We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Messonghi Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sleepless nights”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Receptionists not very helpful more interested in looking after the french tourists which was ok . When we tried to mention that the extremely loud music from the night club at 03.30 in the middle of the night was not appreciated the young lady just shrugged her shoulders. On the last night We managed to speak to the night receptionist a young man who was very helpful and managed to get the music turned off at 02.00hrs. Didn't even taste any of the food it looked awful.
Rooms were clean, the drains stank and cleaner told me that there was a problem with them and they constantly put "farmaca" translated I am sure she meant chemicals... down them. Purely a place for French tourists travelling with Club Marmar (I think correct spelling) everything revolved around them which didn't bother us but if English families go there they may feel left out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    616
    353
    179
    113
See reviews for
834
582
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a quick break through the Independent Newspaper and we were fooled. This 'all inclusive' was awful. A complex catering for up to 5,000 people. A coloured band on your wrist to show your inclusivity status. Butlin's style redcoats, unprepared rooms with electrics and water supply needing repair. The food was truly dire, cold and designed to cope wit the lowest common denominator of French, German, Albanian and British etc. It was OK when there were about 100 of us for the first few days but when 1,000 French descended on the 5th day it turned into a nightmare. We were drowned with loud music by the pool, dragooned into 'activities' and generally made to feel like interlopers. They even took the one English TV channel away.
The village of Maitika was mostly closed (although we did find a wonderful Taverna, LaVa, see separate review). This was a con job and actually impacted on our view of Corfu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moraitika hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The first 3/4 days of our holiday were great it would have been a 4 or 5 out of 5 for just these days, we basically had the hotel to ourselves with a few other british families and couples there. Rooms were nice, food was nice, hotel staff were nice.

Take the blankets out of your room to put under your towel on your sunbed, much more comfortable as only plastic sunbeds by the pools. Go into Corfu town by bus, 2.20 euro each, takes about 20 minutes and it is lovely there. Lava grill was nice which is situated just outside the hotel, on the right and walk for about 5-10 minutes.

Then the french arrived, about 200 of them, all english tv was switched off and replaced with french, the entertainment was all in french and they was not allowed to speak in english (i felt sorry for the british kids!). We didnt have any entertainment until the French arrived, it was very loud (and we couldnt understand it lol) and nowhere to get away from it as it was then only pool open and in the evenings only one bar open as the outdoor entertainment area was not open yet. We were told we was staying in the 'french block' and had to put up with it, as it was the only part of the hotel open in April. When we raised this issue with the reception they ignored us as we obviously was not priority anymore.

When it is busy the British are put in different blocks which look more run down so I can now understand the bad reviews from last summer.

Everytime French guests arrived they all greeted them, singing and dancing round the coach. When British arrivals came, nothing not even a welcome. It was quite rude.

This was the only bad point about the hotel as they should state it is mainly a French Hotel. I don't know what it will be like peak summer it might be different as split up from the French but there still wouldnt be any British entertainment for the kids or adults.

I would go back if it was like the first half of our week away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We travelled to this hotel on a last minute break. When we arrived I was immediately was impressed that

(1) we had a superior room with aircon despite only booking basic - the room was a good size and was clean
(2) the food was nice and labelled as vegetarian
(3) all inclusive meant all inclusive and most drinks were included apart from imports etc
(4) the staff were EXTREMELY friendly and welcoming
(5) the hotel was mainly full of english (was worried about being the minority reading the other reviews)
(6) the kids entertainment was in english
(7) the lady who ran the kids club was ADOREABLE - really sweet couldnt help enough and amazing with the kids. she took them to the beach/in the pool and got them doing all sorts and they all fell in love with her - she also ran the kids disco and got them dancing to the usual chocolate/euro kids dances

It became apparent that we had arrived out of season, this meant that a lot of the facilities were still being made ready. the beach was still being worked on and there were few sunbeds (which you didnt pay for)

We got to the bar straightaway, there were plenty of sunbeds at the pool, the restaurant was quiet etc. I must say that the day before we left the place completely transformed literally 1000 french people turned up, all the facilities, other beachside bars came open, there was loud entertainment including ball room dancing etc ! (not really my thing!)

I would say this was excellent value for money, rooms were cleaned daily, there were very friendly staff and kids club was amazing, i must say this review should be read bearing in mind it was a week or so out of season...

Room Tip: go slightly out of season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel as a last min getaway! We paid next to nothing for it which was fab and we were all inclusive. As Greece was just starting to open up the week we arrived I imagine it would be much more lively round about the hotel towards the summer months. Lots of bars and restaurants but all shut when we were there. The hotel has many pools to choose from which were rather cold when we were there! One pool has flumes ... We were like big kids on them we couldn't say no! Great fun! Beach is basic, more stones than sand but nice. Food was lovely, something new every day and night and staff in restaurant were so helpful and friendly esp George! The bar staff were lovely - Theo was so nice :) they are very strict with no all inclusive drinks after 11 so line up at 1030 to get what you want. We had a renovated room. Rooms were nice, shower door is frosted though so be comfortable with whoever you book with! We flooded the shower one night as there was a gap in the shower... Our neighbours were also flooded by this ! The only negative id give this hotel is if you are young- there is only a disco at night and when we were there we were the entertainment team! Ha but as we were leaving the real team turned up so it would probably be more lively with them. Go to corfu town for clubbing a taxi is about €30 and it was a great night. we also went in to corfu town during the day and visited the old town - beautiful and lots of wee bars to sit and enjoy some wine. we also went to kavos (about an hour on the bus) but it was closed as we were so early in april but it could be a fab day out if youre a party animal! buses outside hotel, buy tickets from reception. A warning that the staff sleep with so many guests ... We met so many who had bedded these men - yuk. Don't be falling head over heels - we did see this happen lol you will only be one of many! The girls hearing this seemed to be heartbroken - a one week relationship isn't going to go that far .... But apart from that the staff are nice, just beware. We were appalled at what we heard from some of the girls. The hotel is huge, pretty surroundings and if you have nice weather, it's beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went with my wife and 2 kids for a weeks break to this resort and having been to alot of 'All Inclusive' resorts, this one was well worth the money. The hotel was alot better than some of the 4 star resorts we have been to. The room was very clean and modern, every day we had fresh towels, bed linen and it was cleaned and tidied thoroughly. The quality and choice of food was brilliant, always fresh with lots of Greek and European options. The staff were very helpful, polite and always happy to meet any requests.
Our Rep, Alex, was great, she was in reception every morning to help out with any issues or to organise excursions or to arrange hire cars.
The complaints I've read seem to be British people expecting a British hotel, this is a lovely Greek hotel with lovely Greek food & staff.
Would definately go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bryan642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

April 2013 WE had a great time food was amazing and plenty of it .Rooms cleaned every day staff so happy to help nothing to much trouble .Even tho early in the season and not much entertainment we had a great chilled out holiday our room was clean and everything we needed in it .Would book to go back to this hotel again and again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraitika
1.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,242 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfinia Hotel
Delfinia Hotel
#3 of 7 in Moraitika
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
0.2 mi away
Sea Bird Hotel
Sea Bird Hotel
#5 of 7 in Moraitika
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messonghi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messonghi Beach Resort

Property: Messonghi Beach Resort
Address: Kombos Lefkimmis- Messonghi, Moraitika 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Moraitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Moraitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Messonghi Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Messonghi Beach Hotel is a superb holiday resort situated between the villages of Moraitika and Messonghi on the east coast of Corfu. The hotel complex is situated in beautiful grounds with well-kept gardens, where respect for the environment and the happiness of its guests combine with every kind of comfort to make their stay unforgettable. The hotel's rooms and bungalows are tastefully furnished, with en-suite bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Every room opens out onto a balcony or terrace. There are two spacious restaurants serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in buffet style. Guests can also request lunch packets. After a day in the sea under the sun, the on-site bars are an oasis to relax in with a drink and to listen to your favourite music. Guests have use of three outdoor pools (2 adult pools and 1 Mini Aquapark), with an extra 2 paddling pools next to the adult pools. Pools are surrounded by free sun beds and there is a playground for the younger guests. Sports enthusiasts will appreciate the hotel's wide variety of sports facilities, including football, tennis, cricket, beach volley, petanque courts and table tennis. With its superb position and ideal facilities for families, this holiday village is no doubt one of the most popular hotels in Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Messonghi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messonghi Beach Hotel Moraitika
Hotel Messonghi Beach
Messonghi Beach Resort Corfu/Moraitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing