We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Eliros Mare Hotel(Georgioupolis)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Romantica(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$64
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vardis Olive Garden(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$64
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vantaris Palace(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$96
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vantaris Beach(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilot Beach Resort(Georgioupolis)
$193
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orpheas Resort(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
110
54
23
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
54
23
7
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 199 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Silver Beach Hotel in May 2014 when our friends held their wedding there. Simply put, we would highly recommend it! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the food was delicious. The hotel's restaurant/bar, kids play area and swimming pool are all located right next to the beach. The only downside was the limited WI-FI (it's free). It worked very well by the reception, occasionally down at the restaurant and not at all in our room. However, this is only a very minor negative! There are a number of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants located near to the hotel too. The location of the hotel means easy access to other areas via buses or tours. However, we would recommend hiring a car as it makes life so much easier when you want to visit other parts of the island, such as Chania, Heraklion and Rethymnon. Just a few miles from the hotel is Lake Kournas - you have to visit as it's amazing! If you have a full day to spare, head to Kissamos and take the cruise to Gramvousa and Balos for stunningly beautiful beaches and crystal clear waters. Gramvousa has an amazing Venetian fort to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sundeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hello Sundeep,
We are all glad you enjoyed your stay. Concerning Internet, it is a problem we are trying to solve but the National Telephone Company does not help at all. All they can provide us with is a 3MB line for the whole hotel. They have been promising a 24MB line for the last 2 years but nothing happens. We have all the Wi-Fi ready to give to the rooms too, but we do not turn it on because then there will be simply nothing. The only solution is to have it working correctly at the reception area. At least this way, everyone can use the internet at the reception. Our only hope is that they decide to finally bring optical fibres (as they promised) soon enough (optical fibre is just 4 km away from here, but for some reason it has not arrived here).
I thank you for your comment which has enabled me to explain the reasons beyond this shaky internet we have.
See you soon
Warm regards from Sunny Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lovely week at the Silver Beach The hotel was full while we were there but you would have never known the place is quite and peaceful where nothing is too much trouble for the staff . We were on the all inclusive option and it was the best Ai we have ever had .Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice something for everyone. Lunch anything from the bar menu some items have a small charge but when I say small it's very small .Evening meal is again buffet with plenty of everything . Our room was spotless cleaned every day sheets and towels changed every other day . The hotel supply beach towels always a bonus . We would like to say thank you to all the staff and we will see you soon

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Trudy, dear Graham,
It is a shame that only customers are allowed to rate hotels. Every year, we see hundreds of new faces, hundreds of new persons. As with everything there is good and sometimes, less good. But some persons do make the difference. I cannot give you officially a 5 out of 5 as you were so kind to do with us, but in our hearts, you definitely get whatever best we have.
Thank you for standing by us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is nice. Most of the staff is nice and helpful with the exception of the manager that walked around and talked to everyone but us. In food generally the quality of the ingridients in everything is good. Unfortunately the cooking is not. For drinks avoid the AI-vine, go for beers. Skip also the morning "juice" for breakfast. Why not buy something of the quality of something really cheap in a supermarket? That would be way better in drinks.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank mikesth_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Host, for once in my long career, I feel that a comment is unfair. Silver Beach is renowned for being a family hotel and as such to take care of its customers and this is exactly what we all did for you. Because of religious beliefs, some members of your family did not eat pork (or fish and many other dishes for taste reasons), so we proposed them to eat whatever they wanted from the wide variety of our A La Carte menu for free, which they did. In one occasion, we even served you 4 meals in one day. You mention the good quality of the ingredients in our food but, like your comment for the wine, the taste is a personal matter which cannot be generalised. Of course, our food is different from what you find back in your country and this is the whole matter, to eat differently in a foreign country. As with all our guests, we did all we could to satisfy your requests, I personally gave instructions to the staff to satisfy all your requests which they did and I am really sad and surprised that our efforts did not satisfy you. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Not much I can add to the reviews already left! If you want the perfect venue to kick back and relax in beautiful surroundings, then this is definitely the place for you. Every member of the staff, including the manager Yannis, are absolutely fantastic and even as the season was drawing to a close, gave every guest their very special Cretian hospitality. We had the added pleasure of the company (and cooking) of Mama Maria who provided us with some lovely Cretian dishes. Met some fantastic people during our visit (Mike, Ian & Karen, Rob & Gail). We have already enquired about a return visit next year (just waiting for a response from Yannis) so all being well, there may be a bit of a reunion on the cards.

Room Tip: Room 506 was fantastic
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell67Birkenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear both, I can only thank you again for your kind comments, it has been for all of us an exciting end of season and the hotel was full (as usually) of lovely people as yourselves and Mike, the people you mention in your comment and many others. Now that the season is over, I recall the happy moments spent at bar, the chats we had and it really feels great to have the chance to run a hotel full of friendly people. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A relaxed, friendly and harmonious hotel set in a superb beach location. This is a small, clean and comfortable hotel with a unique beach taverna. In a nut shell: a 3+ star hotel with 4 star food and 5 star hospitality. Need I say more.! Thanks to Yannis and his fantastic staff - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeKolokasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis A, Manager at Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello Mister Mike Kolokasi! Well I actually did cook it, with tomato, celery and herbs. It was really good, last time I had Kolokasi was 20 years ago (or more likely 30 years), but I always kept that taste and it came out as I remembered it. Mike, thank you, you are such a good person, doing so many miles with a Kolokasi in your bag (and many other things) just for us!!! What more can I say. Just for the other readers, Kolokasi in also called Taro in English, but do not try this at home as it can be slightly dangerous if improperly cooked. Mike, we will all be expecting you. Take good care of yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews