We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cala Blanca
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great hotel, very friendly staff, quality of the rooms are great.
The sunchairs in the pool area are extremely good and the view is very nice. No separate pool for small children.
All in all one of the best hotels I have ever visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiErTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    183
    52
    20
    34
See reviews for
126
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed there in the summer after booking the trip through secret escapes, it worked out at £147 for a weeks accommodation (£21 a night), so to be honest I wasn't expecting much.

The staff were great, the pool was nice, well kept, other good facilities. Happy hour for drinks, a great view, spacious apartments with new TVs, dishwashers etc.

Generally a lovely place, i wouldn't recommend it if you don't like hills or are not mobile., but otherwise it was great!

Room Tip: Best to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJW_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that the standard of our resort has exceeded your expectations and we are happy that you have found the apartment you were staying at conveniently equipped and comfortable. We do always stress that Club Cala Blanca is a hilly resort and sometimes access may be difficult for those with limited mobility, however our team are always doing their best to provide assistance to anyone who may need it.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The accommodation is great, massive balcony, orange juicer, 2 tvs ?? and 2 radio ipod players!! Very very comfy beds. Again same as other reviews, shame about the road, we were right next to it, but we didn't ask to move as it was ok at night and someone has to be next to it, will be much better when the motorway through the hills is completed. I think the restaurant was nice at the hotel and it was very nice having a bar open unto 12 at night (every other diamond resorts we have stated at closed the bar early and all of these resorts tend to be quite isolated if you're wanting a couple of beers).

Here are some useful tips which we worked out in our time in Taurito.

the number 91 leaves the airport and finishes at Playa del Cura which is the next village along (North on the costal road) from Taurito, and there are a couple of buses e.g No1 which go to Taurito. It's a bit of a walk with the cases so might be better to get a taxi but the No1 goes all night and No91 finishes about 8.30pm http://www.globalsu.net/lineas/linea91.pdf

the hotel bus is useful it leaves at 10am to Mogan and returns at 11am, it does seem to get quite busy so probably best to arrive early.

We left on a friday which is the same day as the market in Mogan and it was impossible to get on a bus at 4.00pm the amount of people leaving was massive, worth bearing in mind when going to the market or travelling in general.

We went to Galdar on Thursday to the archaeological centre with pre-hispanic caves with paintings which was worth the trip aswell as the caves with beautiful views near Guia. http://www.justgrancanaria.com/en/museums/cenobio_de_valeron.htm

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived at airport and collected pre booked hire car from Auto Reisen cost £153. Travelled down motorway with directions obtained from site and found Cala Blanca with ease. Site is some 60 Km from airport and costs around 65 Euro for single taxi trip. It is possible to get a bus from airport to Taurito but not sure if it is easy or not. Resort is on side of a hill and the view is fantastic over the bay of Playa Taurito. Sun was on balcony/swimming pool around 1100 due to high ground behind the resort. Our room had been recently refurbished to a very high standard and furnishings and fittings excellent. Resort has no disabled facilities and all apartments have a number of steps to reach the communal path. The leisure facilities were very good with swimming pool, small gym and sauna. Pool beds are very comfortable and if you fancy a pamper there is a beauty salon where you can choose a massage or other treatment from their menu. The restaurant on site had an extensive menu and the food was very acceptable. The site operated a shuttle bus to Puerto Rico and Mogan 3 times to each location during the day and this was extensively used by all guests. There are no other restaurants in the area so we ate several times in Mogan where we took the last shuttle bus down and returned by taxi costing 7 euros. Our favourites in Mogan were Fragati 1, La Taberna and The Irish Tavern (all overlook the Harbour). In addition there is a square at the harbour and we found a restaurant called El Prescador to be very good. We took a couple of trips, the first was the Blanket Trip and includes a 1 hour presentation on bedding but you see areas that are well worth a visit and for 6 euro you also get a Tapas lunch in a cave complete with local wine, this was an all day tour but only costs the price of your lunch. The second trip we took the shuttle to Mogan, caught the ferry (10 Euros) to Puerto Rico, walked the coastal path (tiled path) to Amadores (approx 1 Km), had a lunch in a beach restaurant called Ciao Ciao which was near the yellow beach beds and was very nice and reasonably priced. We then caught the shuttle bus back to the resort. Overall an excellent holiday with wall to wall sunshine every day.

Room Tip: Rooms on level one are near a main road, choose levels 5 or 6. 2 bed rooms are on level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and all the useful tips you have shared with your fellow travellers. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us at Club Cala Blanca and made the best of our picturesque location, and the choice of facilities and services available on site. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I think i found a little oasis here the area is fantastic, the local beach (takes about 15 mins walk down taxi back up tho I walked it back and its not bad) is a must with lots to do for such a small bay, which incidentally is the view you wake up to from your apartment, every morning was a joy..Mogan and Puerto Rico are 5 mins away if you take the hotel free bus.
There is a downside to these apartments which is the road, when i booked i thought how bad could it be!!! well its bad, the road is very busy and was like being on the motorway if I went back I would take earphones, that said once the motorway to Mogan is finished I should imagine the road noise will cease somewhat. The apartments were the best i've stayed in, the staff were calm and polite, there are alot of stairs and two lifts but this area is hilly, I didnt have a problem with cockroaches and the rooms provide a spray so if you leave windows and doors open at dusk the buggars will get in, just zap em'!!! Food in restaurant was passably boring...little shop didnt have much but hot croissants were yummie, You can get a food shop if you pop on the 10am free bus to Mogan pop in to the Spar, bus waits and takes you back at 11am...?And /the weather was fantastic high 20s all week..

Room Tip: Refuse room 119 and all lower rooms if you can
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank carrieemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and all the useful tips you have shared with your fellow travellers. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us at Club Cala Blanca and made the best of our picturesque location. We are sorry if the nearby road has caused you any inconvenience, should you have contacted the reception, they would have done their best to provide you with a quieter apartment, availability allowing. However, as you have mentioned, a new ring road is under construction so this should not be an issue for much longer.
We regret to learn that you were not fully satisfied with our onsite restaurant and will pass your comments to our catering staff, as providing our guests with a memorable dining experience is their priority. We hope that this has not marred what appears to have been an otherwise enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here with some weeks purchased direct from RCI and it wasn't all that. Far too much of a walk from the lift/stairs to the apartment so this became a pain from going the pool and forth. There is not an awful lot to do in this complex there is tennis, football and that's about it. Best thing to from here is to get a tai into Mogan and explore there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We’re sorry that you didn't have a more enjoyable stay at Club Cala Blanca on this occasion. We want every guest to be happy with their accommodation, and our front desk team would have been happy to look at finding an alternative apartment closer to the lift and stairs if you had requested this.

We offer a range of activities for our guests, including skydiving, jeep safaris and scuba diving, and we’re sorry if you weren’t advised of these by the resort staff. Full details of all activities offered by the resort can be found on its listing on our website. We encourage guests to take a look at this prior to arrival, as it contains a range of useful information about the resort and the surrounding area.

We hope that you’ll give Club Cala Blanca another try in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Resort Manager
Miguel Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel it self is very nice, the staff are very helpfull and friendly, the views are amazing from the pool side, some really nice sunsets! The pool is nice an the facilities are brilliant including a nintendo wii! The rooms are clean with everything you could possibly want including a toaster, microwave, dishwasher and dvd player. There the good points, the bad points are if your on the bottom floor, take some ear plugs! All you can hear is traffic going by which is frustrating at night. The restaurant on site is a no go area, the service is very slow and after we ate we all had very intense stomach ache. The hotel has got wifi however it might aswell not have, the connection disconnects every five minutes which becomes very frustrating. Don't get me wrong though this is a very nice hotel and we ha a very nice stay here! Just a few things need improving to make this a perfect hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Cala Blanca, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Club Cala Blanca! We’re sorry that you experienced some disruption from traffic during your stay, however – we encourage guests to speak to our reception team if they have any concerns during their stay, as we’ll do everything we can to resolve this at the time.

We’re also sorry to read your comments about the on-site restaurant. We hold our catering team to a very high standard and we’re sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of the resort’s management team.

We trust that the issues you’ve raised didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Cala Blanca, and we really hope that you’ll choose to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Miguel Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#18 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Property: Cala Blanca
Address: Calle Albaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mogan
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mogan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing