We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Valle Aridane(Los Llanos de Aridane)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Las Norias(Tazacorte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Camuesa(Los Llanos de Aridane)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
243
37
10
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
37
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasbanana plantationtropical gardenhalf boardfour nightsantique furniturecanary islandsla palmaa lovely stayrooms and communal areasbalcony overlookingbeautiful hotelwater and soft drinksmin walkother gueststasting menubreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 293 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's like coming home. For me it’s like being allowed to play in the rooms that I was never allowed to when I was young. The place is steeped in Canary Island history and full of fabulous antiques..
It's a child free hotel so the pool is pretty quiet most of the time, fabulous feeling swimming in such balmy weather and I love the honesty bar on the side too, truly Gatsby'esque They have a great breakfast buffet and their tapas bar was full of locals which is a good sign! You can also leave you're unfinished bottle of wine for another day. I love their meet and greet with a glass of Cava and you can also ask for a tour of the rooms which is really worth it especially if you're interested in Art. Staff are really terribly helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MsCastroRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a week at the hotel from 19th October 2013. We had never visited any of the Canaries and we were not sure what to expect. However we had a fantastic week in this hotel. We loved the ambience and although the hotel was full of antiques it still felt homely.
The gardens are delightful with beautiful flowers and plants everywhere, just sitting by the pool was heaven! We found the staff to be extremely courteous and eager to oblige. The rooms are large and tastefully furnished , with spacious bathrooms. Tazacorte is a small town and it is surrounded by banana plantations, it is interesting to visit the banana museum which is next to the hotel. The countryside of La Palma is diverse with volcanic craters and pine forests which are great for walkers. It is the greenest island in the Canaries.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we are looking forward to visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathan1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This 32 room hotel boasts "extensive Sea views" (a statement I think an Estate Agent would be embarressed by), when in truth, only 1 room, the highly priced suite had extensive sea views. The remaining rooms face the well stocked gardens and pool area or if you went into our rear court yard a 6 metre high wall, 1 meter away from the rear door.
The half board evening 4 course meal was very poor (priced 35 euros on the menu, but only 15 euros to travel agents, who's clients are on half board ). We tried it for 3 nights, then switched to the Al a Carte menu (steak excellent) for 2 nights, then gave up and went into the town. Great pity because on a whole the service we recieved was very good.
The hotel is located within a 10 min walk,up hill, to the town and a 25 min walk downhill to the beach. You can catch a Bus back up the hill to the town for 1e 30 each. Tazacorte is a area under developement and the new port they are building, is hoping to attract Cruise ships. Weather on the West side of the Island is much better than the East side where the main town is located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ast0nV1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having read the reviews I did think that this Hotel would hit the spot. Tazacorte is the warmest spot in The Canaries and when the rest of the Island is in cloud It was bathed in sunshine.
We booked direct with the hotel as the hotel booking sites did not offer a large discount,
This hotel is used mostly by German & Dutch visitors although when visiting there were some British independent travelers in situ.
I will not comment or expand on the rooms or the antique fixtures and fittings which have been covered in depth by other reviewers.
The service level by all the staff is outstanding & English is spoken by most of the employees.
The Hotel is only a 30 minute walk downhill through the banana plantations to the Port with it's sandy beach & Many restaurants.
The port is fairly touristy and as such I am unable to recommend any of the restaurants there as being outstanding.
The one letdown at The Hacienda was the evening meals. The starter of Carpaccio of Octopus was extremely good & The fillet steak was fine . however the Turbot tasted of mud & the Cod was so salty as to be inedible.I thought I may be just unlucky however the other guests ( who were on half board) advised that the meals were not up to scratch for this standard of hotel.


We therefore Utilised Carpe Diem , A German run Restaurant , which was a five minute walk into town for most of our evening meals .

Hopefully the hotel will up its game for the high season
( Nov-March)

Room Tip: Only the suite Has a sea view, room 25 has a partial sea view , the remainder are garden views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect location, excellent well trained friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Stunning hotel, full of antiques and great facilities. Can genuinely be called paradise. Set in a banana plantation, with an amazing tropical garden, you could not ask for a better locale. A few minutes walk from the beach, yet close to the village, plenty of places to eat nearby, but we ate in the hotel most nights as the food was outstanding. You must try a gin and tonic, (the best I've ever had) It's worth paying the extra for this hotel as it's leagues above anything else in La palma.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews