We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of El manso

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tijarafe, La Palma, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AliH8691
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed July 20, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

So sorry it has taken so long to put this review on as we stayed back in October 2017. We booked cottage fairly last minute and couldn't have made a better choice. Slightly tricky to find especially speaking virtually no Spanish (thank goodness for google translate) but it was so worth it when we got there. The owner came to the local town to meet us and guide us to the property. He was so friendly and helpful despite our limited communucation and we talked with him everyday when he came to tend and water his plot of land. We made friends with his two lovely goats who were very affectionate and had regular sightings of the lizards who popped out of the outside walls when really hot. There is wi fi which seemed to work very well.
The place itself was quite simply done out but was just what we needed. It had one large kitchen/dining/sitting room, one bedroom and a well equipped bathroom. There was plenty of storage. There was even more space outside with a dining area, pool area and huge outdoor kifchen. I would suggest it would not be suitable for very young children due to the drops around the area the pool is set into.
The views across the hillside down to thd sea from the pool area were to die for. It was a perfect little pool to cool off in and swim a little. We had such a relaxing time there and although you need a car to get there and to explore the island, if you dont mind walking from the cottage you can get to the local town of Tjirafe one way which has a small supermarket and several places to eat and drink, and to a superb restaurant called La Muralla. Not a lot of English is spoken so be prepared with phrase book or google translate which worked well for us. We found our efforts were appreciated and we wère warmly welcomed everywhere. If walking on the roads at night take torches both to help keep you visible and also to see where you are walking. There is limited street lighting (ideal for viewing the night sky) but there are also gaps at the side of the road perfect size for your foot and ankle to drop into...I speak from experience!
What more can I say aside from try it for yourself, both El Manso and the island of La Palma but not too many of you! We hope to return one day and would love to stay in this property again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan v
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with lovely views”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were very unlucky with the weather on our recent trip to La Palma. An Atlantic front blew in just after we arrived bringing wind and rain for a week. However, the villa was very cosy, with a radiator or heater in every room, (and A/C) so we were comfortable. When the weather was clear the views were unforgettable. The villa was immaculately clean and surrounded by beautiful orchids. The pool was spotless but it was too cold to do more than dangle our feet. Tijarafe, which is very close, has a good Spar supermarket which sells essentials and we found people helpful and friendly. You do need a car here. We travelled down the good but twisty road to visit Tazacorte, los Llanos and Puerto Naos, which were interesting and also a bit warmer than Tijarafe, because they are lower.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2018
Muchas gracias por su opinión.Nos complace saber que nuestros clientes se van satisfechos de nuestros alojamientos.Esperamos volver a verlos por aquí. Saludos Agustín"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie B
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salutdefr...
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Muchas gracias por su opinión.Nos complace saber que nuestros clientes se van satisfechos de nuestros alojamientos.Esperamos volver a verlos por aquí.
Saludos
Agustín
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvl623
Kassel, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
"Muchas gracias por su opinión y esperamos verle nuevamente por aquí. Saludos"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing