We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic family resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have always rented villas in the past, but costs rising, we looked at other options. The photos looked great, the price competitive so we gave it a go! We were a party of 8, from a three year old to grandparents!
The hotel looks exactly like the photos, no tricks! The rooms were clean, great bathrooms, hot water and power showers.
The pools are all large, so the children are never crowded, and adults aren't getting splashed by too many children all the time.
The spa is a real treat too!
The food was plentiful, and varied. Everyday there was something that everyone in our group liked. The house wine was OK, but you could buy decent wine half price off the wine list if you were all inclusive. That was a great deal.
The kids club was my only disappointment. The activities for older children through the day were great as was the kids disco. But the club by day wasn't very exciting! It needed a bit more variety. Having said that once we found the pool with the shelving slope entrance and the children could just go in and out, the kids club wasn't as important.
The hotel is really the only thing in the area, which suited us fine as we needed a break! But if you like lots of pubs, shops and noise, don't go here. if you want o wonderful relaxing holiday, this is for you!
Would we go again? Definitely. Our only concern is having found such a super all inclusive hotel, will anything else be as good?

Room Tip: We let them know we wanted adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusyFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,007 - 3,013 of 4,943 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

This review is late but better late than never! I went to this hotel in May and as the brochure says its in the middle of a Banana plantation with nothing around and that really is how it is,so make sure you read up about it first as if you want to walk out of your hotel to a town its not happening here! This is exactly what we wanted though so it really was a relaxing peaceful holiday spent just lazing around the pools,its a very big hotel with lots of pools and when we went there it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves as it was never crowded so there was never an issue of trying to find a bed around the pool so happy days! The hotel really is lovely,we had a suite room for just the two of us so as you can imagine it was like having our own flat as it was that big with two bathrooms! The hotel is kept very clean and everyone seemed friendly,it is each to their own but i have had better food at other hotels but apart from that if you just want to lay back and relax then this is the place to go!!
Kate and Matt

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scuzz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just back from a week at La Palma Princess and found it exceeded our expectations, given some previous reviews. It is as remote as it claims to be but the hotel, pool area and spa are beautiful, spotless and welcoming. Yes, the all inclusive offers buffet-style dinner but you would have to be very fussy to not find something you liked and despite the restaurant closing at 10pm, freshly replenished dishes were still being put out at 10pm. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend this place. Also, must mention Jay, Thomson's rep - he clearly loves the island and his passion and knowledge for the island is great. Thanks for a relaxing, chilled and lovely holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August. We had to ask ourselves why we had never discovered this place before!

This hotel is fantastic. The pool area is superb and there are no 6am mornings to put the towels on the sunbeds, I have never been to a hotel where there are so many, even if you didn't venture down to the pool until lunch time. The pool area is so spacious and never felt crowded and were not all lined up, tightly along the sides of the pool.

We have two children, 10 and 8 and to be honest we didn't see much of them as they went to the brilliant kids club. They loved every minute.

The food was good with loads of choice, we never struggled to find something for us and the kids to eat.

The rooms were a great size and kept spotlessly clean. On arrival the cases were taken to the room by a porter which allowed us to have a late dinner and to get our bearings.

The transfer to the hotel wasn't as long as I expected but the road is very windy and Jay the Rep handed out sick bags 'just in case' . Jay is a very good Rep.

At times we did have a bit of a wait at the bar, they need a couple more staff on really but having said that, there were a few other bars to go to. The entertainment was OK, perhaps a bit dated but the team work extremely hard and do a good job.

There are no shops or bars outside the hotel, so if this doesn't bother you and you really want a relaxing holiday, this could be the place for you.

They had just opened the new airport when we went and it was great, no delays and the cases came through very quickly. The Thomson plane was a bit small and old and didn't have televisions which was a bit odd for a four hour journey.

I feel like I'm sharing a secret by writing this review.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Essexgrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Addictive. The view, the size, the number of swimming pools, the comfort of the room (at times a tiny bit cold in winter), the themed evenings at the restaurant. Great for a peaceful retreat as well as for family holidays. Plus, La Palma offers so many things to do and to see...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calinnn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel. Our first visit was Spring 2009 and this hotel set high standards so our expectations remained high. The hotel appeared to be full and clients who were a mix of nationalities. This is a very large complex with 2 hotels in one location sharing facilities. Some clients are half or full board but most are on the all-inclusive package. 
This hotel is located on the South West coast where it seems to be sunny even when the East coast has rain. The hotel location is a little isolated if you want town shopping & facilities. There is a small town at the top of the mountain which can be reached by local bus every 2 hours. From there you can connect with buses around the island but short distances take a while due to steep climbs and twisty roads. Santa Cruz is about a 45 minute drive. There are also taxis available from the hotel. The ideal situation is to rent a car however if you are not used to mountain driving with unprotected edges then great care & concentration is needed. 
The hotel Check in was handled efficiently and all inclusive guest are fitted with a wrist tag so you can easily be identified at the bars & restaurants. For a small charge you can also have use of the safe in your room. 
Bathrooms are a good size with hair dryer, large shower, bath & granite tiling. The rooms have A/C, adequate storage,  fridge, sit down area with table & a balcony with garden or sea view depending on what you paid for. Both rooms and bathrooms are poorly lit.
Gardens around the complex are colourful and very well maintained. Pool towels are provided on a voucher system. 
There is a large main restaurant where most guests dine and it is a buffet style system. The food selection available is limited compared with 2009 and there is a tendency to recycle some meats which come out as stews or turkey curry the next day.  Theres a different pasta each day with Bolognese or tomato sauce. There is always a fish choice & a selection of cheeses & mixed salads - pasta, meat, fish or veggie. On the Spanish theme night there was plenty of Serrano ham, chorizo & even suckling pig - that really was a treat! Unfortunately the carvery on the following 2 nights were also pork variants. There is a good selection of fresh breads & fruits  both fresh & dried but why offer tinned fruit cocktail on an island where most fruits are grown fresh!! Evening restaurant  hours are 7:30 till 10:00. Hot & cold drinks are help yourself from vending machines. The coffee is quite drinkable with espresso, cappuccino, cortado & tea available. Now for the bad bit:
Service has changed dramatically since our last visit and is one aspect where this hotel has now failed badly. For beer & water there are a small quantity of glasses provided but these tend to disappear 10 minutes after the restaurant opens & not replenished.  You are then provided with polythene disposable beakers in the restaurant. I booked and paid for a 4 star hotel so this was not expected or acceptable. You are told the plastic beakers are for children & that's ok but all too often that was the only choice for adults to. There are however wine glasses for the draught wine which was of a drinkable standard. We used the wine glasses for water & beer but at breakfast time the wine glasses are covered over to discourage you from using them. Lift the cover and help yourself - fruit juices taste so much better out of glass.
Bottled water is provided in large fridges around the restaurant but in the all-inclusive section these are also emptied quickly and don't get replenished until next mealtime. There is a notice at the far end of the restaurant showing where all-inclusive clients should sit but this area suffered worst of all from replenishment issues & uncleared tables.
If you are on the all inclusive package, then don't expect waiter or waitress service at the table other than plates eventually cleared away. The hotel had a superb offer running where all-inclusive guests could order drinks & wine off the full menu at 50% discount until 31st August. A good opportunity to try some high quality wines for less than the supermarket cost. Nobody will ask if You want to order wine so you leave your food getting cold on the table while you go try to find a waiter to make an order. The overall impression given is that the hotel doesn't really want to do all-inclusive and you will be tolerated provided you don't expect service. This is reinforced by a leaflet you are given explaining that all-inclusive guests are not entitled to waiter service at the tables in the bar areas but must queue at the bars. The queues can be quite long in the evenings but this not the fault of bar staff who are working flat out to try and cope with insufficient staffing levels around peak hours. Unfortunately the bar staff seem to be on the receiving end of regular verbal abuse for the long waits! 
The swimming pools are very good & clean with plenty of room for sun beds, shade & places to eat & drink.
The hotel has its own man made golden sand beach area near the Spa where you can collect pool towels. 
There is a large entertainment theatre but we didn't partake so can't comment on the shows.
WiFi internet connection is available at an additional cost in the reception area only. It's 9 euro for 1 day, 18 euro for 3 days & 29 euro for 7 days unlimited use.
Don't just stay in the hotel. This is such a beautiful island so use the buses, tour coaches, car rental, cycle rental or walking to explore. 
There are areas where you get to see close up the remains of immense lava flows or walk through the black dust around volcano vents & lava tubes. It really gives you a sense of just how powerful these volcanic events must be.  I recommend the trip around the Caldera De Taburiente volcano crater which is the biggest volcano crater in the world. Think of the scale of the Grand Canyon for a comparison with looking down into this crater. At an altitude of 2500 metres or 8000 feet on the crater rim you can walk past the largest optical & radio telescopes in the world - located here because of La Palma having very clean air & low levels of light pollution. An unusual experience where you are driving and looking down a few thousand feet onto the top of the cloud layer below you. 
We did get to eat out at several restaurants where the quality was very high and at reasonable cost compared with the UK.           
Don't get put off by my negative comments above as the hotel has a lot of good points.  It's a nice hotel overall but they won't be receiving our custom again until they sort out the service & food issues. I don't think they are currently living up to their advertised 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

La Palma, also called 'La isla bonita' is a very was declared a Biosphere Reserve by the UNESCO. The hotel is perfect to see it and I recomend to have a car to see everything and to go to the beach, we loved Tazacorte beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuencaliente de la Palma
10.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
265 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
12.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
586 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
166 reviews
7.5 mi away
Las Norias
Las Norias
#2 of 9 in Tazacorte
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess

Address: Carretera la Costa | Cerca Vieja, 10, 38740 Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Fuencaliente de la Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fuencaliente de la Palma
Price Range: $102 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel with its gigantic pool area is located in the sunny south-west of La Palma. Above the sea surrounded by banana plantations, the La Palma & Teneguia Princess is a paradise for those seeking tranquility. The layout of the resort resembles a small canarian village. 625 rooms are spread over several buildings, nestled within tropical gardens. Most of the rooms provide amazing sea or garden or pool views. Hotel guests may choose between 11 outdoor pools - including a pool with an artificial beach, a kids pool and an adults-only pool in the nudist area. Relaxation also plays a very important role at the La Palma & Teneguía Princess. Its SPA Aqua Princess offers on 700 m2 a jacuzzi, saunas, vichy showers and hydro-waterbeds. At a total of 5 restaurants (one of them opened seasonally), guests can enjoy hot and cold dishes from the buffet, themed evenings, à la carte meals, snacks or a tasting menu. To burn off those extra calories guests can play tennis, mini golf, use the gym or participate in the sports programme of the animation team. Romantic evenings are included: The La Palma & Teneguía Princess is perfect for sunset lovers and passionate stargazers. It's for a good reason the Isla Bonita has been chosen the world's first ,,Starlight Reserve". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Princess And Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Hotel Fuencaliente De La Palma
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess Fuencaliente De La Palma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing