We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hydramis Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Αθηνα
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for four days to this wonderful hotel in Crete. We were surprised by the quality of the food and how well organized everything was. Very clean rooms, with sea view, with double bed and a very good breakfast. For sure we are going to visit again this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1 or 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lariosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    94
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
100
118
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First of all, if you want to be out and about and really experience Crete. DO NOT STAY HERE!
This resort is mostly for Russian families on holidays who come to eat a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner on precise times, swim at precise times and ‘have fun’ between the hours of 2pm-5pm.
No one talks to each other at this resort, the families all just stay amongst their own kind. The general vibe there is like a retirement village.
It really is in the middle of nowhere, when you step out there is nothing around but an empty gas station and a long dusty road.
The staff there really didn’t know what they were doing when it came to customer service. Most of the time their answer to questions was no and they would not try their best to look into other options to help you out. One example was how there was only 1 x iron for the entire resort.

You’re better off staying in Chania, where there is lots more to see and do within the town. There are heaps of resorts about 10mins outside of Chania which is a better area to stay then at the Hydramis Resort. Honestly felt like I was on a cruise ship in Russia and wanted to jump over board!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DollyH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pros: beautiful flowered building, excellent spacious room with a big balcony, enormous and comfy bed, sea nearby with no noisy attractions, perfect service in the restaurant, great food, multilingual friendly staff.
Cons: far from the main tourist attractions, linen/towels were not changed daily, so-so drinks.
Overall - almost perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved the beach, very clean and comfortable. Many thanks to staff - Zeta, Lina, all guys, thanks a lot for good mood and tasty cocktails;) and also all the best for great young chef - food is really greek and tasty, without any economy on best quality products! Loved the hotel much! Though spent inside hotels almost only nights...) p.s. the luggage room idea is the best I've ever seen, better than usual hotel room)))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StasieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is by far a "Gem" of a resort.

Food is awesome with wide variety and very fresh. Very reasonable room prices. The owner is a super guy. Staff is wonderful and most are tri-lingual at least. Service personnel are transparent nearly. German, Russian, Ukrainian, Bulgarian, French, English, Greek(of course) all spoken by one or more staff. Yes, the beach has stones at waters edge but a walkway basically takes you into the Sea where there is only sand. An average height person can stand up out approximately 300 meters into the Sea w/ waves being very light in the 11 days my Wife and I spent there. The Sea water is crystal clear. The weather in late-Sept. early October was 75-85 F, maybe 10 degrees cooler at night. Every room has A/C. This period was "low season" so the price was very good flying out of Kiev via "Tez Tours". If you want the name of the business who set this up for us just send me a PM. They set up my wife's Visa (she's is Ukrainian)

This is a quiet resort, night life is available in a small town nearby or a trip to disco's by bus if you don't have rental vehicle. There is a pool bar where it seemed most people hung out in at night...lot of fun. There is an underground club on premises if you are looking for that...

The local area is not "touristy" or, in other words, shop keepers do not bother you. Prices at local restaurants are in the 5-10 Euro range and you get a lot of excellent food. I especially recommend Pelagias Yard in Kavros...family run small Taverna where "Mama" does the cooking...unreal food and wines...

We were "HB" meaning we ate breakfast and dinner at the resort and ate lunch at local Tavernas...I can tell you that my wife and I had some swordfish that was the best I had ever tasted, really wonderful food here. Cooked at a beach side taverna on an open grill...9 Euros...lol.

There are "animation" activities for anyone and everyone. Nice place to take children if you have them, and the Resort is especially well designed for "handicapped or mobility impaired" individuals (lots of ramps for wheelchair access, etc.)

You can basically walk to separate beach locations where you and whoever else you take would be in a private setting...

One last note, the views from the Resort are truly spectacular...take your camera :)

Room Tip: 99% all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiev_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Yes the hotel is a 4* ,the rooms clean and modern.
We didnt like the all inclusive atmosphaire but all the big Hotels seems to operate in this way.
I really dont understand the need of the people to eat and drink all the time cheap soft drinks and ice creams. Its the reason that in the future we will not book a hotel with this options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charis_Sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Weather:
Visit took place in September. It was quite windy. Some days, there was nobody on the beach because it was really too windy (and thus cold). We also had a few cloudy days.

Situation:
Far from the towns (40 minutes to Rethymno). There are shops and a fisher village within 15 minutes walk (the roads are very dark at night).
The day trips consisted of: boat-trips, hiking trips or Knossos.

Beach:
Could be better. It is sandy but you do feel that there is concrete under the sand. The sandy beach is separated from the see by a 2-3 meters large area of rocks. So you have to use a wooden bridge (quite slippery) to get into the water. There seems to be nicer (public) beaches next to the hotel…
The water is very clean.

Drinks:
The non alcoholic drinks (coke, sprite,…) are not very good (not really sparkling).
Food:
The food was very good. Quite a large choice and tasteful. But they have a little problem to keep it warm…

All inclusive:
It is not the “turkish or egyptian” all inclusive style…All inclusive hotels are not so common in Greece. For example: you have to pay for a bottle of water (they do mention that tap water is free ;-)).

Rooms:
They look very new and are nicely decorated. They may be on the small side if you are more than 2 persons. The bathrooms are nice but not practical at all (toilet seat very high, bathtub small and you have to crawl between the toilet and the sink to get in it). The terrace is non existing for some rooms (80 cm / 2 m).
Some rooms (avoid rooms beginning with 05) are VERY noisy. You can hear your neighbours brush their teeth!!! And when they enter their room, you think they enter yours (I will not mention the snoring man next door…quite a tenor!). And the noise from the pool bar is considerable.
There are however quieter rooms (in our case, we changed room to a quiet one but without a view). We had requested a quiet room at reservation but did not get it before the 3rd day.

Staff:
Friendly, helpful. Speak (at least) english, german and french.

Globally, it was a very nice vacation.

  • Liked — The sea and the food
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
40.1 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
912 reviews
61.9 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
302 reviews
55.6 mi away
Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#7 of 48 in Georgioupolis
306 reviews
80.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#10 of 48 in Georgioupolis
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydramis Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydramis Palace Beach Resort

Property: Hydramis Palace Beach Resort
Address: Dramia Georgioupolis, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Georgioupolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#14 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydramis Palace Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hydramis Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydramis Palace Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hydramis Palace Beach Georgioupolis
Hydramis Palace Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing