We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2-3 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mythos Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mythos Palace
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 2-3 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

The hotel is placed on the beach and looks nice. We won't recomand all inclusive: the lunch is poor and borring. The rooms are ok, but not 5 star level. The smell is somethimes very strong. The hotel is in reality a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ap111asp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    123
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
129
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon. It was very disapponting.The room was not of a very high standard for a five star hotel, the reception staff were not friendly or plesant and the food was terrible. We both had upset tummies for a few days!
When we said it was our honeymoon, the lady at the reception desk asked "so, do you want to celebrate?" and then asked my husband would he like to celebrate by killing someone???? The entertainment was poor and it was very noisey at night, indeed I had to go out on two occasions at four in the morning and ask people to keep the noise down!
We had two single beds put together in the room, very uncomfortable bed!
Would not reccommend this hotel!!!

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Reception staff and the food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mo-jellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

Having read the reviews of others who have stayed at this Hotel all I can say is the criticisms made of the Hotel are unfounded
Sure it is not up to English 5 Star
But when the manager personally assists you with your cars flat battery sending someone out to get jump leads and assisting in starting the Car
The staff all of whom were friendly and could never do enough for you then you look at the hours most of them do 5 am to 2400 Hrs yes even staff have the right to sleep
All I can say is yes it was above and beyond my expectation the food was good the hotel extremely clean and as for Crete be back soon
If you have children it has a very capable team of people to assist with them during the day keeping them entertained
Go again definitely one to put on the tick list and as for the luggage who cares if one has to take it to your room

  • Liked — Clean and functional good view of the sea
  • Disliked — nothing to add here
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sixpence569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in July with our 16-year-old daughter. We arrived at 12.30 am and after we checked in we went to the bar for a drink at 12.40am, only to be told that all inclusive drinks finished 10 minutes ago! We also had to carry our suitcases to our room. The bedroom doors were made of ugly white Upvc .There were not enough sun beds (are there ever!) The rooms were fairly basic.The food was just about ok but rather repetitive. There was "entertainment" a couple of times a week. The so called "spa" was dirty and uninspiring.The bar staff were friendly and it was quite pleasant in the outside bar and restaurant with the mountain views, There was a row of shops/restaurants and internet cafe about 5 mins from the hotel, across a very busy carraigeway. You could get a novel train to the next town of Geogiopolus, which took about 10 mins if you fancied a change of scenery. The beach was not as attractive as it appeared in the website photo, the beach bar and snack bar were shabby and the food was awful. The sea was quite rough and we were informed by a lifeguard that there had been fatalities in recent years. We were the only English people at the hotel, the rest were German, Russian and Italian. If you want 5 star luxuries, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Liked — mountain views
  • Disliked — location, food, poor service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank where_next_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

The Mythos Palace was not the 5* we had expected. Although it looks pleasing to the eye and on our arrival were greeted in a friendly manner, our visit didn't leave us wanting to recommend this hotel to others. We had decided to take the all inclusive package as we have two children, this in itself proved disappointing, the meals were mostly boring and repeatative with not much choice. There were no childrens meals and we had to ask if something could be arranged as one of our children is extremely fussy. The snacks at the beach taverna were awful, when we ordered a toasted sandwich (which costs extra) it just tasted stale and dry! The staff in the restaurant were mostly unfriendly, and in some cases rude, you cant just go and get a drink when you want, you have to wait and order it and it can take some time in getting to you. In the morning again you have to order your coffee with the restaurant staff, getting their attention to do this can be a task. It says that breakfast is until ten but usually by five to ten breakfast is more or less cleared away, they say that from 10 til 11 you can have a continental breakfast, I dont know what this would be as everything is more or less cleared away. At the bar in the evening, again they are short staffed and you have to wait for a sub standard drink, it is rare to get a pint, as they never have the glasses, only half pint conveniently. In the week we spent there, the entertainment, if you could call it that occurred on just two of the nights. We were on the ground floor and the noise and smell of the toilets above was not a nice experience, you could hear the rooms above using the toilets throughout the night. We are usually quite an easy going family, with little requirements but I don't know how this hotel can be given 5 stars. We were extremely disappointed.

  • Liked — The fact we were near to the beach and pool
  • Disliked — The unfriendly staff, and length of time it took to get served.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

I am Greek and the only reason I have decided to write this review is just to let you know that we definitely have real 5* hotels here in Greece.
So if you want to spend your holidays in Mythos Palace dont count it as a 5* but as a very good 3* in my opinion.
Its a perfect place for family (with small kids) holidays but very quite hotel if you are looking for over night fun.
Its clean, the food is good but poor sometimes, the personel are all amateurs but very polite (we ordered food in our room and when it came they forgot to bring cutlery.And they came again forgoting to bring a spoon for our yoghurt this time), the swimming pool is nice but really with few only sun beds, the sea is very good for kids and recapitulate the facts if you think you have a good offer from your travel agent then the place is not bad.Just dont forget.Do not compare the offer with another of a real 5* hotel.

By the way.It is true that the smell from the purification pipes is really intensive, particularly in the evenings but this is not a hotel's problem but the whole area's problem.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Petros130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

Genarally, our stay in Mythos Palace was OK, but it was not worth the money we paid for 5* standard.
Some comments:
- rooms are rather poorly equipped and don't have the esthetic standards that you could expect from such a hotel
- bathrooms are small and look like they "remember the better times" ;-)
- the outdoor pool is OK but the number of sun beds is outrageously small - only 20-30 beds for over 200 rooms
- to get a swimming towels, you have to leave a deposit of 10eur per one, moreover you can't exchange them whenever you like
- the SPA center is rather filthy and not inviting (only massage is worth recommending); fitness room is available only for 2 hours per day
- the service is rather unfriendly (with a few exceptions), especially at the reception desk
- the smell from the purification pipes is really intensive, particularly in the evenings
- the food is OK, but very monotonous (if you order a lunch box, be prepared that you will not get it because they will probably miss your order. It happened twice to us)
- a TV in the rooms are something like 8" size - tv sat offers 4 Greek programmes, 3 German, and one Russian
- if your travel agent will not pay for this, you have to pay for the sunbeds at the beach (2eur per one sunbed).

Genarally, the hotel is OK, if you expect 3* - 4* standard.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ple-ple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.3 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#11 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eliros Mare Hotel
Eliros Mare Hotel
#13 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vantaris Palace
Vantaris Palace
#1 of 6 in Kournas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
81.1 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Palace

Property: Mythos Palace
Address: Kavros Apokoronou, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Georgioupolis
#5 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mythos Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete is the land of myths - and Mythos Palace Resort & Spa holds a special place among them! Situated next to one of the most beautiful beaches of northern Crete, in the vicinity of the popular resort of Georgioupolis and the picturesque Kournas Lake, Mythos Palace Resort & Spa is bound to prove that the "myth" of absolute relaxation and Mediterranean luxury can become reality. From the bright lobby with the classical and Minoan references, to the impressive swimming pool in the heart of the resort, from the refined atmosphere of the rooms to the exotic beach, the refreshing Spa and the elegant restaurants and bars, everything has been designed to give you the sense of the Mediterranean geniality and subtle style. Welcome to Mythos Palace Resort & Spa, the place where myths remain alive! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mythos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mythos Palace Georgioupolis
Mythos Palace Hotel Georgioupolis
Mythos Palace Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing