We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening at Bill and Salome”

The Ballad of Bill & Salome
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Votsalakia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
south east
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An evening at Bill and Salome”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Votsalakia has many fine restaurants. This one is excellent. It benefits from home cooking, fresh ingredients, a friendly honest service, genuinely warm hospitality and pleasant ambiance. Moreover, this is an authentic Greek restaurant managed by a family from the island (although Bill and Salome have returned from Australia), using fresh produce from the island, including their own wine from their own vineyard. It is obvious that much of this restaurants success comes from the couple who run it – Bill and Salome. They manage to provide a service which makes you feel like a guest rather than a customer. Having eaten there on a number of occasions I have never been anything other than impressed with the food which is always excellent. My favourire remains the beef in brandy source - outstanding ! If you visit this resort then you must visit this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grecophile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    31
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food, but very slow service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food here was very tasty, once we were eventually given it. I should have known that when the first thing the waiter / owner says to you is to be patient, that we were in for a long wait.

As another reviewer has pointed out, a lot of the menu isn't actually available, which Bill neglected to tell us when we visited, so when he finally got round to taking our order, I had to choose again from items that have been highlighted with black dots.

We waited for around 45 minutes - 1 hour to receive our drinks, bread and main course (it all arrived together). I don't mind waiting for good food when places are busy, but when the waiter doesn't think to even bring the drinks and bread out first, it is very frustrating - especially when you have a ravenous 5 year old with you.

Over all - great food, but they really need to employ some waiting staff. They are obviously very proud of their high Trip Advisor rating (printouts of it all over the restaurant), it would be a shame to jeopardise this with such horrendously slow service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in Samos!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our return to Samos (8th year running), back to Bill and Salome's . Home from home -but better cooking . Traditional Greek food beautifully presented and promptly served in very clean and agreeable surroundings . As usual, nothing too much trouble for this agreeable pair -prices very competitive. Highly recommended by seasoned Greek travellers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clear89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathokampos, Greece
1 review
“Wonderfull!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice meals at the right price!!!service was guigkly!they offered us greek tradition food and we had a lovely time with the owners!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smaragda z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bill is a star. Chats away and serves everyone at same time. His own wine is fantastic. Salome is an excellent cook and you are made to feel very welcome. Very busy every night

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank samos-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ballad of Bill & Salome also viewed

Marathokampos, Samos
 
Marathokampos, Samos
Votsalakia, Samos
 

Been to The Ballad of Bill & Salome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing