We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Valladolid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Perfect holidays”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Perfect holidays in this nice hotel, located between a nice cliff and quiet banana plantations. The perfect spot if you are looking for relaxing holidays. Even more relaxing is the fact that the internet was only available at extra charge in the reception area, but, hey, do you really need internet access when you are on holidays? You can forget about your everyday life and enjoy the nice sunsets near the reception area or in any of the 11 pools, all of them spotless.
Good size bedroom and toilet, and TV with international channels too.
Very good restaurant, with thematic dinners everyday. We stopped going for lunch as it was impossible to try every dish twice a day. Those desserts were great. The chef(s) should be praised for the good work. The late breakfast was served in the pool area too, and during the day you had the chance to try the pizzeria, in the pools area, or any of the different bars.
The night entertaining was all right, some days better than others, but it is not fair complaining about these as you cannot expect to get a "Cirque du Soleil" show in this small and beatiful island.
I should mention the Spa Centre, because although entry was not included (10€) was worth the money, with good selection of treatments. Even better if you can go for a massage package treatment. They should offer 1-week pass or something like that, so you could enjoy it during your stay.
Regarding the staff, everyone was friendly and helpful.
Give this hotel a go if you are looking for a relaxing getaway, and if you want some more action you can always go for some of the day trips that are offered (Caldera de Taburiente, north of the island, etc), or take some of the buses (guaua) that stops at the hotel, and do a day trip to the near lightouse and the Salinas de Fuencaliente (about 1€ each way), San Antonio volcano (no need to pay the entry if you cannot walk around the top), or walk from to the hotel to Playa de La Zamora (20 minutes), a tiny beach with black sand and great views, with a small bar too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,265
    1,622
    480
    103
    70
See reviews for
1,309
2,561
81
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We have been to Princess Hotels on many occasions and this one did not disappoint. There is only one flight a week from the UK- Gatwick- as the Manchester flight has been dropped. Consequently the hotel was completely under occupied... not good for the Hotel but great for us !! 220 people in a hotel for 1800 guests.. you can imagine how quiet it was. We had the top pool area to ourselves every day with a 40 yd diameter pool to ourselves. Bliss! No fighting for sunbeds !!
We had a bad start to the holiday as the two buses from the Airport arrived at the same time. We waited for 30 minutes to book in and we were half way down the queue. And our cases took a long time to get to our room. The room itself- 5233- was just great. Very quiet and comfortable but I don't think the aircon works very well judging by ours and what fellow guests said.
I defy anyone to say the food is not very good indeed bearing in mind it is all inclusive. We ate most mornings in La Choza late breakfast area which is a lovely way to start your day. The selection is not quite the same as the main restaurant but still excellent.
The pools- all 11 of them- were immaculate as were the communal areas around them. One is heated and several of them have a graded beach type entry into the pools-ideal for small chiildren.
As people have said the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, and there is only a couple of short walks in the locality and no shops, other than the small one on site. So don't go there if you want designer shopping!
The Rep, Jay was just the perfect guy for the job. Friendly, approachable and knowledgable. He lives on the Island and all the guests last week thought he was great. Thank you Jay.
The ANIMATION TEAM were BRILLIANT. Mavis from Cuba, Andrea, Kristina, Vanda and Alicia from Slovakia were great fun and worked very hard to make everyone feel welcome but not pressured into taking part. They were part of several of the entertainment shows in the evenings and proved to be excellent dancers . The Flamenco proved how good they were. Thank you all very much from a Welshman.. you know who I am! The Manager of the hotel should give them a bonus... I know of 4 guests who returned to the hotel purely because of the animation team. The best entertainment was a group of 30-40 local folk singers and dancers. It was just a brilliant night especially when they invited guests to dance with them at the end. Nice touch!

The trip around the Island was a long day.. 7 hours on the bus but wow what a trip. You must do it. Take the travel sickness tablets if you are slightly queasy in a bus. You climb to over 7000 ft in an hour from sea level in the bus and eventually come out of the clouds into brilliant sunshine. Not a cheap trip but very enjoyable. Not for the feint hearted if you don't like heights!
Other guests enjoyed the whale / dolphin trip.

The drinks were really good and the all inclusive was extended beyond the mid day cut off on the last day. This was appreciated. Several of the eating places were shut down but we certainly did not miss them. The number of staff behind the bars was not high enough at times and at peak times you could wait quite a few minutes to be served. Glasses were not always cleared away as quickly as you would expect but this is only a small matter really.

The weather last week was mixed- 3 days of sun but there is a lot of cloud generated by the huge mountains around the hotel. Although the last few days were warm, it was overcast. But the previous week had been sunny so perhaps we were unlucky!

Would we go back? Yes if we wanted a good relaxing time, with good food and good entertainment

Room Tip: High rooms get a good view of the sea. Block 5 is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We holiday'd here in August 2012. The hotel was lovely, although a little remote, but that did not bother us. We had a lovely relaxing holiday, the children spent most of the time in one of the many pools. The food was great, such a varied choice at every meal time. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Would definately return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzywYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A group of 6 ladies have just spent a lovely week at this resort. The rooms were spacious and clean,the public areas clean and tidy and the 11 pools were great. It was quiet at this time of year and some of the pool bars were not open but did not need to be. The animation team were excellent and good fun with a good range of activities available.
The resort is a bit isolated but you can get around if you don't mind mountainous roads to get anywhere.!
The food in the main restaurant was very good and the variety excellent. The pool area restaurant was fine but less formal ( there were a lot of flies around which was a bit of a problem so we tended to stick to hot food !)
Be wary of the trips available. I think they could be probably arranged independently at a lower cost.
Overall a great holiday.
Worth a visit if you like a peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: With so many rooms on the complex it is luck of the draw but I would think lower ground floor would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saladdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the middle of nowhere except a banana plantation. Perfect for rest and relaxation, one of the best I have been too. There are 11 big swimming pools and at no point did we need to reserve sunbeds. My friend and I had one swimming pool all to ourselves! Staff are very professional and animation team never approached you to ask if you want to join in any activities, which we liked. This was a total chill out holiday. The drive up and down the mountains wasn't as bad as other destinations I have been too such as Halkidiki and Olu Deniz but relax and enjoy the scenery as the island is very green and pretty. Didn't do any trips just relaxed all day sipping drinks, eating and sunbathing! Evening entertainment was good a different show every night or sit outside on the terrace enjoying a drink looking down at the lovely layout of this lovely hotel. A word of caution- this hotel isn't suitable for anyone with mobility issues as it was a walk up to the reception and main restaurant, a walk down to our rooms, and another walk down to the pools. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are elevated and are two storey with no lifts. However bell boys take your luggage to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandtraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the princess La Palma for 7 nights in April as a lone traveller. Booked the holiday online and then thought OMG what have I done! But I needn,t have worried as the whole episode from my daughter dropping me off at Bedford mainline station to pick up train to Gatwick was flawless. I think Thompson are superb as a travel company and have used them for several years now. Excellent flight out slight delay coming home but so what it just means you extend your holiday as far as I,m concerned. Hotel staff are so friendly and approachable, room was spacious clean,comfy bed nice balcony. 3 English channels on tv you could pay for tea and coffee in your room which I did as I love my morning cuppa. The food was varied and tasted good I defy anyone to say they couldn,t find something they liked! You could have champagne for brekky if you liked ( I did like!). Restaurant staff were so friendly and attentive always greeted with a smile. The pools,eleven of them (yes,eleven!) were spotless and continually attended to. The hotel is nestled at the bottom of this beautiful gem of an Island and as you transfer from the airport (about an hour) you can see the pools as you approach. I loved looking up from the pools at the mountains and watching the clouds cross over them I went on the whale trip and saw a mother and her calf about 5 times plus around 30 dolphins. Also I was the only person who spied a Loggerhead turtle. Lovely boat-trip with lunch included. Night time entertainment was fantastic too. The lovely,knowledgeable rep Jay lives on La Palma so can answer lots of your questions - he is so helpful and was so kind to me particularly when he realized I was by myself. Another highlight for me was the star-gazing which is done on Mondays for 15 Euros. Loved the talk first then the "gazing" we would have got our money back if it had been too cloudy to see anything but we were lucky we had some fab views. I believe I stayed the same time as mummymoo82 so please read her review as well. Am planning my return trip to La Palma very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great holiday, the hotel is superb with great staff. The restaurant had lots of choice with great table staff, you could not want for more here. The pools (there are quite a few) were well kept, a real safe haven for small children.
The only down side was the pick up from the airport to the hotel, the road was very windy with lots of sheer drops (nice view though). DON'T GET THE BUS, GET A TAXI it is a much better and safer journey, worth every penny!
All in a great holiday.
Just dint believe the rep when he says you can walk to the lighthouse in under 30 mins, more like 3 hours! LOL

Room Tip: Get a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkpwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
950 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
983 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
562 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
159 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#4 of 13 in Brena Baja
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Property: La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing