We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway & lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great getaway & lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband Paul and I booked a much needed holiday to Crete and a great deal which included a stay at Filion. We were given an upper level room which was great and offered a lovely view of the resort and surrounding mountains. We were very lucky with the weather - it was 30C every day apart from the last. The staff were lovely - special mentions to Yvanna at reception, Jimmy in the restaurant and the manager Michalis. The dinner options were above average - breakfast wasn't great, but that was not a problem. We never had a problem with catching the shuttle to Bali which was lucky as they only had a 10 seater (was told they're planning on getting a larger bus next year which will be helpful). Overall, a fantastic stay and we would certainly go back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    269
    93
    48
    21
See reviews for
194
516
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very good hotel, room service every day and rooms and bathroom spacious. Good place to rest as need transport to get around. Hotel transport to near town was good and staff friendly. Good selection with the food, the views from the rooms was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't bother, go elsewhere locally for better value, position and service. We were sold a voucher for all inclusive but when we arrived were told by the rude hotel manager that this was impossible and we had to sort it out with who we'd booked with.. He was very rude (Michaelis is his name) and acted like we were trying to pull a fast one.

The staff seem downtrodden and pretty sullen which when you've met the manager makes sense... If you are going to crete for the first time dont tie yourself down to one hotel, the island is too big to explore from there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightonTombennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis T, Διευθυντής at Filion Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr Bennett,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to learn and improve our customer services and standards but of course there was a big mistake of your travel agent in the UK giving you an ALL INCLUSIVE VOUCHER for our hotel . Our hotel is from the 1st day of operation in 2/4/2010 only in halfboard basis and we could not offer you any different facilities. Also i would like to notice our very great respect and passion for giving the best to our clients and it is very difficult to meet rude people working in any position in our tourism Industry.
According to the staff please note that we have several repeater guests mainly because of our hospitality and the personal relations that we develop with our guests.
Yours sincerely
The Management of Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice hotel though a bit too far away from civilisation. Room are large and are well cleaned every day. Views from room balcony are very nice looking out over the mountains. Dinners were good with a varied choice, cooked and presented well although breakfast left a lot to be desired. Hotel is located not too far from Bali village as the crow flies but to walk the distance via the winding and hilly road took us one and a half hours. This place is no good for anybody who isn't good on their feet. Only two nights entertainment at the hotel while we were there and there is nothing to do in the evening. The shuttle bus (a Fiat 10 seater) stops running at 18:15 so the hiring of a car should be considered.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the main block. The villas are lower down the slope and loose the sun earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSP009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The guy at reception was sour faced and quite unpleasant, the only unfriendly face we experienced the entire trip! The room was spacious and well appointed but wifi came at a significant additional charge so we didn't bother with it- not very 5 star!
The room wasn't cleaned until almost 5pm and they ignored the balcony which was covered in debris and dust following a storm the night before. The food was very average although we managed to find some ok dishes, avoiding the chips and limp salad. Dessert was truly awful with nothing edible on offer. Views were lovely and the sound of the goats coming down from the mountain each day was fun as their bells tinkled all the way down.
Despite all of the above, the prices were not 5 star either so probably matched what one should expect for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week it is a place to relax but if you get a room above the restaurant ask for another, unless you want to be awake by 7 am.
The food is good and the staff helpful, the spa treatments are good and a fair price for a hotel.
It would have been better if there was free Wi fi as I feel people tend to face book where they are and give the hotel publicity.
There are plenty of sun beds and the pool areas are very clean and the shuttle bus to the town is very good although it is a pleasant work down before it gets to hot, but get the shuttle bus back unless your brave to walk the hill.
The town is lovely with taverna's and shops but make sure to take cash as there is no bank here and the card machines in the shops don't always work........
To sum up a nice relaxing place to stay if you do not want to do to much.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bevo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Filion Suites - it was a good place to chill out, but I would certainly not class it as 5*, especially in comparison to a 5* hotel we stayed at in Kos last year. We arrived around midnight, but were given a warm welcome from the guy on duty in Reception who supplied water, wet towels and some food. We were disappointed with the room, first of all - it was more basic than we had expected with minimal furnishing - a plain sofa bed and a picture with a chipped corner. The bathroom was very good and modern, with both shower and bath, but we thought the shower was rather poor. Also, the hairdryer was pretty useless - bring your own! The main problem I had with the room is that the light outside the room shone through the window into the bathroom then through the window over the bath and into the bedroom. Although there was a blind on the window over the bath, it wasn't effective and we ended up having a blue towel placed over the window. Just a small issue - the hotel provided a half bottle of wine in the room, but it would have been helpful to have a corkscrew. I thought the staff were OK, but not over-friendly - again, the lack of attention to detail made it a 4* rather than a 5* - for example, I would have expected all the staff to wear name badges, and the management also. There didn't seem to be any real 'corporate identity' that you would expect with a 5*. We were also disappointed with the food - again, comparing it with the 5* in Kos, we thought it was average. We are both keen swimmers and the pool was lovely, but don't expect it to be large - it was OK for swimming laps if there weren't many people in there. We booked this hotel as we wanted a quiet, relaxing break but I think we were unlucky with noise - unfortunately, we had problems with two families travelling together with several young males. There were a couple in the room next to us and others in the room underneath, and we found it a real nuisance - they were very loud. Michael and the female on Reception told us that other guests had complained from when the group first arrived, and I suspect nothing was really done about it. They certainly made their presence felt and spoilt our first few days. Michael commented that they can't choose their clients - yes, I agree, but they could have taken a firmer stance. Again, for a 5* hotel, we would have expected this to be sorted out. The main highlight for us was the barman - he liked rock music and we suggested lots of tracks for him to put on his laptop, so that was fun!

I would like to assure everyone that this is a genuine review - I can see that it differs from the majority of views, so maybe we were just unlucky (the weather let us down too, apart from the first and last day there). However, I stand by my opinion that this is not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbabeIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bali
1.3 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel
Bali Paradise Hotel
#2 of 16 in Bali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
53.6 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
50.9 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filion Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filion Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Vlychada Geropotamou, Bali, Crete 74057, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bali
#2 Family Hotel in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Filion Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Filion Suites Resort and Spa is a tranquil traditionally styled property offering excellent accommodation on a 17 acre plot surrounded by olive trees close to the village of Bali (2,5km). Bali itself has a selection of shops, bars and restaurants and a small, well protected bay that is excellent for swimming and water sports and with a complimentary shuttle bus service 7 times from 09.00am to 18.00 pm daily to the beach, guests can get there with ease ( after 18.00pm taxi service is available with charge). The friendly water sports staff, will welcome the guests for a trip around the bay on a water-ski or fun-ride or take it easy in a canoe or pedalo with local charge. Private yachts, motorboats and catamarans are available for rent and sail, too. Tours/excursions service, wake up service , ironing service and a luggage storage is available. There are plenty of facilities for everyone at the Filion Suites including three large outdoor swimming pools, two outdoor children's pools, tennis court / basketball ground / table tennis, a kids play area, an indoor playroom and a conference hall. The spacious outside area with private terraces overlooking the beautiful gardens provide stunning views of the majestic Cretan landscape. Guests will also find an internet corner and those with their own computer can enjoy Wi-Fi connection (charge) in the lobby area and around the pool. The hotel offers also currency facilities to change on-site and the reception stuff will advise you how to visit the famous Cretan sightseeing. If you are looking for ultimate relaxation during your holiday then head for the Filion Suites Resort and Spa. Here you can refresh and revitalize the body and mind with a massage, facial, manicure, pedicure or even a new hairdo (charge). There are a number of private treatment rooms, a sauna and an indoor swimming pool. Spa Packages and Skin Care Services are also available (Entrance and use of Spa area is allowed to people 16 years old and above) . With so much to do at the Filion Suites Resort and Spa you will definitely work up an appetite and a thirst! Luckily there are two excellent restaurants, a bar and a snack bar for your convenience. In addition the resort presents regular entertainment music and show nights. Swimming pools The property has three outdoor fresh water swimming pools and two outdoor pools for children. Poolside deckchairs, umbrellas and towel service are available free of charge. There is also an indoor pool (not heated ) and Jacuzzi in the spa area. Eating and drinking The hotel's main restaurant (Non-smoking area) offers Greek and Mediterranean cuisine for breakfast and dinner, all buffet style. Guests on half board basis should note that in our dinner buffet all Drinks are excluded. Dress code: Gentlemen are kindly required to enter the restaurant with long trousers and shirts. Alternatively you can enjoy at lunchtime Greek specialities in the open air a la carte restaurant / snack bar with some of the dishes cooked right before your eyes. There is a poolside bar, and offers a selection of coffee, juices, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and ice cream. Accommodation The brand new resort hotel has 58 superior double rooms with large balconies, 44 one bedroom family suites and 3 two bedroom villas - with their own private pool. All double rooms, suites & villas are designed to reflect the resort's colourful charm & tranquillity offer to our guests a contemporary sense of luxury and retain in harmony the traditional character and architecture of Crete. Retreat to one of the 94 modern rooms, suites and villas and experience the most picturesque accommodation experience. All rooms have daily maid service and 12hour room service (charge). Superior Double Garden View 2-3 adults Stylishly decorated spacious room with a size of 24sq.m, offer luxurious comforts and elegant amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. Private Balcony offers colourful garden and pool views. Available with twin or king size beds. Family Suites 2 adults + 2 children Those one bedroom superior suites with a size of 38sq.m each feature design and relaxing furniture, separate bedroom with king size bed, spacious living room with double sofa-bed, 2 sat tv set, private balcony, and amazing views. Villas with private Pool 4 adults + 2 children Refreshing and serene colours, contemporary decor highlights, sun filled rooms that feature gorgeous views. Villas are on traditional stone style with a size of 85sq.m and offer the luxury of an individual pool, terrace and garden, feature private entrance, spacious living room with 2 sofa beds and fireplace, 2 bedrooms with king size beds and 2 bathrooms can accommodate up to 6 adults. In Room •Air condition with personal control •LCD Flat Screen SAT TV •Direct Dial Phone / high speed internet access(charge) •Safe •Fridge •Spacious Bathroom with bathtub and crystal cabin shower •Hairdryer •Bathrobes and amenities DVD PLAYER ( SUITES + VILLAS ) Suitable for Couples, friends and Families. Shopping Facilities Everything you might need during your stay, you can find within the village center. The shopping area includes boutiques , jeweler shops to create the perfect outfit for a night out in the town. There are also mini markets / local products shops. Moreover, there are car rental offices (free parking facilities in the resort), for your rides around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filion Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filion Hotel Bali
Filion Suites Resort And Spa
Filion Suites Resort & Spa Bali, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing