We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Unfortunately we didn't do enough research prior to booking

We stayed for two weeks on a half-board basis. We knew that the hotel primarily caters to guests from German speaking countries. Nothing wrong with that of course. However, if like us you like to get out a bit and meet the locals, then you could find the location rather isolated.

The nearest village, Mastichari is a short bus ride away and not within easy walking distance especially given the high daytime temps. Busses are not that frequent and the last is at 2100 from Kos town, which isn't great.

Rooms were absolutely fine with a balkonies overlooking the pools. We had difficulties with the mattresses which were replaced with new ones promptly. Unfortunately didn't help - simply too soft.

Staff are very friendly and attentive, and I must mention the animation team - they really put in a lot of effort to put out entertaining shows every night. The hotel bars lack atmosphere though so we ended up going to Kardemena or Kos town, especially during the second week.

Surprisingly, the hotel mini-market had the same prices as the local shops - a welcome change to the norm.

We missed not having a kettle, so BYO if you like your morning cuppa. As mentioned by others, TV channels very limited and we missed the Rugby World Cup :-(

Would we go again? No, there are other better-located resorts that have a more international flavour.

Recommend? Yes, for families. Not for couples who don't like to be stuck in a fixed environment. I suppose a week maximum.

Room Tip: They have two pool areas. The main pool(1) also backs onto the animation stage - so could be loud la...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edelstoff208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 226 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

Well worth the 4 stars given by First Choice. Hotel was beautiful. Room was spacious & clean. Had fantastic views over the pool area & out to sea! Food was beautiful - plenty of choice. Plenty of activities going on. Only thing I would say is the hotel caters for predominently German guests, however the animation staff did try to make us feel welcome - especially Nick who was Dutch. As there was only myself & my 6 year old Son who isn't really one for kids clubs & discos, this didn't bother us. Lido Waterpark is a short stroll out of the hotel which was also fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bubbles0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We spent a week at this hotel, and were generally very happy with our experience. The rooms and all facilities are very clean. We had a problem with the room configuration, which was that there was one large bedroom with a door and two single beds pushed together, and then another room without a door with a couch and a single bed. The latter was the room with the TV. We ended up moving the single bed into the other bedroom so we could watch some TV while our daughter slept. This worked Ok.

In the last week of May the water temperatures in both the sea and the pools were quite pleasant, around 25-26C. There were plenty of lounge chairs to go around, and good shade was available. Horizon has a "no seat reservations" policy which I quite like. There is pool-side bar service.

There are two functional playgrounds for 2 year old children, and there were lots of kids her age. There is a mini-disco for kids from 4 and up, but we went anyway, and it was still quite entertaining. There is also a mini-club for kids 4 and up, but we spent some time in there as well, and they were fine with that.

The resort clearly bills itself as catering to Germans. This shows itself in several ways:
1. The food just isn't what I imagined Greek food would be. It was quite heavy, with creams and heavy use of mayonnaise in the salads. Breakfast was particularly difficult due to a limited selection of fresh fruit, and the use of UHT milk, which to me is only suitable as a creamer in coffee.
2. The staff is clearly proficient in German, but less so in English. This wasn't a big deal for us, since both my wife and I can muddle through in German.

There were plenty of Swiss German families as well, and so kids who speak only that can find others who will understand them.

Breakfast and dinner are served buffet-style. This is particularly suitable for impatient young children, but it does make for a slightly harried dining experience.

Lunch is served at the Taverna, and the selection was generally not to my taste, which is pretty picky, too be fair. That having been said, they served a grilled Dorade (whole fish) that was really tasty.

We only got into Kos one day, and were not really impressed. To start with, if you didn't rent a car, you ended up on a very crowded bus. Once we got there we were slightly disoriented. When we found our way to the harbor we went looking for lunch, and were accosted by people trying to drag us in. This had the effect of chasing us to the one place that didn't drag us in, and it wasn't all that great. It's a nice tourist shopping district, though.

I found the service generally good but slightly (both restaurant and front desk) uneven. Everyone was quite pleasant, but occasionally overworked. This is particularly true on weekends, when there is overlap between those coming and those going.

I would recommend this place to German-speaking people with children under the age of 10, and would not recommend this place to singles, or to foodies.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irritant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Für mich das Grösste mit Meerblick
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacqueline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
Thank Chrirtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Q3221GOthomasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALESSANDRO-ATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
1.3 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
583 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#3 of 16 in Mastichari
276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#8 of 16 in Mastichari
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Resort

Address: Mastichari, Mastichari 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mastichari
#2 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range: $91 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Beach Resort, located in front of one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Kos Island, is the ideal resort for relaxing and sporting holidays, as it offers a wide range of facilities and it combines comfort, elegance and style, all complimented by a high quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Hotel Mastichari
Horizon Beach Resort Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing