We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have just spent two fantastic weeks here. The hotel it's not like a normal hotel. They are aparments with a meal area across”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have just spent two fantastic weeks here. The hotel it's not like a normal hotel. They are aparments with a meal area across”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just spent two fantastic weeks here. The hotel it's not like a normal hotel. They are aparments with a meal area across the road. Check you have aircon included in your hotel price or you will be stung 5 euros a day. Pool there lovely Hotel owner very nice guy. Apartments basic and clean beding sheets get changed aswell as towels, rooms cleaned everyday. Food basic and fresh good service. We had a lovely stay and will go back. The owner is a real gentleman and will help you in anyway to make your stay enjoyable. Bali is a fantastic family holiday location if you young and want to party don't go there. Beaches by hotel lovely child safe no strong currents and life guards patrolled. Nearest city a hour away and a bus service runs every hour mon - friday Bus stop on main road 1.5 miles from hotel. If you are taking traveler checks be warned most shops won't exchange them take cash. Medical centre 1 mile away take travel insurance and buy your sun cream before you go, charge a furtune there. Will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevjorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    58
    27
    46
See reviews for
51
86
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I think there are some unfair reviews on here about this hotel with some people expecting WAY too much for what they have paid.
We were travelling as a family of 4, I’m 38, my partner 31 and 2 boys at 12 and 15. Because we had been a victim of the Holidays 4U failure it was a ‘panic’ booking we made to Lisa Mari. I’m a firm believer of you need to be sure of why you choose to visit a particular place. Whether it is sun, food, culture, nightlife, price etc… you have to consider what you have paid for the holiday. We were all inclusive and paid approx. £550 each which included transfers, flights & baggage, accommodation, food and drinks for 2 weeks.
There is no doubt that significant improvements could, and should be made to this hotel to meet the expectations of potential holiday makers and guests already committed to the hotel.
We arrived there around 02:30 and as we got off the bus the driver pointed to the direction of the reception which was in darkness. I shrugged my shoulders and we headed towards it, as we did the lights inside came on much to our relief. The hotel is not part of a big chain like Hilton (well it certainly does not appear that way) but owned by a business man from Crete. The reception is actually an area which sits underneath the pool terrace with the pool forming the curved wall to the rear of the reception desk. We handed over our hotel voucher which seemed to cause some confusion with the receptionist for some time as they didn’t seem to have us booked in. Anyway, she said no problem and showed us to our room. Initial reactions were that of disappointment as we had expected a little more from the description of maisonette. It was a room with 2 single beds pushed together and a bunkbed against the wall for the boys. There was a small balcony and small bathroom. We had asked if there was anything open as we wanted to get something to eat and drink. At that time of night there appears to be nothing open but if we knew where the big beach was there are bars on the beach front that seem to be open pretty much all night. The receptionist kindly offered us a drink from the bar and had two leftover packed lunches that someone had not taken that day in the fridge which she gave to us.
The air conditioning was priced at 5 euros per day which we thought was quite expensive so decided to see how it was without. With the patio doors wide open and the net curtain drawn over the opening the room was warm but comfortable enough to sleep in. if you are there in the summer try it without air conditioning before you pay the extra money.
As mentioned before, breakfast is very basic. Nothing much to add to other reviews on this apart from get there early to get the best of the fresh bread. Breakfast starts at 07:30 and ends at 09:00. The eating area could certainly use some updating internally and some work outside to make it more presentable. If you ignore the ‘rough’ looking parts on the outside eating area there are some fantastic views across the bay.
There was mention of snacks at the bar during the day but we never saw any evidence of this and to be honest didn’t really push it because waiting until 1pm for lunch wasn’t a problem. Again, as previous reviews state, the choice for lunch and evening meals is not all that good. Fish (which does not taste too good) meat (usually pork with at least 50% fat content) plain pasta with a watery tomato sauce, salad and more salad with mayonnaise and the remains of the previous nights offerings are the usual things offered. There were chips every so often but probably the best dish which was only available once was the stewed squid which was very tender and tasty. Overall, unless you are a very fussy eater you won’t go hungry. That said, we did eat out quite a few times as the meals can be repetitive.
We found the best place to eat was Valentinos over by the port. The prices were reasonable, the views and service great and the food very tasty. There are plenty of places to eat out, closer to the hotel if you prefer not to walk around to the port.
If you have mobility issues this place is not for you unless you want to stay put for the duration of your stay. It is very hilly and there are some steep roads down to the beaches.
There are not that many things to do in Bali but there are motor boats, jet bikes and boat trips available from the port. The boat trips start at 15 euros per person and go up to 24 euros for a trip on the catamaran. The 15 euro trip only happens on Sunday and travels up to Rethymnon stays there for around 3 hours so you can go shopping etc then heads back via a small fishing village called Panormos. Jet skis are as you would expect, expensive. 35 euros for 10 minutes or 50 euros for 20 minutes, we tried haggling but there was no movement in the price or time. The beach around by the port is beautiful with great opportunities for snorkelling around the rocks. The other beaches near to the hotel are also very nice with plenty of places to eat directly behind the beach. 2 sunbeds and 1 umbrella are available for 6 euros per day and all the beaches have fresh water showers.
There are several small supermarkets close to the hotel and plenty of souvenir shops too. The supermarkets tend to be very expensive. For example a litre bottle of Greek vodka is 20 euros, Canderell coffee sweeteners are 4 euros, Nivea sun spray is 18 euros, basically, everything is expensive in the local supermarkets.
If you get fed up with the poor selection of drinks at the all inclusive bar (which is very likely if you like a drink). Take plenty of money for drinks in the bars out of the hotel. Typically a mixer and shot is around 5 euros a time, cocktails such as pina colada are about the same but if you venture to the only nightclub called Crazytown drinks are 7 euros a time. Beer is not too bad at 3 euros a time. Back to the all-inclusive bar. Drinks are limited to locally produced ouzo and metaxa which both need diluting with something like coke or lemonade to make them remotely palatable. Red and white wine, if you can call it that and Zorbas beer which most of the time was ok. There are no diet options of the soft drinks and ice cream is only available for children on all inclusive not adults.
For a change of scenery it is worth hiring a car for the day, there are almost as many car hire places as there are shops in Bali. The cheapest place we found was across the road from the hotel. Happy cays car hire with a small car starting at 35 euros per day. We decided to hire a Suzuki Jeep at 50 euros for the day. We headed along the coast road towards Platanias with the intention of visiting one of the smaller water parks. The drive was great but they have a strange driving style which you have to get used to. There is a hard shoulder lane for most of the way which varies in width, unless you are massively exceeding the speed limit it seems as though you are supposed to use this lane by straddling the solid white line. This allows people to overtake you. You have to keep an eye on the width of the ‘hard shoulder’ if you have pulled right into it to allow someone to overtake because it can suddenly change width and you end up with bushes whipping the side of the car.
The waterpark at Limnoupolis was very disappointing so we decided to head to the advertised best waterpark at Heraklion – water city. We got there at 3:30pm and there was no discount for afternoon entry so it cost us £23 euros each to get in for a couple of hours. There are some great slides in the park but I personally think it’s quite expensive for what it is. It takes about an hour from Bali to water city in a car. I understand you can also go on a coach and this can be booked through one of the holiday reps that visit the hotel every day.
If you have kids and are going for 2 weeks you might struggle to keep them entertained, a week should be ok but after you have done the boat trips and beaches there’s not much else to do.
As mentioned previously by other reviewers, Bali is a beautiful place, but there are many other options for accommodation which I would urge you investigate before booking Lisa Mari. One place to explore if you don’t want all inclusive is Nostos Beach Hotel. It’s a small hotel right on the biggest beach with private swimming pool and a beautiful bar. The hotel is immaculate inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block directly behind the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terzo290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two weeks in July/August. Booked on a half board basis and was utterly disgusted by the eating facilities at this hotel. If you don't mind eating brussel sprouts in the middle of summer (yes, really) with literally dozens of flea-ridden stray cats crawling about having sex and fighting each other next to your table then this is the place for you! The food quality/choice was AWFUL. The area you had to eat in was disgusting - like I said crawling with stray cats and not very clean either, no one seemed to be wiping down tables after people had left etc. Breakfast was very very basic continental - great if you enjoy a bowl of warm yogurt in the morning. We 'ate' here 3 nights of the 14 and decided to eat in the local tavernas where we could experience real greek cuisine without the flies, brussel sprouts and cats. Personally, one of my favourite things about going abroad is eating the local cuisine - and if you want this I would suggest booking self catering at lisa mari (or a different hotel entirely) because you'll only be disappointed (and/or sick). Other than the awful food the hotel is acually alright - the pool area was quite nice, very clean and lots of sun loungers etc. The staff here aren't very friendly however, the hotel feels quite souless compared to many of the other places in the resort. Rooms are a good size and have a decent bathroom and balcony. Bali itself is a nice little resort though i'd recommend hiring a car if you are staying longer than a week because it can get a little boring once you've visited the 3 beaches here. Overall we really liked bali - it's a great place to come and relax without all the noise and overcrowding of a large resort. I just wouldn't recommend booking a room with any added on food here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bali hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I just arrived back from a 7 day holiday staying at the Lisa Mari hotel (6 August 2011) and I am sorry to say that it is the worst holiday I have ever been on. This review is a bit of an essay but there's a lot to be said about this place.

We booked through sunmaster and on their website the hotel sounded great - basic rooms (which is fine), air conditioning in the room and even free wifi! However, the reality of the place is a lot more grim than the travel agents - and even the reviews on here - let on.

We arrived at around 5pm and went to reception to check in. The receptionist couldn't find our reservation but didn't seem too fussed about this. She took us to our room without telling us anything about the facilities at the hotel, meal times etc, and left us to it. Our bathroom window didn't shut so we reported it to reception and thankfully they came and fixed it that day although many guests we spoke to who had similiar problems were met with hostility. We also found out that the 'free' wifi and air conditioning cost 6 euros a day each.

We then headed down to the restaurant which is located across the road from the main complex and quite frankly I was disgusted by what was on offer. I'm a vegetarian so I wasn't expecting to eat like a king whilst I was there but I have stayed in hotels in Spain and always been able to find something to eat no trouble. All the food was served school dinners-style and the limited options they had all contained meat. The food looked and tasted disgusting, no fresh fruit or veg and the everything was dripping with oil. There was no dessert, bread but no butter and the only thing I could eat was plain pasta. Even my mom who eats meat found the meal inedible. Breakfast wasn't any better either - there was no option for a warm meal as all they had was bread, hard boiled eggs, cereal or yoghurt. I also questioned the hygiene of the food after I went to get some jam and a load of flies came out of the tray.

This leads me on to the bar. After asking for Malibu and vodka the miserable girl serving drinks informed us that the only drinks available were ouzo, raki, metaxa, lager, wine from a box and fizzy drinks. When I asked about the bottle of gin on the top shelf I was then informed that I would have to pay for it despite being for all inclusive.

The cleanliness of the Lisa Mari also leaves a lot to be desired. During our week long stay the pool wasn't cleaned or chlorine levels checked which meant there were dead wasps and insects floating on the water. The sunbeds were never moved to clean the area around the pool either and the tables were stained with food and drinks from what looked to be a long time ago. The maid came in to clean the room everyday but she didn't make the beds and towels were only changed twice a week unless you paid for extra linen.

To add insult to injury, the staff at the hotel were rude and unprofessional. I agree with another reviewer who remarked that the girl serving at the bar was more interested in giving her friends free drinks and messing about on Facebook than doing the job she was being paid for. The rest of the staff were not much better, barely acknowledging guests or grunting in response to simple requests.

Overall, I would urge you to visit Bali if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of Crete but go and stay at the Bali Star or the Bali Paradise and avoid the Lisa Mari at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Clean room. Nice staff. Air con available, but did not need as ground floor room cool, no mosqitoes and so slept with window open. Bar only really caters for fully inclusive and often does not have change if paying for drinks, but no problem, because plenty of bars and tavernas near by. Food lovely and staff pleasant. You queue for food, but no problem. The catsand kittens come round begging for food and water, but we love cats so thats ok. Be prepared for no running water in room around 6 pm ish, because when water in demand the pipe can not cope, but just leave it half an hour and it will be ok. Pool clean. Bali is very hilly, so be prepared! However every beach is worth visiting. 3 sunbeds and 2 umbrellas 10 euro for the day. Monday and Friday evenings at Panorama has traditional music and dancing at no extra cost, but you need to book a table, because it gets busy. Trolis hotel roof top bar worth a visit, because the barman Vangelis is lovely and his friend plays traditional music on his accordian some nights, Vangelis may even get you up to dance. The only other entertainment is Crazy Town disco open from 1030pm. Bali has no easy accessible bus service. Trips can be expensive, but worth going to local agent and booking Friday trip to Heraklion/knossos for 15 euro each. Knossis entrance 6 euro each, free to under 18 year olds. You can pay a guide there if you want, we were quoted 15 euro for the 3 of us. Boat trip on Calypso 2 very uncomfortable, take a cushion or towels. Opposite the hotel is a cafe/bar called Mountain veiw, great for morning coffee and pre dinner drinks, staff friendly. It also has internet cafe, 50cents for half hour, just keep popping coins in for as long as you want. Telephone opposite hotel, buy a card from a supermarket. Only 1 cash machine in Bali, which is on the way to the harbour, we had no problems using it.
We had a lovely holiday, it was very relaxing. Take plenty of books to read, I got through 3 and half books!

Room Tip: We had booked 3rd floor for veiw, but when arrived were given ground floor in corner, number 56, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

my husband and I stayed here for one week all inclusive in august 2011, and im sorry to say we completely agree with the previous bad review. Initially when we arrived the lady at reception apologised that they were overbooked and stated we would be staying in the rooms over the road from the hotel which were next to the restaurant. This room was basic but very clean and had a beautiful view of the small beach. We were told we would be in this room for three nights but that turned in to 4. We were moved in to the main hotel for our last 3 nights. The room we were given was awful. There was green mould all over the bathroom including the toilet roll holder! There were bare wires hanging from the light above the bed and the socket for the fridge was totally hanging off! when we went to tell the lady on the reception about the socket hanging off she was extremely rude and nasty and said "how do i know you didn't do it?" as you can imagine we were furious!
The food is typical greek food which 2 little old ladies cook in the kitchen. the breakfast is very basic just bread jam cereal cheese and ham boiled eggs greek yogurt and honey. There is no option for snacks as is usual with all inclusive but children can get ice cream between 330pm and 5pm. Drinks are not bad but are not typical of all inclusive the selection is only lemonade, cola, orange, brandy, ouzo, raki and beer. I have to say we did enjoy the drinks but i agree with the previous review in that the staff are absolutely miserable!
Also we found that some of the other guests from other nationalities were better catered for and were extremely rude and impatient in the restaurant and at the bar. This did spoil our holiday slightly.
overall this hotel has the appearance of a failing hotel which is struggling in the current economic climate. It could be greatly improved with very little effort and a little investment.
On the positive side Bali is absolutely beautiful. It is extremely hilly and there is no public transport or taxi's therefore only go there if you are fit! There are some lovely restaurants on the beach very traditional and very greek.
The olympic rep Kelly is fab and deserves alot of credit for the way she handles the complaints from the guests at this hotel. I would definitely travel with olympic again they are like travel companies used to be years ago! We managed to enjoy our holiday by eating out on an evening and spending time away from the hotel. If you are thinking of booking this hotel please think again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We arrived really late at night but the hotel gave us a plate of cold food (very basic). The hotel was full and we were moved to stay in an apartment, up a very big hill. The apartment was very nice but impractical for us. When mentioning this to the receptionist the following day we were moved back into the hotel.

Breakfast was fine but could have done with a bit more variety on the cold meats and cheese. Also the orange juice is very watery and needs to be improved as does the coffee.

Lunch and dinner were fine with a good variety. The only problem was that there was no menu and some people complained because of this as they would not try food they did not recognise. It would also help to keep the queues down if there were separate stations for hot food, salad bar and drinks. As it was there was one long queue to get plates and then you would be stuck in the hot food queue even if you only wanted a salad first.

The rooms were very clean as was the pool area.

The bar area was fine with no waiting and proper size glasses. (Bartender was very surly though and never smiled).

There was no entertainment but this suited us fine, all in all a very quiet nice getaway and not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneybeanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bali
0.3 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Sofia Mythos Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Despo
Despo
#16 of 36 in Kato Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elpis Bali
Hotel Elpis Bali
#8 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
17.5 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisa Mari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisa Mari Beach

Property: Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Address: Bali, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lisa Mari Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lisa Mari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisa Mari Beach Bali
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach Bali, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing