We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luis Apartments
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Mastichari
GLASGOW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Luis and we will be returning.The rooms were basic but kept clean .We had the room overlooking number 325.(we had hot water every day),as the Luis is in 2 blocks facing each if you want privacy in small apts close the curtains a nod and a smile go a long way in Greece If you do this to the owner Nicos you get what you give.The swiming pool is one of the cleanest we have ever been in cleaned every day The apts are in an ideal place near the sea and the village of Mastichari is a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MVHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the luis apartments since 2002 mostly twice a year. We have just retuned and already we have booked for three weeks next September. It's like "going home" the people are so friendly and Nikos the owner can not do enough for you. He is so accommodating, working 16/17 hours a day. We have met some of the nicest people there who are now our good friends. It's like extended family. Please don't be put off by the few miserable people who have wrote on here. I don't think these people have been to Greece before! Yes it's basic, it's Greece. But it's a jewel in the crown that is Kos! Mastichari is the most beautiful place I have ever been that's why I keep going back, the luis is the best apartments by far. A lovely pool the cleanest I have ever seen, cleaned every single night without fail. The pool bar is reasonable and has a really extensive menu. The kitchen in the apartments is basic but then I don't go on holiday to cook so it doesn't matter. It is just a short 5 minute walk to the beach and a nice slow 10 minute walk to the village. There are plenty of restaurants and tavernas, our favourite being the Harama. The village is quite traditionally Greek and it is a working harbour so there are a lot of fish restaurants. Kos town and kardamena are only a bus ride away if you fancy a change. It is very quiet and relaxing in Mastichari so if you are a party animal then it's not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ep5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just come home after spending 2 wonderful weeks at the Luis Apartments. We had a very warm welcOme from NIKOS (the owner) and friends that we had arranged to meet there. That set the bar for our fab hOliday. Everyone was friendly.

The apartments themselves whilst being typical basic, were cleaned every day by the lovely Maria. Nothing was too much trouble for Nikos and Paola. And everyone ( apart from someone who did nothing but moan who I shall call Dungeon) was so friendly, it was like meeting up with family.

Most people who stay at the Luis return there year after year. We really enjoyed our stay there and are already booked to go again next year and meet up with new friends!!

The NIkos Apartments is located 5 minutes from a gorgeous beach and 10 mins from the shops and restaurants.

The place to stay if you want quick access to everywhere. We would definitely recommend staying at the Luis to anyone!

Can't wait to see everyone next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just got back from beautiful Mastihari but the whole holiday was ruined by staying at disgusting room325 luis aparts! no hot water until 6pm for the whole 14 days, no satellite v as advertised, no sun at all on balcony ~ couldnt even dry our towels! holidaymakers in the opposite block overlooked right into our apartment so no privacy whatsoever! very noisy as room was next to reception area plus we had the misfortune of being opposite extremely noisy, inconsiderate tourists who ha no sense of decency or etiquette! Nikos was hostile and extremely unhelpful when we asked to be transferred to another appropriate apartment which was clearly vacant for the whole time we were there. the towels were old and resembled brllo pads. all in all these apartments are less than substandard and a rip off. The 'bathroom' was terrible, stinking of urine and sewage ~ clearly there was a problem with plumbing! the only positive of Luis aparts is Maria the maid who worked so hard and always gave a cheery welcome, no doubt she had sypathy. Both Nikos and Peter were unprofessional and intimidating ~ should be illegal. My advice is dont go there! such a shame as we stayed at Christina last year and it was wonderful! We were stupid to try something new so stick to what you know.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiejools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby - UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel and found it to be quite charming but with a few shortfalls. The kitchenette consists of a twin hot plate , fridge and a kettle - a bit basic for "self catering" accommodation. Twin beds only , we asked for a double but they do not have them ( Thomas Cook were more at fault than the hotel ), and ours were both extremely squeaky and not the most comfortable either. Air conditioning advertised but at 10 Euros a day charge.Safes within the room were also available for a charge but if the start key then the number 1 pressed 6 times this would open the safe ( default setting for that make and model ) and providing the batteries removed no-one would know that it had been opened and used. This we did to use the safe at no cost. Just a tip for the less knowledgeable and one I have used on many occasions where I meet this style of safe..
The staff were excellent however especially Mikel and Marie ( cleaner ). The pool was the cleanest I have found anywhere . The bar prices were reasonable also with a good choice of spirits Even though it lay more or less underneath the flightpath of the local airport it was a very quiet peaceful hotel. Perfect for that relaxing getaway and many of the guests were returning visitors , some of twenty years or more standing.
5 minutes walk from both the village and beach. Good well stocked supermarket a short walk across the road.
Should we go to Kos again then I would have no hesitation with using Luis again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrimsbyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is one of the quietest and most restful holidays we have ever had! A couple of minutes from the beach, pool across the road (if you stay in the apartments with the reception in it) and a couple of minutes from the supermarkets. The village itself is a short five minute walk away.

Luis apartments were clean with perfectly adequate kitchen facilities. In fact we put the two ringed hob under the sink as we don't cook when we go on holiday! Nikos, the owner offers advice about the resort and island as well as cooking up a mean dish in the pool bar!Prices and the range of food offered on the menu was really good. Peter,Nikos' brother sorts out the safe (10e a week) and general day to day things. Maria the housekeeper brought clean towels and bedding every other day plus tea towels. The shower room was a wet room with toilet so be aware that things do get wet. Take note, after you have finished the two toilet rolls provided you do have to buy some more (99cents for 4). The bedroom was furnished with twin beds and a dressing table. We don't bother with air con as we don't stay in the rooms and to be honest,at night if the doors are left open when you turn the lights off and have sprayed the room for mozzies, the breeze was sufficient. Air con also carries bugs and we don't want to take the chance of being ill. An alarm went off one morning at 5:30am while we stayed at Luis but we just phoned the 24 hour number and within a matter of minutes Nikos' brother Peter arrived and turned it off. The hotel was full and not one single person came out of their room to find out if there was a problem.The alarm was due to a power cut in the village but it doesn't happen very often. After that happened we sat out on the balcony and watched the sun rise while the rest of the guests stayed asleep (?) What a view! From the balcony we enjoyed sun rise and sunsets. Luis is a very special place. The pool was never crowded. Its open to all and gets visited by the surfers from the beach.It has approx 40 beds but they were never full and towels were not needed to secure one! The most amount of people in the pool at any time (while we were there) was about 10 but 7 of those were from our family! The children had so much fun with the free pool toys. The fruit man visits once a day with water melons, apples etc. These are cheaper and juicer than the supermarket (melon 2e and its BIG)!
The resort is quiet with only tavernas and a couple of cocktail bars for evening entertainment. We had a fab time investigating the little shops that were situated down some small cobbled streets. We found these were good value when compared to Kos Town prices.Restaurants all offer Greek cuisine and English dishes. As this is a working fishing village, octopus and squid hang outside the tavernas with fresh fish on display to tempt you inside. Some of the tavernas are situated opposite the harbour where we found them to be especially inviting (beware the one on the left corner who had a rude Russian man trying to lure passing people in by saying they would get fat if they ate ice creams and "sorry we are full so you can't come in tonight to eat but you can look at the menu and come tomorrow." There were too many nicer restaurants to go to so we didn't go back!) There were two places that we saw that offered take outs such as gyros pittas and they were Kenny's and Hemena(?). Prices for gyros were 2.95euros which was good value as they were lovely!
We recommend Tasos the Kalymnian or Brascosca, El Greco, The Traditional House, Kalymnos original by Periklis and Kali Kardia but there were a lot more to sample. The Greeks are some of the most polite and hospitable people, so you know the restaurants will offer good food and service.

We went to Antonio's Beach which is right by the windsurfing shack on the beach. This is a sandy beach.The prices for two beds and a parasol were 5euros but you got a 0.5l bottle of cold water when you paid and he didn't charge extra for the air conditioning! One thing you must understand is that where there is a wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing or anything to do with sails there will be wind! This was not a problem to us, as, to be honest, if there wasn't a wind it would have been very hot. Put your sun lotion on though as you are more likely to burn without realising it. You don't need a cardigan though as its not a cold breeze more like a hair dryer. Sometimes there isn't a wind and sometimes there is seaweed in the sea but the beaches were safe, clean and the children had fun body boarding in the water.

We hired a seven seater car from Peter Nikos' brother at Mastichari Travel and also booked The Three Island trip, that went to Kalymnos, Plati and Pserimos for the day. This was 30e per person but there are concessions and haggling to get the price down. This is worth the money as you get food on the boat and you can go shopping plus get to visit Pserimos, one of the most beautiful islands there. It gets inundated with boat excursions between the hours of 4-6 every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday but It also brings money to the 26 inhabitants on the island.
We explored the whole island in the three days we had the car. We went to Zia to see the sunset (a bit expensive if you go there on an excursion 12e pp) and ate in a cafe at the top of the hill. Prices in the shops can be slightly inflated. If you go in the day you can see the salt lake, Kalymnos and right along the coastline. Beautiful!
We found Therme Beach where the hot springs were. We parked at the top and walked down. This was quite a steep walk that was dusty but quite fun watching the cars and motorbikes try to get back up! Look back up the cliff when you reach the bottom to see the car that has gone over the top and caught fire. Quite a wake up call if you have been driving fast round all the hairpins on the island! The beach at Therme was shingle and pebbles so you have to wear your shoes to and from the sea. Swim round the rocks and into the pool to feel the benefit. Like a hot bath! You are supposed to get out by going back into the cold sea but you can climb out onto the shingle beach.Very busy here though as there are tourist trips.
We also travelled to bottom of the island, Kefalos, Kardemena etc which we thought was the English part (you always get them don't you?) but this wasn't very busy in the day although Kardemena was at night. Kefalos was nice and spread out but the beach was shingle and in parts not very wide.There are lots of hotels, apartments and shops along the front with the usual football signs advertising the latest match in both resorts.
Kos town has lots to offer from ancient ruins, excursions to Turkey (15e + 5e tax pp) to Hippocrates tree, bars and shopping. We had to visit a second time by bus (2.90e one way from Mastichari) as we didn't have time to see everything.
We did all of the things that were advertised as excursions, in the car and found this to be a VERY cheap way of seeing the sights. Most of the beaches on the island are shingle and pebble except Mastichari but we didn't visit them all.

We would recommend this resort to families, couples, friends or anyone who wants to get away from it all but also want to see things and explore the culture of the Greeks by visiting the traditional villages and tourist spots using public or rented transport.

Room Tip: Sea views from all rooms. Good position of the studios means sun is on the balcony at some point in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KjNjBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at Luis Apartments/Studios for a week with a friend and had a lovely time. I would suggest this place if you want somewhere thats quiet in the day and no thrills. The room was always clean thanks to the cleaner who came every day without fail. The pool area is nice but a little small when its full in the day times. The only complaints i have is the lack of interest the owners give about how your needs are. My friend and i did not get the air con sorted at all during this holiday due to one brother not showing up in the mornings when he said he would and Niko just saying it was his brothers business. Another problem we had was a few times early morning around 4/5am the power would cut out and a light would come on in the room, and a high pitched noise came from somewhere on the complex that at one point lasted for an hour. It drove me mad and i was told it was due to a power cut. The 'pool bar' was good and Niko served quite a lot on the menu to suit everyone. I recommend it for breakfast. The location is good being so close the beach and a nice little town of mastihari but if you wish to have somewhere with more nightlife and more points of interest i would stay clear of this town as once you seen it all on the first day it does become a little boring. however the restaurants and bars along the harbour front are lovely and always polite. Overall it was an enjoyable holiday and i will certainly visit the country of kos again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mastichari
0.2 mi away
Mastichari Bay Hotel
Mastichari Bay Hotel
#3 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kouros Palace
Kouros Palace
#6 of 15 in Mastichari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#10 of 15 in Mastichari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
1.2 mi away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luis Apartments

Property: Luis Apartments
Address: Mastichari 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mastichari
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mastichari
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mastichari
#6 Family Hotel in Mastichari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Luis Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luis hotel - apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luis Apartments Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing