We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Gaia Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mastichari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

small all inclusive hotel-very quiet location with beautiful garden and swimmingpool-friendly personnel-good modern rooms-every day cleaning ,clean towels and clean cloths-sunbeds and parasol at swimmingpool free-enough sunbeds" no reservation with towels"-beautiful rooms with big balcony or terrace-good privacy between rooms by wall-good food-beautiful beach on appr. 500 mtrs-on beach charges for 2 beds and parasol E.5-if you want to see kos a car or scooter/bike is necessary in connection with location of the hotel - bus to kos town not frequent-free towels for swimmingpool but very thin and guaranty E.20- conclusion ; good hotel on a quiet location but thats the choose of th guest !!!!!!!! most people is coming from east europe-italy and germany but no problems and little from other countries

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaap h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 606 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel was lovely. Food was average just , all inclusive drinks only had beer wine ouzo rum and tequila, was very poor , as a lot of guest were complaining about this , the pool area was great with plenty of sun beds and great for kids ,

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I`ll start with the positives:
Quite a nicely done out hotel. v nice rooms, and pool areas are great.v spacious.
a bit remote. 4 km to Mastichari, 10 euros for taxi everytime you want to go there. tried walking one day, ok but boiling hot when you get ther. NOTE - YOU CANT WALK FROM HOTEL TO MASTICHARI ALONG BEACH.
Staff v good apart from senior management.
Maids, waitresses/waiters, bar staff and gardner exceptionally good.
Restaurant Manager & Customer Relations Managers v bad at their jobs. Most unhelpful.heard them bullying several staff on many occasions. The Female Customer Realtions Manager ( the glamorous one) who breezes about doing nothing likes the bully the very hard working gardner which we witnessed, and very uncomfortable it was too!
The worst part apart from the ATTITUDE OF THE SENIOR STAFF, is the standard of the food and drink.
Food was bland v poor quality and always v cold!
The drinks - v poor quality mixers! and no Vodka Gin or even Tonic Water. The Water given from behind bar was brown in colour.
All these issues were raised with the Management and there response was "NOT MY PROBLEM!!"
Until the food and drink situation is improved at this hotel, i would strongly advise you to avoid it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is classed as 5 star, but the food does live up to this rating by any means. The food is cold......not tepid....cold at every meal time. I stayed here all inclusive for 2 weeks and did not have one meal that was acceptable. Even if you arrive at the restaurant as soon as service starts the food is inedible. On the first day of the holiday I spoke to the "restaurant manager" who told me it was not his problem. The "customer services manager" attended the dining room and denied that the food was cold, even though I gave her some food to test.....this woman is totally useless and cannot resolve any problems in the hotel. On the first night she had 5 complaints about the state of the food, but did nothing.
Also the soft drinks and alcohol are extermely poor, many guests were having to buy their own drinks from the nearby mini-market....these are very expensive.
The standard of the rooms and cleanliness is excellent and the gardens are lovely as are the pools.
The management are all totally ineffective and mostly stand around doing nothing and will take no responsibility for anything at all.

Room Tip: overlooking the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilfordvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice hotel complex with swimming pools in front of you rooms. The beach is a little far away (300 meters), but it is a beautifull sandy beach.
We had all inclusive, so the plenty of gopod food which we coul not eat all. Simply too much. The stuff is very helfull especially the cheef of staff in restaurant. My compliments.

The offer at the pool bar and in lobby bar together with service of staff is excellent. The only minus was that we had some problems with the electricity in our room, which the hotel technician Nicos tried to solve, try to do his best, but he was not in a position to solve the problem. But at the end he tried to do his best. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Gaia Palace Hotel is superbly located about 2o mins from the airport, very close to the beach and on a local bus route.
The hotel is very clean, modern, with plenty of room, around the hotel in general, including the pool where it is unnecessary to worry about early 'towel placers' as we found that 10am was still empty around the pool! We were told that either side of our week the hotel was full so we think we were lucky.
Food, although repetitive was very good and staff were helpful. The hotel was really 'completely self service' as described, where waiters only cleared the tables. Wine provided was typically local (only red or white) and the quality varied from day to day and from bar to bar!.
Kos main town is only a 20 minute bus ride away and is well worth a visit especially the harbour.
For a 5 star we would have expected some waiter service, linen tablecloths and napkins but apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our week there and would return.
The rooms are located in blocks of about eight to ten rooms in a low rise environment which results in a nice quiet ambience.

Room Tip: All rooms are in blocks in the grounds. There are no rooms in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank silverjackWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for nine nights - looking for somewhere to get away from it all - and this was perfect. Rooms are big and spotless with whirlpool baths - high finish as the hotel is fairly new. The pool was incredible and at this time of year was really quiet - there are three pools in total so loads of space. The entertainment is in Italian but that was fine as it was fun to watch anyway and most of the staff also spoke English. Lovely staff - really helpful particularly Stella and Vladamir behind the bars. There is a Greek night and BBQ night and a Beach Party on the Friday but mostly the evenings are quiet which was perfect for us but worth considering if you're looking for bars and restaurants nearby there was only one we saw. We went all inclusive and yes after nine days perhaps it does get a little repetative but they do theme nights and mix it up. All the food was tasty and there was plenty of it. Never done an all inclusive before but would do it again especially with children as there was ice cream on tap! All in all - if you are looking for a high-end hotel, close to a beach but away from all the hustle and bustle of life - this place is great. And a bus to Kos town for the day is only 3 euro :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarahbearcroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
0.2 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#8 of 16 in Mastichari
384 reviews
6.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mastichari
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
486 reviews
12.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Palace Hotel

Address: Main Street, Mastichari 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mastichari
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mastichari
#3 Family Hotel in Mastichari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range: $80 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Palace Hotel Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing