We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here, this time in the lovely new rooms. Nothing to choose between this and the main building. Both really good. Wonderful welcome from Nicos, Rula and Frank - nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is a good size for a proper swim, barbq night amazing and free unlimited wifi. Well equipped studio apartment so you can make tea/coffee etc or more.What more can you want. Excellent choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few days at the end of a two week holiday in western Crete and were made to feel very welcome by Rula, Nikos and Frank. We had a great room - the one in the centre of the main picture of the hotel. It had a big, square balcony with table and two chairs (not plastic ones) which had the added bonus of sea views as well as overlooking the pool and small garden area (not a lot of room for sun loungers, although there were always plenty to use) It also had a huge bathroom with full size bath. All of the fixtures and fittings are in a very traditional style which was a nice contrast to other accommodation we had stayed in. Food was plentiful, fresh and very popular with most of the guests, whether it was breakfast, a snack or a full meal. There was a large tv in the decked bar/eating area and also use of a laptop, which was very useful as the Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent. The location is good - a short walk from the centre and also sea front and beaches but far enough away to provide a more peaceful retreat. Car parking was available nearby Giorgiopolis itself is perfectly OK - a bit touristy but with some nice beaches and plenty eating places to choose from. There are a couple of banks and a decent sized supermarket as well as loads of smaller ones, and a great little shop called Funky Fish that is worth a visit. The only down side was a rather unpleasant smell that wafted across occasionally - we're not sure where it came from but it smelt like stagnant water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siouxie_and_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at the Kokalas Resort and had a fab time. This is a family run hotel and you are made to feel extremely welcome.

My friend had stayed at these apartments twice and managed to get us in at the last minute. From the point that our transfer dropped us off we were greeted by Frank and Nikos who came out to take our suitcases. You are then taken into the bar/cafe area and given a complimentary drink and some cake made by the boys mother.

We had a room in the new part of the complex which is only yards from the main building, and was all new and really nice. Well designed studio's with in the kitchen fridge, kettle and 2 hobs. Need to take a can opener as there wasn't one, but there was a bottle opener. Main part of the studio had 2 single beds, large wardrobe, dressing table and television. Hairdryer was also provided. Patio doors onto a private terrace with two chairs and a table.

Bathroom was a shower room and beautifully designed. Sheets and towels were changed after approximately 3 days. Outside the door was a large drying rack with pegs.

The supermarket is literally around the corner, but you can also have breakfast in the main bar area. Had a barbecue night whilst we were there and was very well attended, and a lot of meat!

Good sized pool and childrens pool and plenty of sunbeds.

You bump into the family everyday and it is clear that they want you to have a great time.

Location wise at the end of the village but it takes minutes to find a restaurant and get to the main square.

Really friendly, great complex and a lovely family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just had a brilliant 2 weeks at the Kokalas resort. Last year we booked for 1 week and were gutted to be going home so soon so we decided to have 2 weeks this year and would have loved to have stayed longer. Rula, Nicos and Frank work hard to ensure you have the best possible time. Not forgetting Anna and Natash who work tirelessly making sure the rooms are clean and spotless and assisting the family with breakfasts.
Kokalas is a small and friendly resort that always has sunbeds available and has a nice clean pool for cooling down and exercise. I like to swim in the sea which is not a problem as it is just a short walk away. The resort of Georgoiupoli is small and beautiful itself. we tend to walk round it every evening passing all our favourite haunts prior to going out for our evening meal at one of the many tavernas available. On an evening we also like people watching at one of the bars in the square. Are favourite bar is the Cotton Club on the sea front. For a night cap you can't do any better than one of Frank's mean Irish Coffees using the very best spirits.
We love Georgoiupoli and would not consider staying anywhere other than at the Kokalas Resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be above ground floor if you enjoy a balcony. Most rooms seem to have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Again many thanks to Rula , Nikos, Frank and Eleni for a very good and relaxing stay at your apartments !!
We hadan excellent week and it was good to be back in Georgi again and meet so many friends again
Hope to see you all very soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Seriously could not ask for a more chilled out resort, the resort was fully booked for the 2 weeks we were there, the majority of the time you had the pool and sunbeds to yourself. Nicos, Rula, Frank and Yani are always on hand to give you any advice you require and to serve you with a beer or two!. Rooms are spotless aside from no toaster there is everything else you need. You can get breakfast and snacks all day at the snack bar. I would recommend these apartments. As for Georgioupoli - amazing resort, extremely chilled out with enough restaurants and bars to keep you entertained for 2 weeks. I will definately be returning.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from my 6th trip to Kokalas. It had been a couple of years since I had been because off work, but as soon as were arrived we were made instantly welcome and part of the family. It was like I had never left. I don't know many place where someone would wait up until 1am and cook pizza on arrival.
The entire complex is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The pool and pool side bar/ cafe is ideal for a day in the sun, with delishous food, from a large and varied menu - from pizza to traditional Greek cuisine. The resort is close to all the local shops and restaurants, and very close to the beach too.
Kokalas is the perfect place to sit back, relax and just let the world go by. Yet it is close enough to both Chania and Rethymon if you want to go to a city.
I would not hesitate to recommend Kokalas resort to anyone or rebook to go again. If you've been to the best why go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Everyone single room in the complex is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#8 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#5 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#16 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vardis Olive Garden
Vardis Olive Garden
#14 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Property: Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Address: Georgioupolis, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Hotel Georgioupolis
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing