We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST TIME EVER !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Myself and my husband had the best time ever at this amazing location on this unspoilt island. We were there from the 24th August until the 7th September and this was our first visit here.
This hotel is suitable for families and couples looking to enjoy all the amazing things this complex offers. Yes the hotel is on its own surrounded by banana plantations but we knew this when we booked so we were not expecting to pop out to the shops everyday. This for us was all part of the beautiful charm of this resort and being nestled between the mountains and the ocean was breathtaking, we even caught site of some dolphins and whales at the La Choza restaurant at breakfast.
There is an excellent quality and choice of food at every meal time, the al inclusive drinks were of a good standard and I loved the pina colada cocktail!!!
Yes they do have eleven pools here !!!! and we never had any trouble finding a sun bed in the shade. The grounds were very well kept and spotlessly clean as was the rooms and all parts of the hotel.
What really made this holiday complete for us was the fantastic animation team and brilliant exercise and games programme they have here. We joined in with daily aqua gym, the morning exercise class at 10.30 and they had a dance lesson at 5 o clock where beautiful Mishka taught us salsa and cha cha. I even had a belly dancing lesson which was such fun!!! Lucia the youngest member of the animation team was such a delight to be around and she had so much energy and it was obvious she loved her job!!!
The evening entertainment was amazing and the animation shows were very professionally done. Loved the Abba tribute and African footprints best.
The rooms are large and bright and had very good air conditioning with a seperate shower cubicle in the bathroom which was a bonus for a four star hotel!!!
All the staff were friendly and smiled even when they were under pressure.
One important thing to mention is there were few flys here and after reading other reviews I was expecting to be swarmed by them!! not the case atall and also the journey from the airport is not as bad as some reviews suggest, yes it has some windy parts but there was no one needing sick bags!!
Will we be going back ? YES YES YES AND CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were in block 9 with a stunning sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cadwallader16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,766 - 2,772 of 4,929 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hi Just got back on Friday after staying at this hotel for a week all inclusive with Thomson
Had a lovely relaxing time with my husband and 8 year old son. The accommodation was very spacious and clean. The food was excellent with a great variety for breakfast lunch and dinner.
Loads of pools to choose from no problem getting a sun bed with shade cause you need some shade as it is a constant 28 degrees. If you want a beach and plenty of evening activity go to another Island the island is small and quiet and full of Bananas :)
Evening entertainment was okay they have a kids club but we did not bother with that as son was too busy in the poll till gone six at night, there is a pay as you go playstation 1 euro for ten minutes and pool. they have a small shop you can get a paper in DO NOT buy the Aloe Vera gel me and quite a few other people had a bad reaction to in came up in lumps one ladys faced swelled up. I got bitten quite a bit so you do need spay. The Family Masons had a perfect RELAXING holiday

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room and is was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As a family we have been visiting the La Palma Princess for the past 5 years, and each year we are not disappointed. Some would say "Why travel to the same hotel year on year, when there are so many places in the world to see?". For us it works, great swimming pools, fantastic rooms - large, spacious with a good sized bathroom, however as our children have got older we have in the last couple of years requested an inter-connecting room (Suite) directly with the hotel via email prior to arrival - this is usually within the region of £500 for two weeks - safe, clean, friendly, and fantastic weather - even when it rains it's warm! Very rare to have rain in August, but for one day we did have a drizzle or two, but it didn't stop us enjoying our day.

Yes the hotel is remote but I guess that's why we like it, there is no pull of the shops, no time watching it is purely a time to chill, relax, read, have fun in the pool and stop! There are activities to get involved with if you wish, but there is no pressure. A lovely Spa which offer a great Thai Massage.

Food is good, all inclusive package is well worth it, even eating in the Pizzeria - which is not part of the all inclusive package - is charged at 1/2 price. Drinks are good and served from 11 until approx 7 pm round by the swimming pool.

The Island of La Palma is breathtaking, the scenery is unbelievable if you get the chance take a trip to the observatories and see for yourself. Thomson Tour Guide - Randy - a mind of information.

Will we go back next year? If we were to ask the children, the children would say YES without a doubt. We shall have to wait and see, but more than likely we shall return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned after spending the last 2 weeks of August at the resort. Fantastic holiday for our family of 4, so much so we have booked to go again next year! We choose this hotel because it was remote. We did not want to walk about outside the hotel, we did not want to walk to bars etc so if you do then this is not the hotel for you. We met plenty of people who were surprised by the remoteness of the hotel, I'd say did you not look at the map!

First tip is take a taxi rather than getting the coach, this is a little island with very windy roads and the taxi was a better ride for us. Cost about €35 and just walk outside arrivals and ask one of the taxi drivers. This is cheaper than booking in advance through Thomson.

The room was lovely, however we did have a slight problem with the sofa bed, it broke, really only good for young children rather than those bordering on Teenager. However the hotel were excellent and fixed right away in fact by changing our room to one with a sofa bed that did not break.

On the first night we were shown to a dedicated area for All Inclusive guests, however we quickly realised you can sit anywhere you like. We found several balcony areas that were excellent for watching the Sun go down. The All Inclusive drinks included any branded drinks we could think of from soft drinks, spirits and champagne. Try the 'San Francisco' non-alcoholic cocktail which was great. The food selection was excellent, loads to choose from, so much so you will not have to eat the same thing twice, even over 2 weeks! The quality of the food was also excellent. Below are some of our best tips for a quick start and fantastic stay.........

Plenty of sun beds, more than people. However if you want the best spots in the shade, then get up early (around 7am) and put your towel down.

Lunch can be taken by the pool, there were some flies over the cold food that had been left out uncovered (not surprising really), however you can ask for hot food cooked whilst you wait, or there is hot food covered. You can get pizza for lunch so really no need to visit the Pizzeria. Alternative for lunch is upstairs in the main part of the hotel where there is a buffet with much less problems with flies, just not next to the lovely pools.

The only time you cannot get food is between 10:30 and 11:00, not really a problem since you can eat all day long otherwise. How much does one need to really eat in a day!

When asking for coffee I found by pointing to the ground coffee maker you then get the best coffee as good as any coffee chain in the UK, else you get the instant coffee machine that's ok, but I prefer freshly ground :-)

If you want late departure you can request it on the Wednesday before you leave even through the Thomson information suggests you have to do this on the Thursday.

Book a porter for departure unless you fancy dragging your 20kg luggage up a steep hill.

Kids club was great, both our children loved it and came and went as they pleased. This is a very safe resort and there were plenty of new friends to be made quickly. If you are going out of season then check availability directly with the hotel.

So, once again, this was a fantastic holiday and we are looking forward to going again in 11 months time :-)

Room Tip: Ask for Block 6 directly with the hotel before you go, it's next to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank M44DSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here with our 2 children aged 10 and 12 for the last 2 weeks of August. The hotel description in the Thomson brochure is very accurate, it is very remote with nothing to do apart from hotel based entertainment but this suited us. It is possibly the most relaxing place we have ever been to.
Cant fault the rooms, plenty big enough for our family. Very clean. Would have preferred a better view but we didnt pay for one so didnt expect much.
Food and drink were excellent with fantastic choice, only negative for me was at lunch time I personally would have liked more fresh choice other than fried food/pizza from La Choza but this was because the kids liked it there and we didnt go to the main restaurant for lunch.
Sun beds had to be reserved pre 8am if you wanted shade as it was high season, if you didnt want shade then you could have left it for beds as there were plenty to choose from in the sun.
Would go back again but not sure about August as it was very hot!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK1Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just returned last week August, overall a great week, coach transfer good, staff very helpful rooms spacious clean,found our way round first morning Jay the British rep very good at his job,worth the induction good local knowledge.Food and drink top draw,lots of healthy options. The gym has a good selection of kit use early morning to hot after 10am, evening entertainment average the ABBA show the better night. Trips booked with Jay the whale watching and Santa Cruze shopping good value not every day you see a whale in its natural habitat. a week is long enough, we would return, meeting lots of people on their second or third visit. Great for the family ignore the negative comments we are well travelled this hotel offered good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for the last week of August.
Rooms: We had a suite which is really just 2 joined rooms, one of them set up as a lounge, very roomy for 2 of us, and because it was 2 rooms you also get 2 bathrooms and 2 fridges and a double length balcony. Only one sunbed on the balcony though (3 chairs and a table too). We were in block 8 with nice sea and pool views.
Hotel: Great grounds with lots of pools and nice gardens, but from the pools to the lobby is quite a walk uphill, fairly steep so not recommended for any one with difficulty getting around. There is a nudist area which is sign posted as the nudist area at the front and the 'Relax Area' at the back, we decided to try the relax area one afternoon only to find out that it was actually the nudist area ooops!
Food: All meals are buffet style in the main restaurant with many choices at every meal time, beer, wine and soft drinks available self service but the beer pumps can be a bit temperamental.
Bars: Can get busy at night but never too bad, beer ok, some of the cocktails were a bit naff, (especially the single coloured tequila sunrise straight out of a pre mixed bottle, no attempt to get the sunrise effect).
Pools: the pools are all free form and vary in depth. Some of the pools have music playing others are quiet, there are several bars by the pools and a couple of restaurants (which we did not try). One pool has a sandy beach area where most of the games are played, (volley ball, archery, shooting, table tennis). This is a very large site with lots of pools so nowhere ever looks busy, we never had a problem getting a sun lounger.
Location: Remote, surrounded by banana plantations nice views over the sea, a 10-15 minute drive up to the nearest villages, we hired a car to get around, well worth E120 for 4 days. We caught the bus to Faro and walked back the 9km, over half of this is between banana plantation walls so not a pretty walk.
Entertainment, lots of sports type activities during daytime, night time had kids disco then a show, I only saw 2 of these and did not stay too long!
Jay the Thomson rep is very helpful and can tell you the best places to go and what to see and where to find things.
Spa : we spent €10 each on a day in the spa on our last day, this gave us somewhere to store our hand luggage, a place to shower and get changed before catching the coach and use of the thermal baths, sauna and steam room, very relaxing and only €20 compared with €47 for keeping the room an extra 4 hours.
Overall a nice hotel, but it is remote I would recommend the car hire, the island is nice so get out and see it.

Room Tip: Block 8 and 9 1st floor rooms look over pools and have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank candghicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
585 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
166 reviews
7.5 mi away
Las Norias
Las Norias
#2 of 9 in Tazacorte
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range: $102 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing