We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$270
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cordial Mogan Playa(Puerto de Mogan)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
157
218
66
27
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
218
66
27
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond resortsshuttle busroad noisespiral staircasesauna and jacuzzion site restaurantpool arearefurbished roomtable tennisevery other daymistral restaurantdvd playercleaned timeshire carsmall shopone bedroom apartmentwater park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 511 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cala Blanca is a quiet resort in a noisy setting, quite close to the road through Taurito, a small resort which echoes to the sound of nightly outdoor entertainment. There is evening entertainment of varying quality by the pool at Cala Blanca which does not seem to be advertised.
It’s the smallest resort in Taurito, overshadowed by larger more impressive hotels nearby. Its only “wow factor is a view over the bay from the higher apartments and good sunsets, obtained at the expense of a steep hill to walk up & down if you miss the essential courtesy bus. Be careful as this road is unlit and the pavement is full of trip hazards.
This is not a wheel chair or buggy friendly resort .. stairs abound, even with the lifts they have to be negotiated to get around.
The pool area is nice, not enough sun shades and some evidence of sunbed blocking in spite of their well advertised policy which we never saw applied.
The resort is undergoing a slow 9 (Yes) year makeover up til 2016!! It looks brighter after its recent paint job. I suspect a speedier renovation would only be necessary if the customers were not captive Diamond resort timeshare members.(Think Eagles Hotel California)
Some studio rooms have been renovated and are very good, apart from the poorly designed cramped kitchens with little real work surface area, we ended up using the hob itself, shame when its supposed to be self catering. By comparison the old rooms are dark and shabby, lacking air conditioning.
Always ask for a refurbished room .. levels 5 & 6 are best for views, you may not get one but its worth a try
Rooms are equipped with flat screen TV sets which mainly show continental channels or the same news in English through various channels or American shows and films subtitled in Arabic. DVD loan is available from reception.
Generally the reception staff are good and informative and have worked there for years, as are the catering staff who work long hours.
Diamond Resorts seem to have scaled back their sales efforts at this location so you are not invited to the interminable 3 to 4 hour sales talk disguised as a chat to update you on changes to date .. that always results in you being told “you need more points”

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnboy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear that you appear not to be fully satisfied with your recent stay at Club Cala Blanca. We need to admit that we are nestled between the mountains and the ocean therefore the resort is advertised as rather steep, this however means that we benefit from wonderful views from our tiered balconies, subsequently our guests can admire the spectacular post volcanic vista of Gran Canaria. We do however realise this may not be ideal for some and therefore we take precautions to advise our guests of the grounds layout prior to their arrival.
As you have noted in your comments, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and as we hope you can appreciate there is never an ideal time to carry out such works, so in order to reduce the impact of maintenance on the resort’s operations we have decided to stretch it in time and gradually move throughout the premises leaving as many apartments available as possible. We truly believe that most our apartments have now been brought to a satisfactory standard, benefiting from satellite TVs and full kitchens and we can only apologise if you did not find them suitable. However, we would like to think that Cala Blanca is a small but stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location. Our personnel are devoted to deliver excellent customer service and therefore we are pleased to read that you were happy with their services. We have of course passed this to the rest of the team.
We hope that the issues mentioned have not marred your future dealings with Diamond Resorts and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This island is beautiful. We went early September; the flowers were in bloom, the sea was warm & the timing could not have been better. The apartments are spacious, we had two bedrooms & two bathrooms, a (small but adequate) kitchen, a lounge area & wonderful balcony. The hotel provides a range of evening entertainment but sitting on the balcony watching the sun melt into the rock was my favourite! Each room has a sea view from the balcony, but we also enjoyed the lighting on the rocks, the sunsets are spectacular. The Mogan area provides pretty restaurants where the selection of foods kept us happy for two weeks. Try the local fish..delicious!
Definitely worth exploring the mountains inland too, take a map & refreshments...the scenery can be likened to the Grand Canyon or Peru..amazing!

Room Tip: Those nearest ground level were disturbed by the noise from a nearby main road. We were told that a new bypass will resolve this & should be completed by the end of 2012.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got back (2:00am this morning!).
This sis the second time we've been there this year. We like it warm and this place delivers on that. The apartments are not easily overlooked, they are spacious and well equipped. The management and team are very helpful even with our need for extra help with the internet. This place would benefit from internet in the rooms though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanks for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoy staying at Club Cala Blanca! We appreciate your concerns about internet provision at the resort, and our plan is to make Wi-Fi available in all apartments by the end of 2013.

We hope that you’ll choose to come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Miguel Dominguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for a week in August with our 11 year old son and had a fantastic time with lovely weather - hot and sunny. The room was very clean and comfortable. The mattresses were exceptionally comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped. The attention to cleanliness around the resort is exceptional and the staff were always friendly, helpful and informative. We spent a lot of time around the pool which was never overcrowded and there was a lot to do in the surrounding area. The Port of Mogan which is the next town further down the coast is a lovely little town with a harbour, beach, lots of shops and alleys to explore and a really good selection of restaurants. The submarine ride is not to be missed! Overall Cala Blanca surpassed our expectations and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Club Cala Blanca resort and that you enjoyed the onsite amenities and local attractions which are within easy reach of the resort. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having read the reviews before we left we emailed the manager in advance to request, in the nicest possible way, one of the newly refurbished rooms with a/c. this was defintitely worth it, as although they emailed back saying they couldn't garuntee it, we did indeed get one of the newer rooms and it was divine!
Huge bed, clean, lovely bathroom, fantastic views, great balcony, a/c was a must when it was 38C outside!
The staff are very welcoming and friendly and if you wanted to have a sun lounger day by the pool you just needed to be there before 11am ish to ensure sun loungers, otherwise you'd have to take your chances till roughly 6pm!
Towels were left and annoyingly the notice said they'd be removed after an hour if left...watch for this and time it as they did remove peoples if requested.
The noise from the road didn't bother us one bit, but it you're a light sleeper it might. Also the walk down and up the hill was good exercise for us, but again with children without a buggy that could be a chure.
We had a car which we found invaluable because Playa de Mogan, in the next bay round was a million times better than playa de Taurito where the apartments were. Highly recommend getting the free shuttle the apartments put on if you don't have a car.
All in all a great time, don't regret it for a second.

Room Tip: Email in advance to try and gain one of the refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews