We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant week's stay”
Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Blanca
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely week at Cala Blanca recently.
We were pleased with our week's stay there, but above all, from the moment we arrived, mid- Saturday evening, until the day we left, seven days later, the staff at Cala Blanca were EXCELLENT.
Everybody we met from the reception staff, the maintenance people and the housekeeping staff were superb. Lots of smiling faces and a good morning/afternoon etc whenever we met them PLUS, if we had a query(no complaints, we hasten to add) it was dealt with quickly and efficiently by whoever we spoke to. The apartment was lovely and fully met our needs and although we only ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings we found the food and service very good. The barbecue on the Thursday was very good value for money.
Our apartment was at the bottom of the complex, near the road, and having read reviews from others were a little unsure of what to expect. However everything was fine and we heard very little road noise and as we live in a very rural area, traffic noise can be offputting. In fact we used it to our adavntage a couple of times for catching buses into Puerto de Mogan. When one goes down, another will follow in around 10/15mins - just time to walk to the bus stop. We believe the new motorway extension may be taking some of the traffic away.
Our only minor gripe, but it didn't affect us was the 'towel brigade 'appeared to be in evidence - 10 people in the pool or in the restaurant/bar, but far more more towels out. This was despite being told on day 2 that they would be removed. It was not busy when we were there so not a problem but...

The shuttle service is excellent and you are provided with a little pass. If you want to eat in Puerto de Mogan for example, you could get the shuttle down and either the public bus back(1.40Euros one way) or, for around 7/10Euros, depending on the lateness, you can get a taxi back. I also agree with other people that the road up to Cala Blanca from the bus stop is NOT to be recommended in darkness.

We had seen one or two mixed reviews prior to going but we were very pleased with our holiday here and will go again. All too often it is the complaints that we read/hear about but definitely NOT on this occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank starveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

It is very important to us to ensure that all our guests can enjoy their stay in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and we are really pleased to read that this is exactly what you have experienced. We are also glad that you have found your apartment to be well appointed and comfortable. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that we indeed are trying to inform all our guests about the sun lounges 'reservation' policy and the fact that reserving spaces with personal belongings is not a technique we are promoting at our resort. Nevertheless, we regret if this has caused you any inconvenience and hope we will have another opportunity to see you back at our resort soon!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Cala Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 461 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My partner and I mainly chose this hotel because of the port/sea views on the pictures and we found a pretty good deal on a room too. I phoned up via Venere and had direct contact and so could ask for a specific room higher up the complex with the views and any other wishes we had. When we arrived they told us the rooms higher up were being renewed and that they had arranged a different room but still with great views. We expected the worst because we didn't know what we were getting. But it was great! Big balcony, splendid views of the beach and Puerto de Mogan and the apartment had all the facilities you want. The staff was very nice, genuinely nice and helpful. Everybody said Buenos Dias and Gracias with a smile on their face. A couple of nights we used the room service and ordered dinner from the menu. It was quick, warm and no extra cost. DVD's can also be rented with no extra cost. The hotel is located at Taurito, which is a bit isolated and you will depend on busses and taxis if you don't have your own car. We rented a car for just €80 for the whole week. It was well worth it. We had the freedom to do anything at our own pace, it was great. The roads are very well maintained. I would strongly recommend going to Puerto de Mogan. We parked at the Dino supermarket and walked to the port. Just as you walk into the town you bump into the grill restaurant called Zona Verde. Delicious food and very friendly staff!! As you go further into the town there are beautiful colorful flowers everywhere, covering the streets, gardens and houses. Tip: Go to the lighthouse for a cool drink and some tapas.
If we would go back we would definitely stay at Cala Blanca again.

Room Tip: We wanted a nice view and phoned up to reassure that. We stayed in room 219 and it had a great view...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBallantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments following you recent stay here at Club Cala Blanca. We are really glad to read that you have found our location to be ideal to explore all the attractions in the area - thank you for sharing some of your tips with your fellow travellers!
We believe that it is the team as well as the standard of accommodations that makes a resort special and we are very pleased to read that you have found our staff friendly and welcoming. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service in to you again the future!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at Club Cala Blanca for 1 week during the Easter Holiday. Had a lovely time whilst we were there with beautiful weather! Hotel itself and the surrounding areas are all very clean and well kept, we had a lovely refurbished room with air conditioning, dishwasher, DVD player, docking station for iPod etc. Whilst we were there the room was cleaned 4 times, and bins emptied pretty much everyday. All staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and were always available at reception 24 hours a day.

Reading reviews before we went we saw a lot of people complaining about road noise, this we did not have any issues with as the new motorway is now finally open.

Only downside was the shop wasn't as well stocked as it could have been, this wasn't a huge problem as there was a supermarket just at the bottom of the hill in Taurito where we went a few times for a wider range of food.

We ate in Puerto De Mogan every night for dinner and all the restaurants are lovely there, taxi was around 7euro's each way not too bad.

Only ever had a snack in the hotel restaurant which wasn't that great but again not a problem as mogan has plenty of restaurants to choose from!

All rooms had beautiful sea views.

We enjoyed our week so much that we have already booked to come back and visit in July this year! We look forward to seeing you then.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieDavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you had a relaxing stay here with us and you were satisfied with the standard of accommodation and the level of service we offer. We apologise if the assortment of products available in the on-site shop was not sufficient for your requirement, however, as we hope you will appreciate, there is limited storage space on the premises, which a limiting factor. We are pleased that you have not found this too inconvenient and made the most from the supermarket nearby.
We are glad that you are coming back to see is again in July - till then!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The good: well equipped spacious apartments with dishwasher, full oven, DVD player. On site laundrette for 5 euros but you have to provide your own washing powder.

I'm afraid that's all the good points. The apartments were only cleaned 3 times in 10 days despite saying in the guide 4 times a week which meant overflowing bins. No clean towels etc.

The location is not good, long trek up steep hill in the dark as no lights and massive potholes! There is a minibus daily driven by the most miserable bloke but it only goes a few times a day and nothing after half five ish so long trek up and down hill to public buses
no shops or returants within walking distance and the rip off on site shop is poorly stocked and massively overpriced I suspect taking advantage that theres no shops nearby!

The returant on site is also shocking!

Don't get me started on the ( I use the word loosely) entertainment!! Old codger crooning to a hand full of people every night!

By far the worse though is the use of the hotel pool by what I suspect was family members! Which meant no sun beds and paying guests having to put their towels on the floor!! We did ask reception about this and was told they was guests, although they were seen getting into their cars every evening and was only seen there over the bank holiday!!!!! As I say "family favours"!!

It's such a shame as these apartments could be very nice if they sort out the cleaning issues, daylight robbery shop, and run the minibus longer into the evening, also if there is too many people for the free bus some of you will be turned away and he doesn't do two runs!! I think another bus is severely needed!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. As we always strive to provide the best experience possible it is disappointing to us when guests highlight areas which they were unhappy with.
The cleaning schedules are as per the information on the reservation confirmations and bins are emptied daily unless a guest leaves the “Do not disturb” sign on their door. If additional cleaning is required we would always urge guests to contact the front desk where they will be happy to make the necessary arrangements.
During the Easter period we did experience 100% occupancy levels which would explain the reason why the pool area was exceptionally busy whilst you stayed with us. The resort facilities are solely for use by members and paying hotel guests. Some of which may live on the island but have opted to pay to stay at Club Cala Blanca Resort over the Easter holidays.
Whilst we do not have a large selection of products in our onsite shop due to storage restrictions, we do clearly display a sign asking guests to let us know if they are unable to find what they are looking for and we will be endeavour to find it for them in less than 24 hour, if not the same day. In terms of prices, we do believe they are similar to any convenience store you will find onsite at hotel/resort properties and exchange rate values should always be taken into consideration. There is a large supermarket in Puerto de Mogan which is accessible using our shuttle bus and which will deliver orders directly to the resort. Many guests find this a great service and use it regularly.
The driver of the shuttle bus is regularly praised for his friendliness so we are sorry to read you did not find this to be the case.
In closing we are pleased to read that you were impressed with the spacious apartments and that you were able to take advantage of the extensive apartment amenities which we are able to provide our guests with.
Thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you will return to Club Cala Blanca again in the future.

Kind regards

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this for just the two of us but my 17 year old son decided to join us.there was no extra cost and this sums up Cala Blanca.Really friendly staff who are there to help not to sell.Christopher was always great.even the manager came around the pool and asked if everything was Ok
The apartment had been refurbished to a high standard and although near the road the traffic noise was not obvious.
The only negative was the restaurant. Food uninspirational therefore we went into Mogan most nights

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

It is very important to us here at Club Cala Blanca to personally ensure that all our guests have a lovely time and we are delighted to read that our facilities, standard of accommodation and the friendliness of our team all contributed to you having an enjoyable time.

A new motorway has recently been built on Gran Canaria which takes the traffic much further away from the resort, which we are expecting to significantly reduce traffic noise at Cala Blanca from now on.

We hope to see you back with another visit!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely holiday. Third time to the Island. Location of Taurito is very nice. Water park and crazy golf by the beach. Nice little unspoilt beach. The apartment was very clean. Newly refurbished. Very comfortable. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The pool area is small but nice. The restaurant is ok but when busy had a long wait. Pizza wasn't cooked properly and was cold. Only went the night we arrived which was about 10.30pm and was nice . Went once more the following Saturday when new people had arrived and was busy. Food wssnt as good. It was a shame. Could be a nice little restaurant. The walk down the hill is a nice walk but the streetlights have been vandalised . These should get fixed when the road at the bottom is finished to open the motorway exit . There is a great shuttlebus into mogan port and Puerto Rico. It is driven by a lovely man who is a great driver. We would definitely go back again. It was a great base for us to stay. Better weather this side of the south coast during the winter months.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerrihacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this as a late deal and weren't disappointed! Great staff, brilliant pool, table tennis, wii games, tennis courts etc will keep little ones amused all day whilst you relax on the sun beds making the most of the sun! If you want to relax by the pool and take the odd free shuttle for an afternoon out then this hotel is ideal for a week away. The shuttle bus is driven by a very friendly chap who is always on time. Visit Mogan for a late lunch - shuttle leaves at 2.30 and returns at 5.45 - just in time for happy hour! Mogan is one of the prettiest places I have visited and has some really great restaurants. We liked Basil's where we had fantastic homemade paella and a glass of wine for 11 euros each. The view and the food couldn't be beaten. The Spa shop in Mogan will deliver food back to your room if you spend over 30 euro. We had read other reports about road noise - there is no getting away from it you are literally next to the main road if your room is on the ground floor - which we were. The road noise didn't bother us at night but it can be noisy during early morning and evening if you are sitting outside. It didn't spoil it for us as the hotel more than made up for this. The only one thing I would say is that the food in the restaurant is average. We don't particularly like frozen chips at the best of times let alone when we eat out. This is the only area where I feel the hotel could improve. We ate in or went to Mogan for food which was much better. With this said we will definitely try to return as we all had a great time.

Room Tip: High rooms are further away from the road and quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilovehols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

At Club Cala Blanca we strive to offer our guests an exceptional holiday experience and we regret to read that you have not been impressed with the food served by the on-site restaurant. We would like to kindly note that the restaurant is not managed by Cala Blanca and unfortunately we have little influence on service there, nevertheless we apologise for the inconvenience you may have experienced and we will address this with the restaurant management team. We are pleased to read, however, that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and we are glad that you intend to come back for another visit!

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,155 reviews
30.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
13.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Address: Calle Albaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
Price Range: $74 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing