We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Bali, don't stay at the Lisa Mari!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit Bali, don't stay at the Lisa Mari!”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I just arrived back from a 7 day holiday staying at the Lisa Mari hotel (6 August 2011) and I am sorry to say that it is the worst holiday I have ever been on. This review is a bit of an essay but there's a lot to be said about this place.

We booked through sunmaster and on their website the hotel sounded great - basic rooms (which is fine), air conditioning in the room and even free wifi! However, the reality of the place is a lot more grim than the travel agents - and even the reviews on here - let on.

We arrived at around 5pm and went to reception to check in. The receptionist couldn't find our reservation but didn't seem too fussed about this. She took us to our room without telling us anything about the facilities at the hotel, meal times etc, and left us to it. Our bathroom window didn't shut so we reported it to reception and thankfully they came and fixed it that day although many guests we spoke to who had similiar problems were met with hostility. We also found out that the 'free' wifi and air conditioning cost 6 euros a day each.

We then headed down to the restaurant which is located across the road from the main complex and quite frankly I was disgusted by what was on offer. I'm a vegetarian so I wasn't expecting to eat like a king whilst I was there but I have stayed in hotels in Spain and always been able to find something to eat no trouble. All the food was served school dinners-style and the limited options they had all contained meat. The food looked and tasted disgusting, no fresh fruit or veg and the everything was dripping with oil. There was no dessert, bread but no butter and the only thing I could eat was plain pasta. Even my mom who eats meat found the meal inedible. Breakfast wasn't any better either - there was no option for a warm meal as all they had was bread, hard boiled eggs, cereal or yoghurt. I also questioned the hygiene of the food after I went to get some jam and a load of flies came out of the tray.

This leads me on to the bar. After asking for Malibu and vodka the miserable girl serving drinks informed us that the only drinks available were ouzo, raki, metaxa, lager, wine from a box and fizzy drinks. When I asked about the bottle of gin on the top shelf I was then informed that I would have to pay for it despite being for all inclusive.

The cleanliness of the Lisa Mari also leaves a lot to be desired. During our week long stay the pool wasn't cleaned or chlorine levels checked which meant there were dead wasps and insects floating on the water. The sunbeds were never moved to clean the area around the pool either and the tables were stained with food and drinks from what looked to be a long time ago. The maid came in to clean the room everyday but she didn't make the beds and towels were only changed twice a week unless you paid for extra linen.

To add insult to injury, the staff at the hotel were rude and unprofessional. I agree with another reviewer who remarked that the girl serving at the bar was more interested in giving her friends free drinks and messing about on Facebook than doing the job she was being paid for. The rest of the staff were not much better, barely acknowledging guests or grunting in response to simple requests.

Overall, I would urge you to visit Bali if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of Crete but go and stay at the Bali Star or the Bali Paradise and avoid the Lisa Mari at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDelafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    58
    27
    46
See reviews for
51
86
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Clean room. Nice staff. Air con available, but did not need as ground floor room cool, no mosqitoes and so slept with window open. Bar only really caters for fully inclusive and often does not have change if paying for drinks, but no problem, because plenty of bars and tavernas near by. Food lovely and staff pleasant. You queue for food, but no problem. The catsand kittens come round begging for food and water, but we love cats so thats ok. Be prepared for no running water in room around 6 pm ish, because when water in demand the pipe can not cope, but just leave it half an hour and it will be ok. Pool clean. Bali is very hilly, so be prepared! However every beach is worth visiting. 3 sunbeds and 2 umbrellas 10 euro for the day. Monday and Friday evenings at Panorama has traditional music and dancing at no extra cost, but you need to book a table, because it gets busy. Trolis hotel roof top bar worth a visit, because the barman Vangelis is lovely and his friend plays traditional music on his accordian some nights, Vangelis may even get you up to dance. The only other entertainment is Crazy Town disco open from 1030pm. Bali has no easy accessible bus service. Trips can be expensive, but worth going to local agent and booking Friday trip to Heraklion/knossos for 15 euro each. Knossis entrance 6 euro each, free to under 18 year olds. You can pay a guide there if you want, we were quoted 15 euro for the 3 of us. Boat trip on Calypso 2 very uncomfortable, take a cushion or towels. Opposite the hotel is a cafe/bar called Mountain veiw, great for morning coffee and pre dinner drinks, staff friendly. It also has internet cafe, 50cents for half hour, just keep popping coins in for as long as you want. Telephone opposite hotel, buy a card from a supermarket. Only 1 cash machine in Bali, which is on the way to the harbour, we had no problems using it.
We had a lovely holiday, it was very relaxing. Take plenty of books to read, I got through 3 and half books!

Room Tip: We had booked 3rd floor for veiw, but when arrived were given ground floor in corner, number 56, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

my husband and I stayed here for one week all inclusive in august 2011, and im sorry to say we completely agree with the previous bad review. Initially when we arrived the lady at reception apologised that they were overbooked and stated we would be staying in the rooms over the road from the hotel which were next to the restaurant. This room was basic but very clean and had a beautiful view of the small beach. We were told we would be in this room for three nights but that turned in to 4. We were moved in to the main hotel for our last 3 nights. The room we were given was awful. There was green mould all over the bathroom including the toilet roll holder! There were bare wires hanging from the light above the bed and the socket for the fridge was totally hanging off! when we went to tell the lady on the reception about the socket hanging off she was extremely rude and nasty and said "how do i know you didn't do it?" as you can imagine we were furious!
The food is typical greek food which 2 little old ladies cook in the kitchen. the breakfast is very basic just bread jam cereal cheese and ham boiled eggs greek yogurt and honey. There is no option for snacks as is usual with all inclusive but children can get ice cream between 330pm and 5pm. Drinks are not bad but are not typical of all inclusive the selection is only lemonade, cola, orange, brandy, ouzo, raki and beer. I have to say we did enjoy the drinks but i agree with the previous review in that the staff are absolutely miserable!
Also we found that some of the other guests from other nationalities were better catered for and were extremely rude and impatient in the restaurant and at the bar. This did spoil our holiday slightly.
overall this hotel has the appearance of a failing hotel which is struggling in the current economic climate. It could be greatly improved with very little effort and a little investment.
On the positive side Bali is absolutely beautiful. It is extremely hilly and there is no public transport or taxi's therefore only go there if you are fit! There are some lovely restaurants on the beach very traditional and very greek.
The olympic rep Kelly is fab and deserves alot of credit for the way she handles the complaints from the guests at this hotel. I would definitely travel with olympic again they are like travel companies used to be years ago! We managed to enjoy our holiday by eating out on an evening and spending time away from the hotel. If you are thinking of booking this hotel please think again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bali hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We arrived really late at night but the hotel gave us a plate of cold food (very basic). The hotel was full and we were moved to stay in an apartment, up a very big hill. The apartment was very nice but impractical for us. When mentioning this to the receptionist the following day we were moved back into the hotel.

Breakfast was fine but could have done with a bit more variety on the cold meats and cheese. Also the orange juice is very watery and needs to be improved as does the coffee.

Lunch and dinner were fine with a good variety. The only problem was that there was no menu and some people complained because of this as they would not try food they did not recognise. It would also help to keep the queues down if there were separate stations for hot food, salad bar and drinks. As it was there was one long queue to get plates and then you would be stuck in the hot food queue even if you only wanted a salad first.

The rooms were very clean as was the pool area.

The bar area was fine with no waiting and proper size glasses. (Bartender was very surly though and never smiled).

There was no entertainment but this suited us fine, all in all a very quiet nice getaway and not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneybeanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Myself and my partner have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Lisa Mari. We booked last minute and were encouraged by recent reviews which said that the hotel had been refurbished and was now much better. We have booked last minute for the last 3 years and have realistic standards but found this hotel well below expectations.

The Food/Drinks- bar opened at 10:30am and the all inclusive finished at 11pm. Good choice of drinks. However, as breakfast finished at 9:30 and the bar did not open until 10:30 am there was an hour where you were unable to get any dinks apart from ready-made coffee or water. Breakfast was the strangest meal of the day....there was one choice of cereal, eggs, ham, cheese and bread. There was not even a toaster which I find really odd having travelled to many places, including other parts of Greece. Lunch and Dinner were pretty much the same every day, Having travelled all inclusive many times I am aware that the food can be repetitive, however, the food at this hotel was not very good at all. It consisted of a pasta dish, meat, sauce and potatoes but the choice was very limited. The food was soggy and regularly left my plate soaking wet. There was bread but no butter....very odd.

Pool- was a good size but we did not see it cleaned at all during our 2 week stay and as a result there were many dead bugs in it. Some of the sunbeds/umberellas were damaged and really needed to be replaced. The bar area also lacked seating and each night it would be a struggle to find anywhere to sit.

Rooms- Our room had no window in the bathroom and for 2 weeks we resorted to living with a towel over the gap. We found it unacceptable that they did not come to fit a new window during our stay. The rooms were clean and the maids were very good. However, the beds only had one flat pillow each and we had to ask for additional pillows, We went to see the manager and she finally agreed to give us another pillow each as 'compensation' for having no window. However, one of the pillows was taken away without permission on the Sunday- a day when there was no maid service so there was no reason for anyone to enter our room.
The shower was a MAJOR ISSUE. We understand that sometimes the water abroad can be cold however we have NEVER been to a hotel that completely ran out of water at certain times of the day. It seems that during busy periods some rooms would be left without any water, even the taps had none. We were on the top floor and this was a presistent problem throughout our stay.

Staff- I have never been to a hotel where the staff are so unfriendly and totally lack any sense of customer service. They never spoke to us and when we went to the bar to order a drink they would just look at us in silence. The girl behind the bar seemed to prefer chatting to her friends and being on her laptop to doing her job. Even when we returned glasses to the bar to save them having to collect them from the table we did not get so much as a thank you.
We found the manageress VERY RUDE. We arrived at 7:20am and she showed us where our rooms were and a sign about the all inclusive and then left us to it. She failed to direct us to the eating area and we had to ask another guest where to go. When we went to see her about the free wi-fi advertised she started muttering and then told us that it would cost us 6 euros a day, We told her that it was free but she got out some contract she had made with the holiday company and would not even listen to us. Air conditioning is also 6 euros a day so we did without as we were so disgusted with her attitude.
On the final night we were not getting picked up until 2:25am and were sitting in the bar with another couple. At about 12pm the manager came upto us and said that if we did not buy another drink then she was closing the bar and turning the lights off. This was despite the fact that there were 2 other groups of people still there drinking and chatting. She then went ahead and turned all of the lights off, leaving us in darkness. She also turned the lights in reception off and we were left for 2.5 hours in total darkness- UNBELIEVABLE!!! (We were trying to play cards at the time!!)

We had a fantastic holiday and Bali is a really lovely place. The Olympic rep Kelly was fantastic and really helped us out depsite the fact that we did not book with her company. The water park is definitely worth a visit! However, we would NEVER go back to the Lisa Mari and would urge you to spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomacca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at Lisa Mari in July 2011 with my children, that was our first visit to Greece. Bali village is lovely, with fantastic sea and green mountains coming close to it.
We were looking for a quiet place, with clean beach and simple, fresh meals, all for reasonable price.
Host and staff are very friendly and helpful, our best regards to all of them.
Accomodation in "Kriti" building is very good, with TV, air conditioner, hair dryer, and sea view (pool view) - although you may need to close the window thoroughly when teenagers start falling into the pool late at night :)
Food was of good quality, maybe except breakfast - in a week you get tired of cereals and jam, but cakes were delicious! However, lunch and dinner included fish, lamb or chicken, fresh vegetables, pasta, potatoes, stewed vegetables with meat (mousaka) and fruit. No fresh juice, and soup was for dinner only, we Russians cook soup in a very different way and usually have it for lunch:)
The pool was warm, kids loved it, as well as small funny kittens at the restaurant ("taverna"). The sea was perfect, blue and warm. We'd recommend using the largest beach (next to the Bali Mare hotel and Calypso cruises ticket office, downstairs); nice places to have supper at beach bars there or at marina (harbour), e.g., "Valentino" and "Panorama" with live Greek music. And spend a day in Rethymnon - it's amazing! Especially if you go there by sea.
We loved this vacation best of all (if compared to seaside resorts in other countries we visited).

Room Tip: We liked our room in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hi all, just got back from a week in Bali, Crete, staying at the Hotel Lisa Mari. ( June 28th 2011 ).
First off, the reviews/opinions on here before 2011 are now out of date, in as much as the hotel has had a refurbishment and is far better than is described in the posts below.
We stayed in the main hotel blocks where the pool / bar area is. I cannot comment on the 2/3 self catering units above the restaurant.

The hotel blocks are all freshly painted both inside and out. The 'wet room' does now have a shower cubicle so is basically the same as the average ensuite at home. Furniture consists of 2 single beds, a small dresser table with mirror and a large built in wardrobe. We stayed in room 34 which is the top of 3 floors at the block furthest from the pool. However, because the hotel, well all the hotels in the village and built on the side of a hill, the further back you are the better the view ( if you have a top floor that is ! ).

The pool is a very good size, i am over 6'3" and it was a worthwhile swim exercise both lengthways and sideways. The depth is mainly 1.5m with a small kiddie section at 1.0m and a smaller 'paddling pool' for the toddlers which has a safety wall to keep them in.

The village is quiet, but there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants and enough shops with tourist/local/self catering goods to satisfy. Prices did seem reasonable but also they are not the same in every shop, car hire for example varies widely. We hired a kia picanto ( brand new with aircon ) for €32 for the day, but also saw the same size car advertised with another firm for €45. So do shop about. Petrol though is expensive. Varying from €1.68 per litre to over €1.80 !

We went all inclusive, got a deal including flights, transfers and 20k baggage for £355 per person. The itemised bill showed that the hotel bit worked out at £27.50 per person per night for bed, food and drink !
The outdoor hotel cocktail bar opens at 10.30am and closes at 11.00pm, for free you get the local lager, ouzo, brandy, cola, sprite, tea and coffee. As much as you like as often as you like. The food has been mentioned before and does need some work. The main point is to get in the queue early at each meal session, breakfast from 7am to 9.30am, lunch from 1.00pm to 2.30pm and dinner from 7.00pm to 9.30pm

Breakfast was probably the poorest choice personally speaking, though i was happy with the cereal, yoghurt and honey selection each day. The 'fruit juice' is watery. But tea and coffee are fine.

Lunchtime offers a good choice of hot dishes with plenty of fresh salad. There was pork, chicken, swordfish, pasta and other dishes offered, also with plenty of local types of bread. Dinner menu was similar to lunch, just different dishes. We were never left hungry nor disappointed with the meal quality.

It has to be considered that many of the guests in the village are russian/eastern european as is evident from the other bars and restaurant menu's being generally in greek, english and russian.

This is not a bacon and eggs, fish and chips type of hotel / village. It offers good local food dishes to suit the majority of its clientele. You would have to be a very fussy eater not to find anything to eat.

All in all, we had a great stay, the room was cleaned 2 times in the week we were there which is more than adequate for sheets / bath towels for 2 people for 1 week at this price.

There is FREE Wifi in the pool/bar area and my itouch could get a signal in my room which was furthest away from the router and there were a lot of people sat with laptops and netbooks. So getting connected is not an issue. Also many of the bars around the town also advertise free wifi, though they do expect you to buy a drink first.

This is a lovely place to have a quiet, relaxing holiday. Very scenic, with just enough to occupy you. Due to the current economic situation the "little train" which was the local round town hopper is not running.

Finally, a bus from the main road into heraklion or rethymno ( its about 35km to either one ) costs about €10 return per person.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bali
0.3 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Sofia Mythos Beach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Despo Hotel
Despo Hotel
#16 of 37 in Kato Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elpis Bali
Hotel Elpis Bali
#8 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
17.5 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisa Mari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisa Mari Beach

Property: Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Address: Bali, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lisa Mari Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lisa Mari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisa Mari Beach Bali
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach Bali, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing