We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame restaurant and food lets this hotel down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess Andriana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kiotari
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shame restaurant and food lets this hotel down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just back from our holiday in this beautiful new hotel and I totally agree with all the good comments I saw on Trip adviser before I went.

Amazing deco, friendly staff, great rooms and fun Animation team but I had hoped before I got there the manager of this hotel had taken on board all the negative comments regarding the restaurant and food but unfortunately this was not the case.

The food is not 5 * the meat/fish dishes are of a poor quality and the fruit juices are not fresh. There looks as if there are lots of choice but they double up on everything. The bar staff are so pleasant but the quality of the cocktails are poor and forget the pina colada's they were horrid.!!There were so many pasta dishes you felt like you were in Italy rather than Greece. Obviously pasta being a cheaper option. The only time I had a Greek meal was when I went into the local town, which I would highly recommend.

There isn’t enough staff in the main restaurant to clear away dirty dishes, so you stand there waiting for a table on all three sittings. The food trays are not refilled quickly enough so there are often empty plates. They are so under staffed that the restaurant manager had to run around changing tables, this then stop him from showing guests to their tables.

I’d suggest they turned the snack bar and pool bars into themed restaurants then this would take the pressure off the main restaurant at least for the evenings, and to make one a Greek restaurant as isnt this what we come to Greece for?

I would not go back to this hotel, amazing as the décor is, unless they change the quality of food and restaurant services.

Room Tip: Dont pay for a sea view as there isnt a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Della63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    418
    130
    25
    17
See reviews for
766
985
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Depending on your standards most of the reviews are quiet accurate, accommodation is good, serving staff work really hard, but the place is let down by poor food and the lack of management, a little organisation at meal time’s would greatly improve the service level.

Pool bar, (Jimmy’s) and the all day dinner staff are welcoming and helpful.
Lobby bar, staff are all excellent, although it lacks any atmosphere.

5* should not mean queuing for a table at dinner, waiting for a table to be cleared and set before you can sit down, plates from the previous course remaining throughout your meal. The general food quality is not what I’d expect from a 5* resort, there is no show cooking, only a chef to carve meat during dinner.

Basic attention to detail are what makes a place special, the main dining restaurant is catering for the masses, its on a par with the works canteen, only the food is not labelled clearly as previously stated, main courses are repetitive, pork, fish?, turkey, pork, fish, turkey.

All drinks are local and for safety served in plastic around the pool/beach areas, these are recycled by collecting and washing, hygiene will need to be constantly monitored here.

Our transfer Hellenic does take approx 1 ½ to 2 hrs depending on the number of pick ups, the driver was very helpful.

Due to our late departure we enquired about a late check out, this was going to be 80 Euros for an additional 6hrs, we were offered the use of the communal spa showers, again not quiet what my previous 5* resort offered.

Gym and Spa are both good.

Would I go again NO.?

Room Tip: Block 3100 over look the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and we had a wonderful time.

The staff are absolutely wonderful, always cheerful and very helpful. No matter what you request they will always try to accommodate you and they are always cheerful whilst doing do. It started at the check in which was quick and efficient, a few passport details then handed a form to fill in which we could return the following day. The bellboy taking our bags straight from the taxi and then onto our room. After the bellboy had given us a quick tour of our room we headed to the foyer bar for a quick drink before unpacking.
At the bar more excellent staff. The drinks are only local but personally I do not find that a big problem. They do have a limited cocktail menu, but this in its self is quite good as people are not left waiting whilst the bar staff are mixing some strange, exotic cocktail.
At the pool bar you can get soft drinks, beer spirits and cocktails; they only do water by the glass and no bottles of water. By glass I mean plastic beakers, this is for safety reasons around the pool. Again more wonderful staff.
At the all day restaurant which is next to the pool you can get food from either 10 or 10:30 each morning. They do the usual snack type foods plus salad and fruit. You can also get soft drinks, water, beer and wine here they do not do spirits or cocktails at this bar but they do have have ice cream which is served in cones.
The restaurant can get a little manic at times but the Maitre D' and his staff do a wonderful job though they could do with more staff on and a slightly bigger restaurant. Again the staff here are as helpful and cheerful as everywhere else in the hotel.
The food is a little samey and the choice a little limited but apart from that my wife and I had no major problems with the food. Our only minor complaint was there were no omelettes to order which we have had in other AI's, but as I say this is minor. What was wonderful was after last years experience (at a different hotel) the restaurant was a fly free zone.
If you like the beech the hotel has it's own shingle beech which is accessed via a subway which is adjacent to the main restaurant. By subway I do not mean some dark, dingy tunnel with buskers hanging around in it. It is large bright and airy. If you go to the beech you take your pool towels with you and the sun beds are free. There is also a snack bar on the beech which is also part of the hotel so food and drink there is included in your AI.
The only real problem we had was the AC in our room was not working (1113). We went to reception and they got maintenance straight onto the problem. Maintenance tried four times to sort the problem but could not so we were moved to another room, problem solved and once again this was dealt with in a highly professional and courteous manner both from the staff at the front desk and the maintenance staff.
If you want wild night life outside the hotel this is not the place for you. A 10 minute walk will bring you to Carrefour supermarket and a handful of small shops and two small bars/restaurants. You can also get the little Noddy train which for €5 will take you around the whole resort, about 30 minutes this also takes you past two tavernas on the beech.
We did take the local bus into Lindos one day, this is €2.50 each and takes you through Lardos and Pefkos, the reception has the bus timetables and bus stop is across the road. One evening we took a taxi into Pefkos (€17) with some friends for a meal which was very pleasant and made a nice change. We went to a restaurant called Enigmas on the recommendation of the hotel bar staff, it was a good choice, good food and atmosphere. For four of us, starters, main course and drinks €100 which we thought was very good.
As many people have said previously if you have a preference for a room go for the pool view. We had a ground floor room with a sea view, well actually a wonderful view of the car park and main road with glimpses of the sea. However we had never made a preference of the room and we were more than happy with the room we had. The room itself was excellent, king size bed, large flat screen TV, a bathroom with a large walk in shower and a bath with a shower over. The mini bar is refilled every three days and consists of a couple beers some soft drinks two bottles of still and two bottles of sparkling water.
If we we go back to Rhodes we would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urwinrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel interior decor is immaculate rooms are spacious big beds lovely feather pillows and excellent quite air con, mini bar stocked up every two or three days nice little selection including bottled water and beer. Big deep bath and powerful shower with fluffy white towels and towel available for the beach or pool every other day. Drinks are ok not the nicest cocktails but not bad local beer is better . The food is ok better than I expected after reading some of these reviews before my visit I was expecting slop! Breakfast was fab choice of every type of cooked egg breads pastries cereal would be nice if they did pots of tea. Lunch was nice enough always found something to eat I don't eat much meat so can't comment on that. Dinner got a bit the same by the end of the week but salads were good( there were a few very strange things such a Brussel sprouts and pasta???) wine is ok I added a bit of soda water to the rose to make it more drinkable. Pool area and toilets are spotless . What I noticed most about this hotel is the staff who work the hardest I have ever seen they literally do not stop! And put with some very rude guests, they work as hard and as fast as they can so if do do have to wait 5 minutes for a table get over it! Maybe could do with a few more staff so they can have a few more days off you often saw ones at 7am still there at 9pm. The al a carte restaurant is good a bit dis jointed seem like there's too many staff up there, wine is about 28 euros so not too bad, but if u want to pay for a meal go to stefanos up the road is a beautiful little greek restaurant food is excellent and cheap lovely grilled meats and fish and run by such nice people they even pick you up and take you for free.The area round the hotel is unfortunately very empty lots of building work but nothing else wasn't keen on beach area either but that's not the hotels fault, if you fancy a day out get the bus to Lindos about 25 minutes away it is a beautiful little village with lots to do watch the bus times though there about every hour and less as the day goes on a taxi back is about 20 euros . Thanks to all the staff at the hotel . And have a lovely holiday if you decide to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hols092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Director of Sales at Princess Andriana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the time with us. Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! Wishing you a great summer! All the best here from Princess Andriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Basically new hotel in a great location. Looks nice and welcoming, service is terrible and food is available in big quantities yet not fantastic. Also surprising that most of the fish served is not local to the Meditterean but comes from the north see...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filiberto_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Trust the excellent reviews here - this is a great place to stay and we have a fantastic week here in late June 2013.

The hotel is a reasonably long way away from the airport - up to two hours transfer on the tour operator coach but that means that it's a quieter and more relaxing location. We arrived quite late (2am!) but the reception we received and the quality of the accommodation immediately made that all worthwhile. The room we had (which was just the basic double) was excellent - spotlessly clean, big, excellent balcony, fab bathroom and show facilities and with a brilliant view of the pool area. Oh, and a minibar that got refilled four times in a week - can't complain!

The pool is great, perfect for pottering about in when the heat (35C+!) gets to you and there was never a problem getting a lounger. The towel system is fine - you get a token which you can exchange for a towel and you get to change this every two days. The Animation team were very enthusiastic and wanted you to get involved in all the activities but equally, left you well alone if you weren't interested.

We took a couple of day trips out to Lindos and Rhodes Town - both were well worth it and easy to do on the local bus service - stop just over the road from the hotel.

Food and drinks were similarly excellent - the local beer was fine, cocktails (from a limited list) and other mixed drinks (eg G&T) were all fine. If I'm honest, it was so hot we didn't really drink that much but it was nice that it was always available. Food was a canteen style (not silver service like some people reviewing here seem to expect) and was always available, hot, tasty and a good variety. Recommend sitting outside in the shade rather than inside which was a bit noisy. Packed lunches also ok (not brilliant but ok) for day trips you might want to take. The a-la-carte restaurant was brilliant - super tasty food and great service.

Service from the waiting staff and bar staff was great too and they were very flexible in letting us keep our all-inclusive bracelet and access the shower facilities before our late flight but after the midday checkout.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are much better than the (limited) sea view - and it's easier and quicker to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are a young couple who spent a week relaxing at the Princess Andriana. The hotel itself is beautiful and we would say the most stylish hotel in the local area from what we saw. The coach transfer took around two hours from the airport, I would suggest getting a cab as it will cut the journey time in half yet cost you 80 euros each way.

The decor of the rooms are very modern, spacious and clean. The rooms had some nice touches such as the free mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities, and the beds are huge and very comfortable! We stayed in a room with a private pool which I would highly recommend! This was great not only to relax but to escape the madness of the pool and beach which at times can be very noisy and disturbing.

The Animation team are a credit to the hotel providing some fun entertainment, polite, friendly and not pushy for you to get involved. we participated in yoga and pilates, I would say at times the shouting and constant singing along to songs in the pool is what contributes to the hotel's 4 star experience. As these pool activities are daily, I would suggest the hotel takes into consideration guests who want to relax! The same applies to the beach, we all like a bit of music but the blaring and loud Italian DJs became annoying after a while - and that's coming from Anglo Italians! The beach is a pebble beach which is uncomfortable to walk on yet the beach is clean and water is crystal clear. There was also some building work going on which was a little noisy and off putting.

The food in the main restaurant is satisfactory. The restaurant is canteen like and we would strongly recommend eating outside to avoid the noise inside. There is a large selection of food yet becomes repetitive by the end of your stay, as with most all inclusive buffets. The quality of food certainly isn't five star standard and is one of the main let downs of the hotel experience. The cuts of fresh meat and fish were not of high quality and you also have to queue for them. The restaurant team are all very helpful and polite yet their hard work and rushing about adds to the chaotic atmosphere in the restaurant. Beware of the trolleys! Breakfast is also misleading, continental breakfast is advertised from 10am however in reality its just the left overs from the earlier American breakfast. The A La Carte restaurant is more in line with the five star quality you would expect and the staff are extremely attentive. The restaurant itself is beautiful set on the top floor of the hotel with views overlooking the sea and a nice selection of food - highly recommend the burger!

The all inclusive drinks were also a plus point with the house wine being very enjoyable and strong cocktails and spirits freshly mixed in front of you by the fantastic and quick bar staff. The pina colada is delicious!

We indulged in a massage treatment at the spa which was very relaxing. The spa has wonderful facilities including complimentary sauna and steam room.

The Reception team in general were very helpful, assisting us with a room move and another issue, yet we found Elena at Reception to have an attitude and not be helpful at all. Unfortunately her attitude lets the team down.

As a young couple, the nightlife is disappointing so we ventured to Lindos yet the cab fare was a little expensive at 20euros each way.

The main market for the hotel is Russians and Italians and there were more children than we expected.

Overall, the value for money was brilliant and we really enjoyed our stay here. There are a few issues that need to be addressed before they can consider themselves five star.

Room Tip: Book a room with a private pool for total relaxation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mendolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiotari
0.6 mi away
Rodos Princess Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
28.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
17.3 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
25.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Andriana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Andriana Resort & Spa

Property: Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Address: Kiotari 85109, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kiotari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiotari
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiotari
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiotari
#2 Family Hotel in Kiotari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiotari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princess Andriana Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring Stylish Rooms with Private Pools (optional), Room Service, State of Art Spa, a number of Elegant Restaurants & Bars, you will not find a more Polished All Inclusive Hotel on the island. Around Every Corner there is a source of Comfort and Excitement. A true Luxury Dilemma indeed, where to start, what experience and what to explore….Well, you decide- it’s all about your Precious Time! Kiotari Beach is just Footsteps from your Balcony door with Fantastic Sunrise Welcoming you Every Morning. Share the Moments with your Better half, your beloved Family or dear friends, 5 star Princess Adriana Resort & Spa gives you the Meaning of Quality Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Princess Andriana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa Kiotari, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing