We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orpheas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orpheas Resort to your Saves list
Orpheas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've just return from 1 week staying at this hotel. The position is excellent. The beach is great, the garden is very well kept as the pool area too. One inconvenient: we had to pay for the sunbeds on the beach, although the beach is private...
The restaurant area is great, the food is EXCELLENT!
The rooms are quite small. We received a room in the main building with street view which was noisy but very cosy and clean.
The staff is very friendly and promptly.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building towards the beach, not in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyHatshepsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    51
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Staying at Orpheas resort was one of the most memorable experience ever, for me and my frieds. Our apartment was extremely well prepared, clean and everything was arranged in a tasteful and modern way. We really enjoyed the variety and the quality of the food as well as the clean beach. But what is even more impressive is the friendliness of the people and the owner of the hotel combined with their proffessionalism at the highest standards. In just a few days they made us feel like we were visiting our home. The personnel is very helpful when we asked that we wanted to visit the Island. One of their recommendation was the restaurant Mikro Livadi in Episkopi it is an amazing place to enjoy the traditional Cretan food, as well as the warm hospitality of Malamatenia and Aetos!

I would recommend Orpheas resort to everyone to visit, at least every summer :)

Ana
Zurich, Switzerland

Room Tip: Sea side pool apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at orpheus resort. This place was amazing. We stayed here for seven nights. This place is paradise if you want a get away for a bit of tourist rush. The beach in front of the hotel is sandy, the main pool area is set in a beautiful garden, in this romantic setting we enjoyed our dinners.. The rooms are not so luxurious but still very good. This place is all about attention to detail. Every staff member we met was so polite, and pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book junior suite...it s the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

we sayed last August there, nice spot maybe the best in the area, but their style is so , not greek, the rooms small , we ecpected them more clean for the price we paid, their beach bar nothing special , nice area ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

its not another one cretan hotel, so special beach hotel
nice location , good prices
oerfect beach bar
great staff, very fast wifi
the rooms really have a classic style
special for romantic moments
we stayed only for one week
Crete really rocks, and this location is so different
the beach bar is good and the prices are just fine

Room Tip: dont try booking.co they have better offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank curtis725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very recommendable quiet beach hotel, excellent value for money. The entrance area, the lobby the restaurant, the poolbar... everything is very nice designed. Everywhere there are cozy sitting areas where one gladly stayed. Everything is super clean and tidy. Beautiful garden, pleasant staff with fun at the work... Bus station, plenty of shops, tavernas and pubs in the immediate area. We can only recommend this hotel.
One of the most beautiful hotels, in a very nice garden and comfortable rooms. Ideal for people who are not into large ( Skyscrapers) hotels .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wonderful small individual hotel, very well maintained , with a wonderful view over the sea. We appreciated the pleasant and competent care, the ambience, the extremely clean and comfortable rooms, the breakfast service on the terrace - short : our expectations the Orpheas resort is in all areas met! We felt during our stay very comfortable and in good hands.
Those seeking peace, comfort and a brilliant atmosphere searches, is right here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.3 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#5 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
18.7 mi away
Eliros Mare Hotel
Eliros Mare Hotel
#12 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
2.1 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#12 of 169 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
80.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
69.3 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orpheas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheas Resort

Property: Orpheas Resort
Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orpheas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orpheas Resort set off to change from a simple beach hotel to something different… we felt the time had come to create a space for travelers ready to experience the unexpected, searching for a place to unwind and relax, a resort to appeal to all senses. The playful dialogue with the architectural history of Crete provides wonderful surroundings, carefully selected materials, arty design, harmonic colors together with some funky details result in a feel of laid-back luxury with a bohemian twist. With gardens and lounges filled with tranquility, inspiration and the smile of our staff, Orpheas Resort is a true oasis on Crete. Location: Directly on Crete's longest, and most beautiful beach, 18 kilometers long, beneath the impressive White Mountains. Kavros, a little village with some shops, tavernas and cafes is a short walk, Georgioupolis, once a fishing village and now the vivid touristic center of the area, is 4 km away. In 20 km you reach Rethymnon, the beautiful city with its romantic old town. There's a bus station nearby. 50 km to the airport of Chania and ca. 100 km to the airport of Heraklion give you the choice to select the most convenient flight. Our rooms: Expect a selection of beautiful rooms, each with a different, unique style and set-up, all of them designed to offer maximal comfort and a homely embrace. Arty and inspired, in earthy colors and with unexpected details, they elegantly interpret the local traditions. All our rooms feature: Bathroom with Bathtub / Shower Hairdryer Slippers / Bathrobes Air conditioning (cool/heat) Telephone Mini bar Safe deposit box Satellite TV 26" or 32" LCD Wi-Fi access ( free by the lobby area & with extra cost in the rooms) Beach/pool towels Sound proof windows Furnished balcony or terrace Double cat. A Ca. 16-20 m², with double or twin beds and side sea view, accommodates 2 adults. Double cat. B Ca. 13-16 m², with double or twin beds. Less privileged space, view and location than Double cat. A, accommodates 2 adults. Junior Suite Additional features: Tea & coffee making facilities and daily replenished bottled water included, extra comfortable beds with natural latex cover mattress. Ca. 20-25 m², with a bedroom with double bed and a cozy lounge or sleeping area with side sea view, accommodates up to 3 adults. Suite Spacious and airy with beautiful direct sea view, our suites offer upgraded comfort and feature a terrace with sunbeds and umbrella, a DVD-player, an extra comfortable double bed with natural latex cover mattress and a separate lounge or sleeping area. Ca. 22-30 m², accommodates up to 3 adults. Tea & coffee making facilities and daily replenished bottled water is included. Pool Suite Each of our pool suites features additionally a shared or private plunge pool on the balcony or terrace, with direct sea view, 25-35 m², accommodates up to 3 adults. Food & Drink: Start your day with a sumptuous and healthy breakfast and enjoy your dinner with a big variety of Cretan, Greek and international dishes, all cooked with local ingredients. Both breakfast and dinner are served as a help-yourself-buffet, and our staff will be happy to introduce you not only to Cretan cooking, but also to a rich wine list with mostly Greek labels. During the day our Pool Bar provides a'la carte light snacks & meals, fancy salads and all kinds of refreshments. We can serve also on our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Orpheas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orpheas Hotel Georgioupolis
Orpheas Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing