We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edgar&Diana "good retreat"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Edgar&Diana "good retreat"”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good place to escape the crowds and to have high quality and silent vacation. Suites very well to those, who do not require to be in the middle of action and to live close to loud bars and restaurants.
Rooms are spacious, good looking and well equipped, not worn out. The staff is really friendly and you can always get the help if you need it.
All rooms, restaurant, bar area face to excellent views towards mountains, valley and Bali village, which is located on the cliffs over the sea shore.
Filion is not located directly on the beach, but this is compensated by the excellent and really pleasant hotel amenities as well as convenient every hour transfer to hotel's beach area, which has a good restaurant with the amazing view over the bay form the top of the cliff.
If you take a lunch in a hotel bar (which actually is a huge terrace over the valley), you will enjoy how fast the food is served and you will be fully satisfied about the price and quality of meal. We liked that the breakfast and dinner food choices were varied and not repeated daily. Prices for wine didn't bite and some of white wines were really good.
We liked the overal location of hotel, because Bali is in middle of island and if you rent a car, you will be able to enjoy other excellent beaches of Crete.
Overall this is really a good place to visit for retreat and in case we visit the Crete once more, I suppose we will choose the Filion again.

Room Tip: Family rooms face the major view to valley and sea, have direct access to swimming pool, consist of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezalans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    269
    93
    48
    21
See reviews for
194
516
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. We didn't get off to a very good start as we were asked to share a villa with strangers as the hotel was over booked. Fortunately the situation was resolved and they found us rooms albeit ours was not in a great position immediately above the restaurant. However it was spacious with a large comfortable bed.
We stayed on a half board basis. The food was buffet style and in the main very adequate. Inevitably with this style of restaurant it became rather 'samey'
Bar prices were high with wine ranging from 16-27 euro, small beers 3.50 and a cocktail 7.00 euro. Many guests resorted to buying their own supplies in the village of Bali (there is a fridge in the room)
Facilities, pools etc were good with plenty of sunbeds. It was usually very quiet
A shuttle bus is provided to take guests down the road to Bali, the local village. This is a delightful resort, quite low key. Typically Greek, no high rise, four lovely coves and plenty of excellent tavernas
Our one excursion was a Landrover safari to the south coast. Superb day out and well worth the money
All in all a good value break with an excellent nearby village

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I visited Fillion Suites and spa as we had been there last year and found the place quiet and relaxing,as this is what we wanted.
It maybe not everybody's choice,but if you are looking for a place to chill out,or hire a car to see Crete,it is lovely.
Views from the restaurant are amazing,pools are kept clean and there are ample sun beds,not too close to each other.
Not really a place for children, in fact, it would be a great 'adult only'. hotel !!
The food was ok ,could be improved,it is cooked too early and this reflects in the flavour of some of it.There is also food cooked through the evening on a griddle and this was very nice,like Sword fish,there is plenty of fresh fruit,salad,fish,olives etc.Desserts ok.
The rooms do vary,they are with air con,we had a nice suite, even though we did not have children,so it was nice to have a living area and the full size fridge,for cold drinks.
We had a nice pool,great mountain view, 20 steps from the room,never crowded,so this was also pleasant.
Lovely bar and bar man 'Miri ' was very polite.
I think the hotel owners are doing everything possible to improve all the minor problems.
It is great 'value for money' and I would return again.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a top room so nobody above, as the chairs sound like they are being dragged across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevens_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We returned from the hotel recently having booked late and done the usual thing of looking on their web site and this site to get some insight. There seemed to be quite mixed reviews so here is my take on it. It is an excellent hotel, no its not 5* by UK standards but if you want that book a 5* hotel in the UK. It is however of a high standard and no doubt 5* by local standards. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and serviced, the beds are enormous with very clean crisp linen. The food is good and there is plenty of choice for breakfast and in the evening. There are a number of steps to get around but this will only trouble you if you have restricted mobility. The hotel is wonderfully relaxed; the pool and bar area is great with plenty of sun beds and parasols. They have some evening entertainment, which mostly reflected the ambiance of the place - couples on acoustic guitars/bouzouki. There is an hourly, return shuttle service to the local town where the beach, shops, bars and tavernas are, takes about 5 mins and if there were more people (8 max) the staff were more than happy to do a couple of runs.
The staff were excellent, friendly, attentive and accommodating. The spa is a bit pricy but well worth a visit. We ventured into Rethimnon on local transport and this is well worth a visit, being the closest larger town, very traditional and good for eating and shopping.
Overall this was an excellent hotel, very good value for money and if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with the option to do some excursions or a few days on the local beach as a break from the pool I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RBucks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived in late July having booked a last minute holiday. We stupidly read a string of very poor reviews just before we left which did create some anxiety. Turns out the hotel we were staying in couldn't have been the same one those that gave poor reviews were staying at.

We had a fantastic holiday. We arrived at 4am in the morning to a warm friendly and helpful welcome. We were hungry and travel tired. The hotel manager (night manager?) sorted out rooms took the bags and offered us breakfast. Fantastic. Couldn't have asked for a more hospitable welcome.

The rooms were clean, well furnished and very very comfortable. Room service was excellent. Staff just super - overall a big thumbs up to the hero of a bar manager and restaurant staff great.

Pool area really good and the half board food we found very tasty. We were offered plenty of options with a good wide range of vegetable/salad options.

Could probably do with a larger shuttle bus, not 5 star in the Ritz and Claridges category by a long stretch, but then neither is theprie being charged comparable! Realistically the Filion provides outstanding service and value for money. I recommned a stay there.

Room Tip: We had rooms overlooking the pool with a view of the mountains as well - 631 and 635. Lovely, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Izzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the Filion.( missing the very large luxury bed and sheets already)
Great location for peace and convenient for day trips.
We found all the staff extremely helpful,courteous and very friendly.The hotel was very clean.
The food was not to my liking( but I am a fussy English girl ) all the produce was fresh and had varied meals adequate to please most nationalities.The spa looked lovely!!
Recommendation free wifi, and cheese and crackers.....
After reading some of the comments,I still took the chance and had a very peaceful, enjoyable week... at a reasonable price.. Thank you to the people I meet,we enjoyed all your company.
Thank you to all the staff for making us feel special and making are holiday very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karinab187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After looking at the website of this hotel and the offerings they had before we booked it, we were extremely disappointed when we arrived. The photos on the website are a complete misrepresentation and they class themselves as a 5* resort. after our time there we would not rate them any higher than a 3* hotel. Generally, the staff were extremely rude, the rooms were dirty upon arrival and the services offered where simply not what is expected from a luxury resort.
We will definitely not be going back and will not be recommending this hotel to any of our friends or family.

Natalie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NatZ19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michalis T, Διευθυντής at Filion Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Natalie,
We are really surprised for your disappointment. Regarding the photos of the website please note that they are advertising the hotel exactly as it is and they do not miss present our hotel which has an official rating of 5 stars. Also according to the staff please note that we have several repeater guests mainly because of our hospitality and the personal relations that we develop with our guests. At the end please note that all the rooms are always cleaned upon guest’s departure and we never deliver a dirty room to our guests,
We are always delighted to accommodate you again in our property and make sure that you will enjoy the upgreaded hospitality that you wish.
Yours sincerely
The Management of Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bali
1.1 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 16 in Bali
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bali Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel
Bali Paradise Hotel
#2 of 16 in Bali
230 reviews
53.6 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
43.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filion Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filion Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Vlychada Geropotamou, Bali, Crete 74057, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bali
#2 Family Hotel in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Filion Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Filion Suites Resort and Spa is a tranquil traditionally styled property offering excellent accommodation on a 17 acre plot surrounded by olive trees close to the village of Bali (2,5km). Bali itself has a selection of shops, bars and restaurants and a small, well protected bay that is excellent for swimming and water sports and with a complimentary shuttle bus service 7 times from 09.00am to 18.00 pm daily to the beach, guests can get there with ease ( after 18.00pm taxi service is available with charge). The friendly water sports staff, will welcome the guests for a trip around the bay on a water-ski or fun-ride or take it easy in a canoe or pedalo with local charge. Private yachts, motorboats and catamarans are available for rent and sail, too. Tours/excursions service, wake up service , ironing service and a luggage storage is available. There are plenty of facilities for everyone at the Filion Suites including three large outdoor swimming pools, two outdoor children's pools, tennis court / basketball ground / table tennis, a kids play area, an indoor playroom and a conference hall. The spacious outside area with private terraces overlooking the beautiful gardens provide stunning views of the majestic Cretan landscape. Guests will also find an internet corner and those with their own computer can enjoy Wi-Fi connection (charge) in the lobby area and around the pool. The hotel offers also currency facilities to change on-site and the reception stuff will advise you how to visit the famous Cretan sightseeing. If you are looking for ultimate relaxation during your holiday then head for the Filion Suites Resort and Spa. Here you can refresh and revitalize the body and mind with a massage, facial, manicure, pedicure or even a new hairdo (charge). There are a number of private treatment rooms, a sauna and an indoor swimming pool. Spa Packages and Skin Care Services are also available (Entrance and use of Spa area is allowed to people 16 years old and above) . With so much to do at the Filion Suites Resort and Spa you will definitely work up an appetite and a thirst! Luckily there are two excellent restaurants, a bar and a snack bar for your convenience. In addition the resort presents regular entertainment music and show nights. Swimming pools The property has three outdoor fresh water swimming pools and two outdoor pools for children. Poolside deckchairs, umbrellas and towel service are available free of charge. There is also an indoor pool (not heated ) and Jacuzzi in the spa area. Eating and drinking The hotel's main restaurant (Non-smoking area) offers Greek and Mediterranean cuisine for breakfast and dinner, all buffet style. Guests on half board basis should note that in our dinner buffet all Drinks are excluded. Dress code: Gentlemen are kindly required to enter the restaurant with long trousers and shirts. Alternatively you can enjoy at lunchtime Greek specialities in the open air a la carte restaurant / snack bar with some of the dishes cooked right before your eyes. There is a poolside bar, and offers a selection of coffee, juices, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and ice cream. Accommodation The brand new resort hotel has 58 superior double rooms with large balconies, 44 one bedroom family suites and 3 two bedroom villas - with their own private pool. All double rooms, suites & villas are designed to reflect the resort's colourful charm & tranquillity offer to our guests a contemporary sense of luxury and retain in harmony the traditional character and architecture of Crete. Retreat to one of the 94 modern rooms, suites and villas and experience the most picturesque accommodation experience. All rooms have daily maid service and 12hour room service (charge). Superior Double Garden View 2-3 adults Stylishly decorated spacious room with a size of 24sq.m, offer luxurious comforts and elegant amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. Private Balcony offers colourful garden and pool views. Available with twin or king size beds. Family Suites 2 adults + 2 children Those one bedroom superior suites with a size of 38sq.m each feature design and relaxing furniture, separate bedroom with king size bed, spacious living room with double sofa-bed, 2 sat tv set, private balcony, and amazing views. Villas with private Pool 4 adults + 2 children Refreshing and serene colours, contemporary decor highlights, sun filled rooms that feature gorgeous views. Villas are on traditional stone style with a size of 85sq.m and offer the luxury of an individual pool, terrace and garden, feature private entrance, spacious living room with 2 sofa beds and fireplace, 2 bedrooms with king size beds and 2 bathrooms can accommodate up to 6 adults. In Room •Air condition with personal control •LCD Flat Screen SAT TV •Direct Dial Phone / high speed internet access(charge) •Safe •Fridge •Spacious Bathroom with bathtub and crystal cabin shower •Hairdryer •Bathrobes and amenities DVD PLAYER ( SUITES + VILLAS ) Suitable for Couples, friends and Families. Shopping Facilities Everything you might need during your stay, you can find within the village center. The shopping area includes boutiques , jeweler shops to create the perfect outfit for a night out in the town. There are also mini markets / local products shops. Moreover, there are car rental offices (free parking facilities in the resort), for your rides around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filion Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filion Hotel Bali
Filion Suites Resort And Spa
Filion Suites Resort & Spa Bali, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing