We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Convenient”
Review of Ilios and Irene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ilios and Irene
Ranked #1 of 2 Mastichari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here in the summer with our three children and would be happy to recommend it to other families. The apartment we stayed in was large and sufficiently well equipped, with thoughtful extras such as a hairdryer, an iron and air conditioning. Having two terraces made it feel airy. The owner, Socratis was welcoming and helpful and the fact that there was a bar and reception area made it feel like an easygoing hotel. The children were always made to feel welcome and the younger two loved being able to order ice-creams from the bar. the nearby Half Time Pool Bar is an equally family friendly place. There are plenty of tavernas in the village selling good Greek food and the beach is sandy with a wonderful view over to Kalymnos. The rest of Kos can be easily accessed by car or public transport. If you want to find out more information about the area the website mastihari-uncovered.com is a good starting point.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes Sokratis the owner is friendly and makes a good breakfast for a little price (4 euros). I didn´t hear traffic noise from the road by day or night, but at night dogs barking, cocks crowing. Of course we are in the country and one could object that these things should have been expected ; but I was not aware that cocks could crow at 2h07 a.m. and not only at dawn. As a result and as I am a light sleeper, I didn´t sleep well all week. The mattress was too hard for me, but I suppose that for someone else it might be OK. Internet is free in the reception room and there is WiFi. Cleanliness was good, be it the room, the bed sheets or the towels.

A garden was mentioned in a previous review, but I didn´t see it. There is a little alley, 1,5-2 meters broad from the building to the fence of the next property. At the back of the house there is a kind of garden but not very well kept. Well kept with two loungers it could be a nice place for relaxing. There is a nice terrace near the breakfast room where one can have a drink.

On the whole, for the price paid one can see it as OK.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank AdalbertHenri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

good accomodation set in peaceful spot only 3 to 4 minutes walk out of village centre and beach.
Large clean rooms with A/C included for free.
Separate kitchen and dining area with fridge , toaster etc, even an iron and ironing board.
Nice little bar and breakfast area.
Possibly best of all an excellent host in Sokratis the manager who offers you a typical warm
greek welcome and will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave13Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was only at Ilios and Irene's place for one night on my way to Astypalaia and didn't expect very much, but I was very surprised. The place is charming and although simple, very clean and comfortable and Socrates was the most fantastic host. He made me feel very welcome and served watermelon as soon as I arrived and breakfast was three courses with goat's butter and a delicious omelette! He just recently took over the hotel from his family and is doing an absolutely terrific job. I highly recommend this hotel - It's also very easy to get to from the airport in Kos. Mastichari is a charming town with a nice beach and tavernas although pretty touristy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just arrived back from Ilios & Irini Apartments in Mastihari, Kos. For the first time I'm giving an opinion on Tripadvisor! We had a wonderful holiday, the apartment was spacious, clean, you had everything you need, included is the air conditioning, which was very welcome!

We were greeted extremely warmly by the charming Sokratis, who makes himself available at all times. His breakfast is excellent value for money. The apartment is within walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, sunbeds on the beach only 5 euros for 2 with an umbrella.

Free sunbeds and clean pool at the Half Time Bar, a 5 min walk from apartments. Chill out music to die for! We were waited at the poolside by Anna. Recommend the club sandwich, lovely ice cold drinks.

Sokratis can arrange a car if needed, great central place to explore from and it's true, you arrive as a guest and you leave as a friend! Thank you Sokratis for rescuing us by driving us to the airport when our transfer didn't arrive!

Room Tip: Try to request an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerekLynneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have recently returned from two weeks of absolute bliss in these well equipped, friendly and well run apartments. They have everything for your stay and go that extra mile with hairdryers, iron and ironing boards plus basics to get you started like washing up liquid, scourer and toilet rolls!!!! The manager there is friendly and very helpful and knowlegeable and on hand to help with anything you may need. The apartments themselves are large and spacious with air conditioning and are cleaned on a daily basis and bed linen and towels (which are provided) are changed frequently. There is a bar and outside seating where you can meet fellow guests and they will also make breakfast/evening meals on request. Perfect - we will be returning asap!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LESLEY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We didn't stay here, but they let us use their shower, (for no charge!!)as the Christina would only let us have our room until 6pm. Showed us round the room, which although they were basic, had everything in them you would want.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SomersetHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mastichari hotels
0.9 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luis Apartments
Luis Apartments
#9 of 16 in Mastichari
104 reviews
2 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios
Panorama Studios
#2 of 2 in Mastichari
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Horizon Beach Resort
Horizon Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Mastichari
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilios and Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilios and Irene

Address: Main Street, Mastichari 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mastichari
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilios and Irene 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ilios and Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilios And Irene Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing