We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bali
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays ever”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a fabulous place this is, just spent ten days at the most idyllic hotel, set in beautiful mountains, soooo relaxing, staff were all wonderful, food was great, a special word for both Renata and Manos they made a great holiday perfect. Can't wait to go back, hopefully in September

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    280
    97
    49
    22
See reviews for
199
546
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The cost of the accommodation was so reasonable.. We weren't expecting too much.. But we were hecticly surprised.. Rooms.. Food.. Staff.. Specially Manos and Renata were fab!!

Would recommend a massage in the spa! Smaller beaches were good to relax.. With less kids/distraction/noise :)

Boat ride to Rythmno for the day is highly recommended!! Great value for money and a real experience!

Met some great peeps at the resort which added to the whole awesome experience! If only our time there was longer!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clairybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We are going to go back! Lovely hotel, staff so friendly and helpful, especially Renata, Miri and Manos. Could not fault the whole holiday, the room was superb along with the breaktaking view, pools were fab and clean, restaurant had so much food, was spoilt for choice, and the beautiful terrace you sat to have dinner was perfect. All of the staff went out of their way to be really helpful, did not use the Spa but looked around and it was very well equipped. Bus down to Bali was very useful. We did walk down to the highway to get the bus to Rethymon, easy walk and 14 euros x 2 return. And we had a lovely friendly kitten to play with who was very entertaining! Would recommend highly, from a very fussy traveller

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail25-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I have just came home from staying at the Fillion for three weeks, we are both in our 60's, thankfully can still walk quite a distance, but we are non-drivers, so this is our opinion.

When we first arrived we were more than an hour and a half transfer dropping people off, by the time we reached our hotel I wondered "what have I done", knew it was out of the way but not prepared for how much, but what a beautiful setting in the mountains. We were given a warm welcome by Renata and told of all the facilities available, our bags were then taken to our room 642 which was truly a room with a view of the mountains which we did not mind.

The hotel is spotless, the staff could not be faulted, cleaners could not do enough to help, I watched these women starting cleaning outside of hotel before 6 a.m. and then they started on the rooms and worked until late, every day, the same for waiters, bus driver/come handyman, gardener, Manos who runs the bar. Reception staff the same if you want or need anything they attend to your needs very fast. Pool towels supplied with a small deposit which is returned and safe facilities.

If you are looking for a totally relaxing holiday, this is your spot, there is no rowdy noise here, everything is so calm even at the pools, and meal times, if there are people in the bar at night okay you can hear some noise, but all you have to do is shut balcony door. Even the sound of the goat's (and there are a lot) bells are soothing, we knew which part of the hills they were being herded to pasture at different times of the day by the time we were going home. It is very out of the way even with a mini-bus supplied, which last pick up is 6 p.m. There is NO taxi in Bali, and the small train which used to transport people from Bali itself to the main road is no longer in service as the company has gone bust, the same with horse-drawn carriages. You can walk down the main hill or there is a dirt-track road which will take you (depending on age) about 30 minutes, this would be fine but once you get to the main road you then have another 30 minutes of steep walk into Bali itself, especially if you are going to the second beach which is the one the mini-bus drops you off and picks you up from. The first couple of weeks we walked a lot as the weather was just right for us, not too hot, but the third week the temperature was rising and too hot for the effort. So if you are a driver I would recommend hiring a car, especially if you have children, or older company like ourselves.

Dining facilities, you can eat indoor or on balcony depending on the weather either way outlook is great. The food itself, it is not bad, repetitive if anything, I mentioned to Georgo who run's Mythos where the mini-bus drops you (which is same people who own Fillion) that I had not had Mousaka once since we had arrived and it was served up that night compliments to his own recipe which was great. Georgo does great lunches himself, and his chicken soup is terrific, just tell him not to put salt in it. The taverna's down at the port itself food wise are fabulous.

We are wine drinkers and found the price of the wine in the dining room a bit over the top, the local wine is great and not that expensive, the drink at the bar is okay. The alcohol in Scotland is cheaper than down south and therefore people from London/Brighton area thought the drink was very reasonable.

Beach area's are great, not white sands, the area which is supplied by hotel Blue/Yellow umbrella's down stairs from Mythos is very safe especially for children and a lot quieter than other beaches, and you can watch what is going on at small harbour. The climb down to all the beaches is steep and can be tiring, once you get down and into a good spot you loath to leave it.

The mini-bus from the hotel will drop you at the bus stop if you want to go to Rethymo, or Hiraklion, fare usually 4euro-80 single which is not bad, if you do go to Rethymo which is beautiful go to the bus station for return journey there are no bus stops for way back, even if you are told there are, plus this ensures you get a seat on bus as they can be crowded, and be pushy about the bus back there is a dispute going on at the station between two rival companies and about 14 of us were left stranded it was only when we kicked up a rumpus that they ordered a bus to take us to Bali right away. The bus station at Heraklion is the absolute opposite they could not be more helpful or organised and the bus manager keeps shouting out the buses as they arrive and leave and telling peple where to go, very efficient.

I did love my holiday in Bali, complete relaxation, but a bit tired of walking up and down hills by the end.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ELIZABETHA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have returned from a wonderful 8 days holiday in Bali. I travelled with my four-year-old daughter and mother. We stayed at Filion Hotel in Bali. Although the hotel is not near by the beach, it is in a peaceful quiet location. At night, the starry skies and the view from balcony makes the whole experience surreal.
If you are looking for a peaceful hotel with five stars services, then Filion is the place to be.

Although we arrived well after midnight, the wonderful reception staff welcomed us. They have offered us food and drinks. We had dinner on the balcony of the restaurant and that was a nice surprise after a four-hour flight and one-hour transfer from the airport.

I cannot praise enough the receptionists, especially Renata who is always willing to help and to give advice about local attractions etc. The manager of the hotel Mr Tsagarakis is very pleasant helpful, keeping a close eye on the offered services to make sure that his guests are pleased and happy. Nothing is too much of a trouble for everybody.

The rooms are very nice, clean and they have all the facilities one would expect from a five star hotel.

The weather is very good. I definitely recommend that you have a budget to ret a car. Bali is a beautiful resort but there is so much to explore around the island is a shame not to.

I will definitely recommend Filion hotel to friend and family for their next holiday in Crete!!!

Have a look at my pictures although reality is much nicer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Fed up with the weather during our recent visit to England we booked a last minute trip to Crete. The Filion Resort in Bali was delightful. We were warmly greeted at reception, and ushered to our room. Very spacious with an ensuite and balcony overlooking the swimming pools. Half board was included. Although initially disappointed that the resort was not closer to the beach, we enjoyed our 20 minute walk there each day. A shuttle service was also offered. There were several beaches to choose from, but we chose the one closest to the hotel which offered shade. Swimming was brisk (May), but lovely. Our meals at the hotel were elegantly served - a buffet each morning and evening, with a choice of personally cooked omelettes for breakfast. Waiters were very attentive. We did not take advantage of the spa facilities. The extra charge for wifi was not a problem. 5 euros lasted a week. There was easy bus service to Rethymnom or Heraklion. We also took a boat trip to Rethymnom - well worth it. We could have played tennis, raquets and balls provided, but it was too hot. We did find a table tennis table tucked in the basement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jersan2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Flew in to Chania very easy rental pick up. Hotel easy to find - parking next to villa.

What to expect

A peaceful spot to relax excellent base to tour the island, we combined with a 2 nights stay in Rethymon as the price of this trip was so good for a family of five, we didn't check out. Next time we will go to Via beach as a combination trip

A car is a must if you want to get the best from Crete. Perfect location for a trip across the mountains to Plakias. Another good trip was through the wine region around Heraklion lunch at the tavernas near the aquaduct and a quick tour of Knossos at the end of the day. The mountain villages are idyllic most towns will have graffitti a downside of the current economic unrest.

5* Staff

Very friendly people - Manos in the bar - great friend - happy to let our teens play music help out and on one particularly rainy evening we felt like we had invited all our friends to our own home for a party. Our son provided the entertainment with his guitar, and one evening we partied with the Greek dancers, but it is what you make of it..no animations team, so if your not good at making your own party go into town.

Note the drinks are expensive they are everywhere in Crete, so save this for a splash out or buy some of the excellent wine from the supermarket Look for the Cretan gold medal winners in the white wine section, and combine the two.

Food we only had breakfst and one dinner as the smoked meats and gyros in town were too tempting, What we had was good there isn't a constant restocking I like this as I find the waste of food at all inclusives shocking, again if you ask they will get you top ups.

Try the Bali restaurants George at the Harbour beach does great fish, beautiful kitchen and local fishermen out of season hang out here. In Rethymon we had the best lunch Apaki pork at the restaurant next to the fortress only place where a glass of wine was the high quality that you normally have to buy a bottle to get. lemon tree also excellent.

Michalis Tsagarakis Manager If you are unhappy with something let him know rather than posting when he cannot help! We had a couple of issues Michalis immediately sorted this out with us, and even had my husbands hat sent back which he had left behind. Finally on the people issue how many hotels have you been to when the maintenance guy changes your tyre for you?


Beaches Bali OK and the strip near Rethymon, don't be disappointed because on the South side of the island and Via beautiful beaches. Went in the sea in April but I am orginally from Cleethorpes so not for everyone! Pools... no pools are heated in Crete, but in April I managed the villa pool (it was 80 degree and sunny though)!

Are you fit? you will be after the steep climbs at the hotel, Crete is hilly my teenagers moaned like mad but interestly are all exercising now back home. Don't go if the thought of climbing some stairs breaks you into a sweat. Do go if the thought of a healthy walk to breakfast surrounded by birdsong, country sounds and fragrance of lemon blossom, working off several months of being office bound does.

We love Easter breaks before the crowds arrive and we loved the Fillon team and Crete? When I work out how to add photos you will see why!

Room Tip: Villa fabulous not overlook very spacious excellent for 3 teenagers or gruop of friends Fridge and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequentdinner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bali
1.1 mi away
Hotel Xidas Garden
Hotel Xidas Garden
#5 of 16 in Bali
179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
182 reviews
14.0 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,054 reviews
13.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
1.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel
Bali Paradise Hotel
#2 of 16 in Bali
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filion Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filion Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Filion Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Vlychada Geropotamou, Bali, Crete 74057, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Bali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bali
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Filion Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Filion Suites Resort and Spa is a tranquil traditionally styled property offering excellent accommodation on a 17 acre plot surrounded by olive trees close to the village of Bali (2,5km). Bali itself has a selection of shops, bars and restaurants and a small, well protected bay that is excellent for swimming and water sports and with a complimentary shuttle bus service 7 times from 09.00am to 18.00 pm daily to the beach, guests can get there with ease ( after 18.00pm taxi service is available with charge). The friendly water sports staff, will welcome the guests for a trip around the bay on a water-ski or fun-ride or take it easy in a canoe or pedalo with local charge. Private yachts, motorboats and catamarans are available for rent and sail, too. Tours/excursions service, wake up service , ironing service and a luggage storage is available. There are plenty of facilities for everyone at the Filion Suites including three large outdoor swimming pools, two outdoor children's pools, tennis court / basketball ground / table tennis, a kids play area, an indoor playroom and a conference hall. The spacious outside area with private terraces overlooking the beautiful gardens provide stunning views of the majestic Cretan landscape. Guests will also find an internet corner and those with their own computer can enjoy Wi-Fi connection (charge) in the lobby area and around the pool. The hotel offers also currency facilities to change on-site and the reception stuff will advise you how to visit the famous Cretan sightseeing. If you are looking for ultimate relaxation during your holiday then head for the Filion Suites Resort and Spa. Here you can refresh and revitalize the body and mind with a massage, facial, manicure, pedicure or even a new hairdo (charge). There are a number of private treatment rooms, a sauna and an indoor swimming pool. Spa Packages and Skin Care Services are also available (Entrance and use of Spa area is allowed to people 16 years old and above) . With so much to do at the Filion Suites Resort and Spa you will definitely work up an appetite and a thirst! Luckily there are two excellent restaurants, a bar and a snack bar for your convenience. In addition the resort presents regular entertainment music and show nights. Swimming pools The property has three outdoor fresh water swimming pools and two outdoor pools for children. Poolside deckchairs, umbrellas and towel service are available free of charge. There is also an indoor pool (not heated ) and Jacuzzi in the spa area. Eating and drinking The hotel's main restaurant (Non-smoking area) offers Greek and Mediterranean cuisine for breakfast and dinner, all buffet style. Guests on half board basis should note that in our dinner buffet all Drinks are excluded. Dress code: Gentlemen are kindly required to enter the restaurant with long trousers and shirts. Alternatively you can enjoy at lunchtime Greek specialities in the open air a la carte restaurant / snack bar with some of the dishes cooked right before your eyes. There is a poolside bar, and offers a selection of coffee, juices, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and ice cream. Accommodation The brand new resort hotel has 58 superior double rooms with large balconies, 44 one bedroom family suites and 3 two bedroom villas - with their own private pool. All double rooms, suites & villas are designed to reflect the resort's colourful charm & tranquillity offer to our guests a contemporary sense of luxury and retain in harmony the traditional character and architecture of Crete. Retreat to one of the 94 modern rooms, suites and villas and experience the most picturesque accommodation experience. All rooms have daily maid service and 12hour room service (charge). Superior Double Garden View 2-3 adults Stylishly decorated spacious room with a size of 24sq.m, offer luxurious comforts and elegant amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. Private Balcony offers colourful garden and pool views. Available with twin or king size beds. Family Suites 2 adults + 2 children Those one bedroom superior suites with a size of 38sq.m each feature design and relaxing furniture, separate bedroom with king size bed, spacious living room with double sofa-bed, 2 sat tv set, private balcony, and amazing views. Villas with private Pool 4 adults + 2 children Refreshing and serene colours, contemporary decor highlights, sun filled rooms that feature gorgeous views. Villas are on traditional stone style with a size of 85sq.m and offer the luxury of an individual pool, terrace and garden, feature private entrance, spacious living room with 2 sofa beds and fireplace, 2 bedrooms with king size beds and 2 bathrooms can accommodate up to 6 adults. In Room •Air condition with personal control •LCD Flat Screen SAT TV •Direct Dial Phone / high speed internet access(charge) •Safe •Fridge •Spacious Bathroom with bathtub and crystal cabin shower •Hairdryer •Bathrobes and amenities DVD PLAYER ( SUITES + VILLAS ) Suitable for Couples, friends and Families. Shopping Facilities Everything you might need during your stay, you can find within the village center. The shopping area includes boutiques , jeweler shops to create the perfect outfit for a night out in the town. There are also mini markets / local products shops. Moreover, there are car rental offices (free parking facilities in the resort), for your rides around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filion Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filion Suites Resort And Spa
Filion Hotel Bali
Filion Suites Resort & Spa Bali, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing