We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing holidays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Bali
heraklion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holidays ever”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

In general me and my girlfriend return very happy, full of energy, with new friends from the village and 2-3 kilos heavier. The hotel was renovated recently and it was in very good condition. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The place is perfect for holidays. The hotel is literally on the sea and the village is between the two big cities of the island, so you can visit places around the island easily.
We are definitely going there to spend more time of our holidays next summer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asdzxc123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    43
    24
    28
See reviews for
61
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This was our sixth visit to Crete, this one being the first time in Bali. In the Olympic brochure the Hotel was described as not being suitable for persons with walking difficulties owing to the number of steps. We have no walking difficulties on the flat or even with a resonable amount of steps. But what they neglected to tell in the description wa the number of steps.
The room we were allotted was room 1003, right at the top of of the village site accross the road up 115 steps.. Being in our mid 70s we just could not cary cases up there let along walk up. Went back in reception to ask if we could have a lower room and were told they didnt have any. After a bit of a heated disussion we were told to come in next morning and talk to Eleni who would be on duty then. We did get our cases taken up for us then and we got moved down to a room next day just 26 steps from the road which was better. Oue cases were brought down for us too.
There are another 60 to the pool bar where yo can get drinks between 10.30 and 6pm and its another 37 from there to the smallish dark sand beach where the hotel beds and brollies are 6 euros a day. All in all, if you are staying at the top of the village side of the complex, you have over 200 steps down to the beach.
Another downside to the Hotel are the huge number of Russian guests and others from that region of Europe. Most of them surly, overweight and smoking like twitch heaps, the foulest smelling cigs. I have ever smelled. We had 2 German men next to us chain smoking which was blowing our way and entering our room.
The staff in general are very nice, especially in the dining room andespecially Manilos the Manager who is a lovely chap.
Overall, it is the worst hotel we have stayed in on Crete and the food also, being mainly the same sort of menu all of the time. Breakfast was continental style but no toast, no bacon or fried eggs. Other meals were uninspiring and by the middle of the second week we dreaded going down
I must mention Tula, our maid, she was lovely and chatted to us regularly.
I think we will go back to Cyprus next year.
The reason for the title of this revies is because it was like being in Russia whilst in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bali hotels

Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

After my "All Inclusive Minos Imperial, Milatos " nightmare of last year, I was quite reserved about an other AI. In fact I would not recommand this formula to those who want to experience the beauty and authenticity of Crete.But Bali Beach Hotel and Village has sure got its strong points : a really lovely location on a cove and some amazing charming staff : Eleni and Manolis at the reception, cheerful and most efficent, the other Manolis , the restaurant manager, whose dedication succeeds in giving spirit to a rather plain place : the neon lights especially are absolutely horrible and turn one of the loveliest restaurant terraces I have ever seen into an hospital atmosphere of a spot : one sure doesn't feel like enjoying a long dinner here...There is also Esther at the Beach Bar, such a lovely and smiling young lady, she'll make your day whatever happens...And
not to forget ...the very charismatic George, one of the most elegant bar tenders ever...
They all contribute upgrade this Hotel in their own ways...since it also has its weak points : the 80% East countries clients will give you the strange feeling of spending your holiday on a Black Sea resort more than in Crete, the too small private beach for such a huge complex and the bad behaviour going together with some kinds of clients like putting towels on deck chairs to "reserve" them at 7.30 AM... but most of all, the huge difference of standard there is between the Hotel : spacious, light & modern rooms with a balcony and a view ...and The Village across the street : hundred steps, small and outdated rooms ( old fridges, small showers etc... ). Since I already had moved once and would not spend much time in my room anyway, I decided to keep it, but honestly it's not worth the price of a 3 Stars hotel at all ( Bali Village is definitely 2 Stars ). I had a small balcony with an angle sort of sea-view but most of all, both the bass- beat of the nearby disco and the rubbish truck at 6.30 every morning did impose my sleeping with the window carefully closed and the Airco, even though the night temperature outside was so ideal...really wished I were at the Hotel, facing the sea then...
I also met some issue with 2 dreadful German women who repeatidly sat in the entrance insulting walking by clients but you cann't blame it on the Hotel if on their TO. The Chef is creative and the food, if nothing culinaire, is always fresh and various. Forget the breakfast coffee and have it at the Bakery's : try a strong good Greek coffee for a change! Tavernas around the harbour are cheap and delicious, don't miss the roasted lamb...Panorama restaurant is a must : fab view, music and some rareties on the card, like sea-urchins... a real treat!
Apart of enjoying my daily Greek coffee, a Snack, a friendly chat or a Long Drink at Esther's Beach Bar, I spent most of my time swiming at Evita Bay ( 2 wonderful Tavernas )
a quiet paradise of a little cove out of the village...All together if the managment of the Bali Beach should decide be selective and decline massa East European tourism & its All Inclusive, it wouldn't take much to have this lovely located hotel upgraded to a 4 stars Boutique Hotel...Important : DON'T RENT A CAR at ELPIS : the man is rude, extremly unpleasant and cunning : if you don't check carefully he'd try to charge you extra gas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here for two weeks in July 2010. Overall we were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it to couples looking for a quiet relaxing holiday in the sun. If you're looking for night life and partying this is not the place for you. The food was excellent, a large range of mainly Greek food and something different each day. It was all inclusive and we never went hungry, and we could have as much as we wanted from the bar. The rooms were simply but clean, comfortable and large. The hotel is high up and the views are fantastic, but this does mean that there are lots of stairs to climb to get to you room (no lifts) and to the beach, so if you're elderly or have trouble walking you might find it difficult. The manager was very friendly and allowed us to transfer to a lower room despite being peak season. The manager and staff were very friendly.and helpful. Guests were from many different countries, including Poland, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Germany and Russia The beach is also very nice and the sea is calm and warm, though it does get deep very quickly. We didn't head into town as we had everything we needed at the hotel, and it was very relaxing. I would have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone aged about 35 and up.
Mr & Mrs Andreou (age 67) London, England

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAndreou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heraklion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We spent 4 very relaxing days at Bali Beach (Friday to Monday). The hotel is directly on the beach an dthe view from our room was very nice. The food was tasty, with a big variety at the buffet. The personel was kind and friendly enough. There were mostly german tourists and also some czech and other eastern citizens.
Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdzxc123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed here for a week in June and found the hotel bad from start to finish. We arrived at 4am in the morning and were given a room overlooking power cables and a tree. Neither the balcony (ground floor) nor the bathroom window would lock so we asked to be moved. However we were told by the night staff they could not do that and to come back at 7am. We then overheard a man reporting a robbery through his broken bathroom window so we decided not to stay in the room with no locks. At 7am I was told another hour, until I telephoned our tour operator Olympic Holidays at 9.30 am to complain. A room was then found by 10am.

We had booked and paid over 1,000 for this holiday and we asked for a sea view. The hotel did not sort this out for us until again Olympic holidays phoned them.

Generally we were disappointed as we had paid a lot of money for our one holiday of the year. We now need another after returning from here.

For breakfast you get chips, hot dogs, bread, cheese and ham. That’s it full stop not even toast or facilities to make your own. Apparently this is a continental breakfast. Oh and your only cup of tea / coffee of the day is at breakfast so drink up! The lunch and evening meal get a bit better but it’s the same every night. We ate out a lot and the food in resort was lovely. However there is only one cash machine in resort and it run’s out of money quickly.

For a large all inclusive hotel they only have 1 barman serving your drinks in very small glasses which by the way are rinsed by hand in cold water while you wait, lovely.

Another thing to bear in mind is that people had even started to save sun loungers at 11pm the night before. I came out one morning at 6am and I got the last two. It really is be beaten or join the culture.

We would have accepted this holiday for a cheap get away or a second last minute holiday. The standard of the hotel should have been explained to us by the travel agent, this really is a two star at best. We were also not told that the hotel is split over a road. You get the main hotel and facilities in Bali Beach were the room are really nice. Then in the Village bit you get sub standard rooms with A LOT of steps to get to most of the rooms.

If you have booked to go I would advise to pay the difference and change your booking, really.

I have been on many holidays to many different holidays, even one from holidays from hell, which I thought was quite ok for the money we paid. But Bali Beach and Village is poor. Maybe we were overcharged and miss sold it I don’t know but just be aware.

Good points:
The views are beautiful.
Rooms are nice on the Bali Beach side.
Resort lovely and very quiet.
Nice cocktail bar and taverns down the steep hill.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLOUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Hi everybody,
I want to warn you of this hotel, if you want to spend a nice holiday without arguing with somebody every day and without getting up at 8am at latest so that you get a sunbed and an umbrella at the pool or on the beach. The hotel beach is very small and the number of sunbeds at both pools can be hardly enought for a half of the hotel guests. But it wasn´t the most unpleasant experience of our holiday..Bali Beach is a common 3stars hotel, nothing luxury..Sometimes, my brother and my dad we wearing a T-shirt without sleeves (not a beach undershirt, but a typical summer t-shirt, always clean of course, just without sleeves). The waiter, who supervised daily at all meals, threatend to my dad that he would not allow him to have a dinner next day if my father would´t wear a clasical shirt. We told him, that nobody gave us any notice about such a strict dress code in this average hotel, so we simply don´t have any shirts with us. But the waiter wasn´t interessted at all and offered us to take our money back at the reception and go home, if don´t like anything. This situation was repeating every day. I guess, this is not what you expect in a hotel on your holiday, so do not choose Bali Beach/Village!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — see my review
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Peetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bali hotels
0.2 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bali
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 17 in Bali
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elpis Bali
Hotel Elpis Bali
#7 of 17 in Bali
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Sofia Mythos Beach
0.7 mi away
Bali Mare Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Beach Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Beach Hotel & Village

Property: Bali Beach Hotel & Village
Address: Bali, Crete 74057, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Beach Hotel & Village 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bali Beach & Village is situated at the north coast of Crete, at one of the most beautiful holiday areas of the island, at the fishing village of Bali, 25 km East of Rethymnon and 45 km West of Heraklion. The hotel is at a distance of 250m from the center of the village of Bali, with traditional taverns, restaurants, cafes, various shops and super markets. The Hotel Bali Beach & Village is built on the main hill of the village offering a fantastic view to the amazing bay of Bali, which is surrounded with the wild beauty of Cretan mountains. It is an ideal hotel for quiet, restful holidays in original greek/cretan surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Beach Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Beach Hotel And Village
Bali Beach Hotel & Village Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing