We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mastichari Bay Hotel - a fabulous experieince”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mastichari Bay Hotel - a fabulous experieince”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Although my daughter, Alyson did the bookings it was a family holiday with 15 of us!!
On the scale of 10 being excellent and 0 being very disappointing.

We had a fabulous holiday thank you, the attention to detail from the moment we arrived. Having food available for us on arrival despite our arrival being delayed, the receptionists remembering little bits of information about us and referring to them during the week, making us feel valued customers. 10

The lady who looked after our accommodation worked so hard and the place was spotlessly clean then she still found time to arrange the towels into animals etc and flowers - what a lovely surprise. Accommodation and cleaning 10

The gardens are just a sheer delight with so many magnificent flowers and beautifully maintained. 10

The pool area was always clean and tidy 10 Although I think there should be someone in control especially when "the boys" arrived and started to dive in from the rocks at the shallow end where a lot of children were swimming. I congratulate you on keeping the sunbeds towel free!!!

The restaurant - we generally used the area opposite the lifts and the staff there were absolutely magnificent as was the manager - for the staff the speed of their service, their politeness, their friendliness I award them 15 ;-)

Food was very very good although as someone who only likes "plain" food, meat that isn't covered in spices and sauces there were a couple of days when my only option was chips - however for the family as a whole 10.

What can I say about the brilliant entertainer Ali baba? Such talent and energy, with an excellent assistant in Petr I have to award them 20 ;-) The lady in the team was I understand very good with the children's programme but struggled with the evening entertainment.

I have just two areas that I think deserve a little criticism - the actual entertainment area/stage, Ali baba deserves a better stage area, with improved lighting and sound system and backstage facilities - perhaps the next improvement scheme - and the table tennis area, poor lighting and everywhere is white making it very difficult to see the ball.

I make that a total of 85 out of out of 70! a clear indication of just how much we enjoyed our stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending Mastichari Bay Hotel as an excellent holiday destination.

Thank you
Richard, Anne,
Alyson, Gemma, Ashley
Wendy, Ken, Emilie, Kacey
Wes, Shauna, Harrison, Grace, Lucas & Bethany

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with either sea or garden views, some rooms have both
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bandmaster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    102
    40
    5
    8
See reviews for
106
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed in Mastichari bay hotel with my husband and three daughters (aged 11-16).
Absolutely loved the hotel location-pretty much on the beach and 5 mins down the road has a hut to hire kite/windsurfing equipment.
Great vibe at the pool/bar area and mix in ages, elderly and young children.
Also my daughters loved the entertainment in the day time which included stretching on the pier, aqua gymnastics and water polo. It was also all very amusing to watch as Ali Baba who worked on the entertainment team was so hard working and funny!
The only negative points I can think of is:
Lack of air conditioning in the gym and table tennis area of the hotel and not enough sunbeds around the pool for too many people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melandfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Mastichari bay hotel has
Nice garden
Good food
Good service
Clean/Simple functional room ( sea view is very nice)
A bit full in July and the private/ public beach is ok
Prices are fair
Helpfull and very friendly staff and management

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had such a good week here at the beginning of June. First and foremost there is such a happy vibe about the place. Young families, young couples and older couples - a lovely mix of lovely people.

The bedrooms are spacious, bright and fresh and the standard of housekeeping is very high; and our housekeeper was a lovely friendly lady who I'm so pleased to have met. Good sized balcony from which we were lucky enough to have a sea view, with wonderful sunsets. Bathroom attractive too with a good strong shower.

The grounds are lovely, beautiful well maintained gardens, all extremely attractive and buildings in a greek style with white paint and coloured trimmings.

The location is perfect; just 5 minutes walk from the harbour and village. Lots of shops, tavernas and bars in the village and boats from the harbour to the sponge island of Kalymnos which takes approx. 30 mins (slightly more or less depending on if you take the speed boat or the ferry). There is also a bus stop outside the hotel for a very comfortable air-conditioned bus into Kos town, which takes less than 30 mins and costs less than 3 Euros.

Ali Baba who heads the animation team works so hard to ensure everyone has a good time, children and adults alike. I admire his skill and energy.

All the staff are super friendly and helpful. The reception team went out of their way to help with booking a scuba diving trip and with confirming our return transfer to the airport.

There is a good variety of food at breakfast and lunch. If I had one slight criticism it would be that there is little on offer for vegetarians at dinner. But on the last evening there were 2 vegetarian dishes which were delicious - I'm wondering if I may have just missed these options on previous evenings. Also there were very few English people staying - actually I wasn't aware of anyone else - and for sure no big English tour operators go there. So perhaps there was less demand for vegetarian dishes amongst people staying at the time. Anyway, this is a comment rather than a criticism - plenty of fresh salads and vegetables, lovely breads and delicious fruit and desserts so no-one will ever go hungry.

So - in a nutshell - I feel blessed to have found myself in this lovely corner of the world with such lovely people.

Room Tip: I don't know how much extra sea view rooms cost but if affordable I would definitely recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed in Mastichari Bay hotel with my teenage daughter and we both absolutely loved it. The staff was very nice, helpful and available, the rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. We asked for a room with a seaview but unfortunately there weren't any available for that period so they gave us a room with a garden view instead, but it actually had a seaview as well.

The restaurant was nice with a lovely view and the food was delicious and the variety to choose from was wide. There was always fresh fruit available too. There was a note that invited guests to dress for the dinner (= no shorts for men) which we found nice.

The entertainment was good in our opinion, enough to do but they weren't too pushy with it. We particularly liked the morning gymnastics out on the pier, aquagym and beach volley. Once tried the hotel gym as well, which was ok too but didn't go twice.

We tried to think of negative points and came with two:
1. the mattresses were a bit too hard
2. the hotel wifi was pretty bad

So not too serious negative points :-)

We particularly want to thank the hotel cleaning personnel for doing a great job in keeping the whole place extremely clean and tidy!

We had a half-board which was absolutely enough - with the super breakfasts and dinners we really did not need any lunch but just had some snack around lunchtime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank n1nn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is not 4 star by British standards but is a lovely comfortable hotel with wonderful gardens and unbeatable views from the restaurant. It is a very short walk from a sandy beach where you can hire very, very comfortable sunbeds for 2 euros a day. Staff were all excellent apart from thise on reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ended up here due to my original hotel being closed. What a shame.LOL.
I can honestly say, I was so happy to be moved here!!
The staff are so good. Professional, kind and generally a credit to their professions. Thank you George, Tania, Vassilli, Said and all the wonderful chefs and waiting staff. You made me so welcome and we had a giggle.
Anyway, I had a gorgeous room with a sea view. The maids do a damn fine job of keeping the hotel immaculate. The gardens are beautiful. Lots of cats around but they don't bother you at all.
The food is some of the best I've ever tasted in a hotel. I miss it so much!!!
The atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly. Quiet but not dead or boring, if you understand what I mean?
Close to the lovely Mastichari village where you will find some of the friendliest people ever. Try some of the local bars and Kenny's to get a real flavour of the local people.
I would love to come back again because I had such a lovely time.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: The sea view is lovely but garden rooms just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RumblesBird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
1.1 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
9.7 mi away
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kos Town
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mastichari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mastichari Bay Hotel

Property: Mastichari Bay Hotel
Address: Main street, Mastichari 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
#4 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mastichari Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in typical island-style architecture Mastichari Bay hotel enjoys a privileged location directly on the beach and just a few steps from the picturesque fishing village of Mastichari at the north coast of Kos island. The small bungalows, nestled between a unique blossoming garden and connected by little paved roads, harmonically create a Mediterranean landscape surrounded by palm trees and fragrant flowers. Gently caressed by the cool sea breeze, with a beautiful view of the sea and the fascinating sunsets Mastichari Bay hotel invites you for a relaxing holiday with a Greek flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mastichari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastichari Bay Hotel Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing