than I had expected and none of us wanted to come home, I would 100% recommend anyone to stay at the Cala Blanca regardless of age or family size and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you didn’t want to leave our resort!
We are thrilled that you were pleased with your apartment and the service offered to you. We are sure other travellers will take the tip of hiring a car.
We hope you will return soon.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Currently enjoying our fifth visit to cala blanca never thought I'd keep returning to the same place but it's just so relaxing and stress free. Pool isn't quite as warm as on previous visits which is disappointing but other than that excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are pleased to know that you had an overall pleasant stay and we hope that you will keep on coming back as it is always a pleasure to host you. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent a week here in April 14 and it was lovely. It genuinely took me a couple of days to adjust to the peace and quiet, we even found ourselves whispering on the balcony during the day! Talking of balcony it was a big beauty with table/chairs and loungers. Apartment was modern and well appointed. All staff were great, the food is good, the entertainment laid back and best of all according to my darling partner the pool is heated - like swimming in a bath she said.
Very good local bus service and the hotel kindly lays on a comp shuttle bus three times a day each to Puerto Rico and Puerto Mogan. For me PR for cheap shopping and PM for enjoying good food & wine in a very pretty laid back resort.
A wee tip that worked for us - one morning got the shuttle into PR and decided to get the ferry shuttle back to PM to have lunch. The ferry usually only takes 25 mins or so but at 1030 and 1230 everyday it takes an hour for no additional charge and visits the dolphin feeding areas. We got the 1230 and blow me we seen dolphins! Not bad for 6.50 euro one way, 11 euro return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimnjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are so glad to know that you had such a pleasant and relaxing stay here with us and enjoyed the peace and quiet which we hope contributed to you feeling relaxed. Thank you for the great ferry tip you agreed to share with your fellow travellers. We hope that we will see you again soon!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a refurbished one bedroom apartment. The inside is well equipped, but it is pretty small (lounge, kitchen bathroom and bedroom, and the furniture of an IKEA type standard. However the outside terrace is of the same floor area as the entire apartment, and gets the sun from about 1pm (mid March) until sunset. It is also quite private, and the space we spent most time in (apart from maybe bed) whilst at base. The whole complex was pleasingly peaceful, though we were staying in term time.
There is a small bar next to the nice rooftop pool (plenty of beds), and a restaurant which we didn't try. There are a LOT of steps in the property.
There is nothing in Taurito at all, apart from huge hotels where I presume people eat in. We went out every evening in Puerto Mogan, where there are loads of restaurants. We got the public bus there (tip - you can out {but not in} of the complex at a gate at the lower road fence which is much nearer the bus stop), and a taxi back.
Unless you are going to sit around the pool you need a hire car, but not in the evening as apparently there is a zero tolerance of drink driving now.

Room Tip: Apartments at the far end (looking left as you enter reception) have better views around the headlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are pleased to read the account of your recent stay and we hope the we will be given another chance to host you and offer you a great quality stay in the near future! Thank you for your kind words!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
11.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
13.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Property: Cala Blanca
Address: Calle Albaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mogan
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mogan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing