We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
94
137
48
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
137
48
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar main building corfu town half board free massage fantastic hotel hotel beach three buildings freshly squeezed orange juice restaurant entrance fish night lively hotel bus stop outside the hotel shelf space sun loungers old village bathroom door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 299 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

This is the first time we've visited the Greek islands and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is well situated on a small beach. We had a sea view room with views of fantastic sunrises over the Greek mainland. The staff are all very friendly and speak excellent English. Rooms are spotless and well appointed - ours included a fridge which, as it was quite hot, was very welcome.
The food was excellent, varied and well cooked. Our only criticism is that some of it could have been a bit hotter. We don't think the lights above actually gave out much heat. Puddings are amazing - lots of honey & syrup so don't go if you're on a diet!!! The drinks are quite expensive but we tend to have water with our meal. The surprise is that the still water comes in a litre bottle (2.80 Euros) - as we didn't drink all that at dinner we took the rest back to the room for use during the next day - result - didn't have to buy much extra water. The supermarket opposite the hotel entrance is good and reasonably priced.
The whole area can be easily explored on foot and a walk up the hill to the old village is well worth the steep climb. Look out for the chickens and the water spring also the 'self walking dogs' - they are amusing as they appear to know where they are going and don't bother about people. Most of them leave the village, walk down the lane by the hotel, along the beach for a while and then back up one of the many side roads up to the village again!
A walk into Messonghi along the main road & across the bridge and down to the beach can become a circular route if you take the row boat ferry (1 euro each) back across the river to the Messonghi Beach Resort and along the board walks back to the hotel.
Bus into Corfu town is a must - conductors on board!!! The only downside is that the return bus stop is at the bus station which is about 20 - 30 min walk. The sign posts are deceptive 300m is more like 500!!!
There are lots of museums and the new & old forts are worth a visit too. Some are free others charge but there's a reduction for over 65's!!!!
The hotel pool is a bit cold but the sea is really warm and you swim with fish!
We will return to the Delfinia as the location takes come beating.

Room tip: superior sea view room on a high floor in the main block where reception is located
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

I need to remind myself never to read TripAdvisor before visiting somewhere!
I'd seen reviews that the staff didn't like English guests and they were a bit snobby, but far from it!

I've just returned from 6 fantastic days as the Delfinia as part of a group of 9 women on a nice get away to the sunshine!
The staff were all incredibly nice and would go out of their way to be helpful.
We think that the guests weren't used to seeing a larger group of ladies as there were a few disparaging looks and the other guests all looked rather miserable, but it didn't bother us as we thought it was great.

The food was fantastic! The breakfast had a great choice of cooked, continental and everything in between, and the dinners were great. Each night was a bit different, but there was plenty to be had (I know I put half a stone on in a week!) and again there was a lot of choice, including meats, salads, pastas, hot and cold options, soups, lots of desserts. We couldn't have asked for better to be honest.

The rooms themselves were basic, but they were clean and the beds were actually quite comfy! The grounds are just beautiful as are the views.
It was all very convenient with the pool and the sea being mere steps away from the rooms. There were plenty of sunloungers too so not too much arguing over those!

If you fancy lunch, or snacks, the Taverna is fab and reasonably priced or there is a mini-market just near the entrance to the hotel - perfect for stocking up on bottled water and munchies.

The entertainment in the evenings wasn't the best, but if you fancy something a bit more upbeat then go for a five minute walk along the beach and there is a fab Elvis bar which is hilarious! Definitely recommend that!

I'd absolutely go back without question.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chazlovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

We’ve just returned from Delfina after a 10 night stay (September) we booked with Tui and wanted to say what a wonderful time we had. And wanted to leave a fairly in depth review after seeing some mixed reviews before visiting.

Hotel
The grounds of the hotel are lovely and very well maintained. The hotel is set well of the main road so there’s no road noise and feels quite private. A small walk out of the grounds takes you to the main road of Moraitika where there’s a shop that sells everything you could need and a bus stop for the local bus route so it’s well placed. The reception building seems to have had a renovation within the last 12 months so is very clean and well presented and reception are always on hand to help. I did use the gym once which isn’t brilliantly equipt, but as it’s a holiday resort rather than somewhere people stay on business I don’t think it’s very often used.

Staff
All of the staff we encountered were lovely, especially in the restaurant. My best piece of advice is just to learn a simple “hello”, “thank you”, and “please” in Greek as you would do anywhere you visit. This will help you no end as the staff will appreciate you making the effort. My wife did this and learnt a new phrase to use with them every few days, naturally the staff were always happy to see us as a result. Staff are fluent in many languages, while there aren’t many English people there at the time we were (seemed to be predominantly German or French) the staff can still speak great English and to be honest it was quite nice feeling like you weren’t on holiday with everyone else from home.

Rooms
We were in the same building as the reception and it seems all of these rooms have been refurbished again in the last 12 months. The room was lovely, very clean, air conditioning worked brilliantly with the bathroom also being refurbed with a lovely shower and bath. Rooms could be considered on the small size as some people have said, but we managed to unpack all our clothes, put our cars to one side and spread out nicely so didn’t have any issues. We were over looking he tennis court with a small balcony with a couple of chairs, the room did have a small fridge to put your water/beer/snacks into. Please note there’s no water when you arrive so I’d take some with you if arriving late/early hours. Obviously I’ve no idea if the other builds have had the rooms refurbished or what the plans are so you might need to check this with your tour operator.

Pool/beach
The pool is a decent size and looks extremely clean. There are a limited number of parasols but plenty of sun loungers to go and grab. I’m usually one to only go by the pool but we didn’t use it as the hotel is right on the beach and it’s so nice there! Lots of sun loungers to grab, plenty of space to put yourself. Again, this was September so not peak season but purely our experience. It’s a sand/shingle beach but once you’re into the water it’s sandy only and so clear and for the majority of the time we were there was like a mill pond it was lovely. If you’re not a confident swimmer, this is only waste high until you’re very far out so really is a great place to be. Very safe and secure around the hotel for leaving anything by your sun lounger without worrying. There’s a beach bar which isn’t badly priced and they sell pretty much anything you’d need drinks wise and some snacks. There is a hotel taverna on the beach for lunch which is lovely and well priced for food.

Restaurant
For breakfast and the evening meal, you’ll head to the on site restaurant which again seems to have been refurbed in the last 12 months so it’s very fresh and clean with plenty of tables. I’ll try and give a bit of information on this as there’s been so many different views....

Staff here are excellent and very friendly. My best piece of advice again is just make a bit of an effort to be able to say hello and thank you. Kostas and his team are brilliant and were always happy to see us. They all work so hard and do a brilliant job.

Breakfast has plenty of selection, not exactly full English but they do have hot food, beans, eggs, fried potato etc. Plenty of cereal, bread, toast, jams, fruit, pancakes, cake etc so you’ll not go hungry.

Lunch - this is in the beach taverna as described above.

Dinner - again this is in the main restaurant with the same staff as breakfast. We were given two options for times of seating when we arrived, 7:00pm or 8:00pm for which you’re given tickets for. We chose 7:00 and arrived dead on 7:00 which was a mistake. It was like feeding time at the zoo with my wife being barged out of the way of the buffet by another woman. This is a reflection on other guests rather than the hotel though. We went at 7:30 and didn’t have the same issues again. In peak season the times might change. Similar to breakfast, plenty of choice on offer here with a fish dish, pasta and plenty of salad available as well as fresh bread. Each night they carve up pork, chicken, lamb or beef on the show cooking area. As well as this there are plenty of options of other dishes which change on a nightly basis. Food is very tasty.

Evening entertainment
In the evening we used to head to the beach bar where they would have something on such as Greek dancing or a musician. Nothing mind blowing but always something there. Alternatively there’s a pathway along the beach so you can wander to other tavernas along the sea from which is nice or wander around to the main road so you’ll always find somewhere to perch yourselves for the evening.

Outside of the hotel/things to do
So Moraitika is a really nice and safe area. On the main road there are various tavernas which we tried a few of and were nice, supermarkets, shops, pharmacies etc so everything you could need. The next resort on didn’t seem to have much in it but you can walk along the main road outside of the hotel, go left at the roundabout and follow the road to the beach which makes for a nice circuit type walk in the evening.

There is a local bus service which you can get (the running times are weird so best to take a photo of the time table) which we used a few times. This is the “green busses” service, just jump on and they’ll come around for you to pay during the journey. We used this a few times to Corfu town without any major issues, just a bit chaotic on the last bus back and can be busy at times. We also stopped out mouse island for a morning using the buses which is at the end of the runway so cool to see the planes coming in right over your head!

Plenty of places to get an excursion from so you won’t go short.

We did a nice walk up into the hills by the side of the supermarket across from the hotel which took about two and a bit hours with some lovely views.

Corfu town is lovely with some well known stores and an old town part similar to the likes of Dubrovnik.

Hopefully this gives everyone a pretty good idea of what the hotel is like. We genuinely couldn’t find any faults with the hotel or area and would return.

Thank you again to the hotel and brilliant staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
11  Thank johntheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

A lovely hotel, in beautiful grounds with trees and shade, right on the beach. The manageress and all her staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent. The large grounds meant it never felt crowded. There were always sun-loungers and palm umbrellas available. We went 17-24 September. The weather was hot and the schools had gone back so the hotel clientele were mostly older, which suited us. The evening entertainment in the beach bar was tasteful, subtle and pleasant, such as saxophone, jazz and Greek dancing. Not too noisy so it didn't disturb others in the hotel. There was a huge ground chess and drafts set which kept us happy. We also played table tennis. The rooms were good and very clean. We couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. We had a lovely week there and were especially glad that we chose the Delfinia when we saw other hotels along the coast which were tall, modern, soul-less blocks on the other side of a busy road from the beach. We will definitely be going back. Thank you to the very kind manageress and all her staff for a wonderful holiday.

Room tip: A higher floor will give you a sea view
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Nice, comfortable rooms, swift access to the sea, and very obliging staff.
We did try an upgrade to a superior room which was advised by a couple of reviewers but the hotel was full and we were very happy with our room, which although described as limited sea view, had a fabulous view over the Ionian Sea towards Greece.
Our only gripes was the dining room which was a vast souless cafeteria with tables plonked in straight lines , & signs like "please wait here to be seated"to remind one that this was a mass tourist hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hugh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews