We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kokalas Resort- the best!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kokalas Resort- the best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thank you very much Rula, Nikos, Frank and grandmama for 4 fantastic weeks at beautiful Kokalas- the best place to stay for a holiday at Crete!
You are amazing;
- 5 star service!!! Service minded, helpful and smiling staff and family members.
- Nice, spacious and clean apartments.
- Very good food (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and drinks) in your bar/restaurant- katapliktikå fajitå ;o)
- Great location in the village.
- Close to the beach.

Once again all of us have enjoyed every minute of our stay at your beautiful resort- see you next year!!! Efharistå påli <3

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trude_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thank you to Nikos, Frank, Rula and Yanni. Once again we have returned from a wonderfull two weeks in Georgioupolis at the Kokalas Resort. It has been great fun whilst still being restfull in beautifully clean facilities, with friendly, welcoming staff looking after us.
This is our second visit and whilst we took a smaller room this time, we had enough facilities to be comfortable and provide basic catering, by this I mostly mean keeping my ouzo cool in the fridge. The view from the balcony was excellent looking out across an azure sea next to impressive steep mountain slopes.
The Greek and Barbeque nights were excellent fun and I would recommend that these not be missed.
It was a pleasure to sit at the bar of an evening with new friends from across Europe talking with Nikos and Rula. They really make everyone part of the family.
The Village provides plenty of choice for eating and drinking with entertainment thrown in. Everyone is very friendly and there are many things to do.
The beach would take some beating. There is nearly six miles of unbroken sand with a selection of beach bars serving drinks and food. You can literally sit on the beach with your feet in the sea, sipping an ice cold beer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just got back from 3 weeks at the Kokalas and we had a great time. The Kokalakis family along with their staff make you very welcome and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are kept spotless. Don't know why Thomsons/First Choice pulled out from the Kokalas but their loss is Olympic's gain. Don't understand why they only want 6 rooms, though. The majority of the remainding rooms have been taken up by Apollo, a Norwegian Tour Company, so lots of Norwegians about the place. The Kokalas has extended to take up Rooms in an adjacent block of studios right next door which lowers the number of beds available round the pool. They have now made the Pool available only to Kokalas residents.
There are plenty of Tavernas in Georgioupoli, the best of which we found being Manoussos (on the road in to the Town) and Valentinos ( in the town itself) both have been around for 30 years.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a different room on each of our 3 visits. Each has had differing characteristics b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pblwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Kokolas Resort. Have been many times & yet again the resort & family excelled themselves ! I have probably stayed in 10 or so different rooms during various visits & have never been disappointed, this visit was no exception. All the staff from the lovely family of owners through to the cleaning ladies do a sterling job & I wouldn't hesitate in recommending that you visit!! In fact I enjoyed it so much I will be returning for a week at the end of August!! Happy days!!❤☀ Yamas!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzrWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just had a fabulous stay at Kokalas.Lovely friendly family offering everything you need.Food was excellent as were the apartments,clean with comfortable with fridge and kettle and basic cooking facility which we didn't need as cooking is not on holiday agenda.Would definitely recommend and definitely return!! Perfect for families and couples,only short walk to beach and centre. A lovely welcoming place.Bbq night is a must, food was superb and only 10 euro,s.Lovely to see Nikos and son Gianni greek dancing!! A most enjoyable night!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just back from my first (but definately not my last) visit to Georgioupoli. Kokalas is a fantastic base for the resort. Friendly hosts, clean and spacious apartments, food and drinks great value - nothing was too much trouble. The bbq evening at 10 euros was excellent value, and the food was delicious. We were a group of 6 friends on a reunion/birthday celebration, and after a total chill out and raki filled week are already planning a return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brony1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our second stay at Kokalas in 4 years & this time in a family group of 6 adults & 2 children & we all had a great time.
The apartments are clean, comfortable, well maintained have enough facilities including a kettle to do basic self catering but who would want to cook on holiday as there are so many great good value tavernas & cafes in Grorgioupolis. Kokalas also serve great breakfasts, snacks & meals at good prices. Any problems are dealt with immediately & everything is geared towards making your stay as pleasant as possible. The apartments are well cleaned 6 days a week & the sheets & towels are changed frequently. The beds are very comfortable & aircon is available if needed. Everything in the town & the beach are a short walk away.
These apartments are not number one on Tripadvisor because they are the most luxurious in the town but because of the overall package. The apartments & pool & bar are great but is because of the friendliness & helpfulness of the family & staff who make your stay there extra special. There was a Cretan night while we were there & it was not to be missed. The food, live music, dancing & atmosphere were great. Rula, Nikos, family & all the staff make sure this is a really special place to stay. I celebrated my birthday while we were there. When we returned from a day out our room & bathroom had been decorated with flowers & petals. There was a tray in the fridge with a bowl of fruit & a carafe of wine. Very thoughtful & unexpected. Rula also provided a large icecream cake with sparklers that night which went down very well with the children & me.
We are returning next year with a large family group for our long overdue wedding & 60th birthday. This is all being arranged by Rula & Nikos with the wedding & celebrations at the Kokalas Resort & we know they will make it a very special day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#20 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#11 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vardis Olive Garden
Vardis Olive Garden
#14 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#29 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli

Property: Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Address: Georgioupolis, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Hotel Georgioupolis
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing