We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and great value for money”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the La Palma Princess and Spa during June. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay with a great choice of food and empty pools! Our room was great and bed was huge. It's a place to go for a rest and a break and not really a party type hotel. Our room and the main hotel was kept very clean and fresh. IF I was being really picky I would say the bar and restaurant staff could be friendlier and there were one of two flies buzzing around the buffet food. BUT we would definitely go back again as such fantastic value for money for such a relaxing place.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but they usually want extra money for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,265
    1,622
    480
    103
    70
See reviews for
1,309
2,561
81
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have just returned from the hotel La Palma princess and I can say without a doubt that we all really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is spotless food is fantastic and the whole resort is beautiful. The way the hotel is at the base of basically a volcano it couldn’t be prettier.

The whole resort is very laid back, because of the mountain the sun doesn’t rise until 0930 so there’s no rush to get sun beds, I really enjoyed the late breakfast restaurant overlooking the cliffs but everywhere we ate was very good!

The paths leading down to the pools are very steep so you need to take this into account, you are on the side of a volcano but I can see this would be a major problem for some, and wasn’t really mentioned to us when we booked!

It is a very isolated resort and the drive from the airport is very twisty, so travel sickness pills are a must for those who suffer, also it is very quiet for older teenagers or young adults that like a bit of dancing, as the entertainment does start at 10.00pm and finish by 10.45pm which was fine for us as the bars stay open and we could stay up and talk but not good for others.

We went on the whale watching trip which was very good! We decided on the slightly more expensive Fantasy speed boat which was a good choice as the boat is small seating only 10 so we felt more exclusive also being served sparkling wine and tapas was a nice touch.
If all you are looking for is great pools, good hotel then this is a perfect resort!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Having never heard of nor knowing anyone who had been to La Palma we didn't really know what to expect but we had a brilliant time from the minute we checked in. The food was varied and delicious. A different theme every night with loads to choose from!! We ate something different every night! We also paid to go to the "La Tasca" tapas restaurant and it was definitely worth the €15 per person. We did end up paying for 2 bottles of wine as they either didn't do, or didn't understand when we asked for a glass. The cocktails were very drinkable and the all inclusive menu had a good choice. Our room was very spacious, massive bed, sofa, and chairs, with a table and chairs on the balcony too and I loved the decor! The shower was the best shower I have ever used in a hotel! We had no problem getting sun loungers each day, we went down at about 10am and there was still loads to choose from! All in all a very relaxed week In lovely hotel on a beautiful Island!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in early July, and overall had a fantastic experience here.
The hotel was surprisingly quiet, it felt like the hotel was half empty, and many of the areas didn't have anyone in at all. This was good for the bar and the restaurant as there was never really a wait.
The drinks selection was surprisingly good, but some of the drinks were a little disappointing. For example the mojitos were very hit and miss. Sometimes you wouldn't get sugar or mint, sometimes they'd be amazing. There's an option to upgrade the drinks to a premium selection, but it was about €10 per day which is quite expensive.
The pool areas were all very nice, although I only tried out 9 out of the 11 as one was a nudist pool, and one was a children's pool.
Watching he sunset over the sea was an amazing experience, and the reflection over the other pools was very pretty.
The food was good. One of the better restaurants that I've been in at all inclusives. I would recommend always asking to sit outside for dinner, as it's delightful to watch the sunset whilst you eat. There was the possibility to eat pretty much every hour of the day as you can use the pizza restaurant (which serves a lot more than pizza) in the hours between breakfast and dinner. And they also provide a packed lunch if you're going for a day trip somewhere.
The day trips that were available were not outrageously priced. We went on a whaling/dolphin trip, and we saw quite a lot if wildlife, which was good. However, the majority of the boat were spending their time throwing up over the side of the boat as the boat wasn't too stable.
The beach was nearby, about a 20 minute walk, which was quite nice after eating so much in the buffet. And the beach was very unspoilt, we were the only people there, and it was a nice black sand beach. Highly recommend a visit.
There were a couple of negatives about the hotel, the first being that it was really out of the way. It took an hour to get to anywhere outside the resort. There really is nothing around. So I hope you enjoy the company of the people that you go with.
The other negative is the amount of flies that there were. There was a plague of flies throughout the day. Especially over by the pizza restaurant. It was very frustrating.

Overall though, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Had such a good time there. And for £350 all inclusive, it was worth every penny.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dav502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this beautiful hotel. Its in a very remote location so if having a walk around the shops or going out in the evenings is your thing this isn't for you but if total relaxation and good food in a dramatic setting is, then I would totally recommend this hotel. The animation team works really hard so you won't be bored. There is lots going on during the day and into the evening for both children and adults.

I have only one criticism which was the bar and the drinks. Firstly the drinks were the worse I have ever had while on an All-Inclusive holiday. I appreciate they were local, but they were bad. The cocktails were pre-made and kept in plastic bottles. I had a couple of drinks which were undrinkable. There were half board guests staying at the hotel who paid for their drinks and they were made fresh. You could, at a cost, upgrade to branded spirits but this wasn't cheap (about 60 euros per person per week).

Also, you were only allowed 2 drinks per person so if you were a family of 4 you either had to go to the bar twice or 2 of you had to go together. One evening I returned to the bar about 30 seconds after giving my children their drinks, the barman who served me walked right past me, refused to look at me and I waited nearly 5 mins to be served. This caused so many queues at the bars in the evening we usually didn't bother with drinks after our first one.

The hotel is huge. If you get offered a porter to deliver your bags then accept. We looked so funny walking back and forth with our cases trying to find our rooms.

Our block was the furthest away from the main building and if like me you like a cuppa in the morning I would take a travel kettle if you have one. You can hire one at reception (3 euros per day) but the selection of tea wasn't great. We were only given two tiny pots of milk which wasn't enough for one cup but you can get milk from breakfast and keep it in the fridge in your rooms.

We paid for Wi-Fi for the week for our two children (19 euros per device per week). It was a bit hit and miss and they kept losing their connection. I don't even take a phone on holiday but if Wi-Fi is important to you its worth noting.

I would recommend eating breakfast at La Chozia. It is the most beautiful setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. At lunchtime there is buffet at The Pizzeria. The food stays uncovered and there are flies everywhere although none of us were ill. If you get there when it's busy there isn't time for the flies to land as the food is being constantly replenished. However, you can order your food and wait for it to be cooked if you want. You can also go to the main restaurant. All the food was good quality.

We were told men needed to have long trousers for the evening but this wasn't enforced and they could wear 3/4 lengths.

Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious, set in beautiful well kept grounds. There was no noise. Not sure if it was well designed rooms or considerate neighbours. Either way I slept the best I have on any holiday.

I'm sure you will have a great time here. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If walking is difficult ask for a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Turner_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

La Palma Princess is a fantastic location if you fancy a nice relaxing holiday in a secluded area.The hotel is very large and is beautifully presented.As you head down to it you can see 11 swimming pools and the beautiful Ocean.
Normally we don't go " all inclusive. " but I can highly recommend it when staying at this hotel.It definitely deserves it's 5T rating.
The rooms are large and well appointed, the beds are a bit firm but we still slept well.
Each of the restaurants provided great food in plentiful quantities and such variety, a must is taking breakfast in the CoCo restaurant.
A special mention must go to the Animation team who work tirelessly and with such enthusiasm, whether it's organising the many sporting activities, running the Mini Club or performing in one of the shows in the evening, Cats and Grease whilst we were there.
La Palma is a beautiful Island , it's capital Santa Cruz is a vibrant place and worth a visit.So if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful hotel head for La Palma Princess.

Room Tip: We were in block 4, no sea view but very nice.Extra 40 euros we could have had a sea view room but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was our third visit to La Palma Princess and now looking to book fourth. Thank you to Mavis and Christine in the animation team. We had a fanatic time! two weeks was not enough. Food was excellent in main restaurant and breakfast around the pool on the terrace was a lovely way to start the day,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bigmac766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
950 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
983 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
562 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
159 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#4 of 13 in Brena Baja
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Property: La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing