We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly 5 star hotel, worth every penny”
Review of Pilot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pilot Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“truly 5 star hotel, worth every penny”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through luxury escapes (October 2013) we got a great deal for 7 nights half board.

Hotel complex is huge, kids playground, 3 huge pools, games room, hair dressers, clothes shop, supermarket, spa, gym, indoor pool, sushi resturant and 3 al carte restaurants (one of which overlooks the beach). Beach is on the complex, but around a 10 minute stroll if at the front of the hotel.

Hotel complex is extremely clean, staff are helpful and will go out their way to accommodate you. Rooms of good clean standard.

Food is average Greek standard, meat, soups, salads etc eat in the resturant near the beach for lunch, you have to pay but it's of better standard I feel. As they don't provide all inclusive we swapped tea for lunch and just filled up at breakfast, breakfast is fantastic. We ate out of an evening, go to georgioupolis for 5 euro in a taxi and eat at Bellissimo, it's right near where the taxi drops you off, they cook meat on a wood fire grill and the chicken is so tender and juicy, get the chicken skewers, comes with chips and pita. Also eat at Georga's near lake Kournas for a real Greek experience! Driving past you'd never go in, just looks like one lonley resturant but was told by the Greece people to go and so glad we did, it was so nice we tipped 20 euro over the cost!! For 2 starters and a main with two drinks 30 euro, food extremely fresh! Don't be alarmed that there's nothing on the menu, the owner sits with you when you walk in and suggests what she will cook you! Please visit here if no where else, very passionate about her resturant you will never eat food the same!


Overall id go back again.

Zoe (Liverpool)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    353
    103
    24
    18
See reviews for
634
386
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place!

Myself, 2 children and retired parents found this break through Cheapflights.com, we stayed in pool view rooms.

40 minutes from Chania airport, which is smaller and quicker to turn passengers around than Heraklion.

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, pool areas spotless, restaurants kept well stocked with a great variety of food. Entertainment was the usual cabaret and kids disco, we played cards and watched each evening.

The Greek restaurant was lovely for a quieter meal, and although only offering 3 main options, there is help yourself soup, salad and hot starters.

The kids have the Tasty Corner from 11am - 5pm with fresh pizza, salad, soup, ham and cheese croissants, several hot options, dessert and ice cream with orange or apple juice - perfect to kept them going (We enjoyed a beer and sandwich with crisps for 7 euros).

The bar prices weren't extortionate, house wines were drinkable at around 12 euros a bottle. Kids mocktails were 4 euros and alcoholic cocktails 8.

The shop prices weren't much different to the those in Georgioupolis. The town is a leisurely 25 minutes stroll along the beach, or slightly quicker walk along the road.

They do land train trips to the lake and town, so you can have an hour to look around, which were reasonably priced and broke the day up a little.

My son is 14 and did not moan or say bored once in 7 days, he played football every afternoon, had a go at archery, played pool and table tennis, swam and used the gym. The free wifi is slow at times, but he didn't really use it that much in the end.

My 9 year old daughter wasn't bothered by the kids club although they seemed to have fun face painting, playing games and taking trips on the land train each evening. The spa do a girls massage or manicure for around 20 euros (Residents get 10% discount).

If you have tiddlies there is a lovely indoor soft play and art tables in the kids club room. And a really nice water play area too.

Little touches were nice like a bottle of wine and water in the room on arrival, robes and slippers, toiletries and a bottle of their own olive oil when you leave.

Some of the hotel bars were closed due to the end of the season, one of the speciality evenings didn't run due to low numbers, town was quiet but the tavernas that the locals use were open and worth a visit.

All in all a really lovely break for some last minute sun before heading into winter.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having found a discounted break via travelzoo to Crete, this hotel complex was worth every penny. There was nothing individually that stood out to make it perfect but the staff went a long way to make it special.

For example, we arrived late in the evening, on time, and there was a complimentary minivan ride to our chalet to show us where it was and drop off the luggage, followed by a ride to one of the three restaraunts that had been held open for our late arrival in case we wanted food (yes, all right the choice at that time of night was slightly limited but the point is the staff had thought ahead that we may be hungry).

There is a choice of three places to dine. Our favourite was the beach eatery for breakfast (followed by a walk along the beach) and the international eatery on the roof for the evening. Food was varied, well cooked and plentiful. If you need to dine with a family, there are large tables available. If you are a couple, there are quieter areas in the same eating area. Waiters are attentive but not obtrusive.

The only minor points - and they are very minor - were slight slips in routine or general wear and tear. For example, the sink plug slowly let water out again and the shower would occasionally go very hot when someone else in the complex used cold water. They are aware of the problem and are working to fix it. We personally felt that the beds were too soft for our tastes but there were sofabeds also available in the room so we just switched from one set of beds to the other and were quite comfortable

There is a major road running through the complex. The road does not affect access from one part to another (as there is an underpass which is swept by the cleaners first thing in the morning). The road noise can be heard in the evenings but is not overbearing (our chalet bungalow was higher up the hill, facing the road).

The spa facilities are very good and the staff were able to provide the relaxation services on offer. The car-hire available in the hotel we used was very reasonable, the car clean and efficient and much better value than organised trips if you want to get off the beaten track.

Best things to try in our opinion: Sunrise over the beach followed by breakfast overlooking the sea. Night-time walk along the beach to watch the stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Back after a wonderful relaxing week at this resort. Experienced a twin, sea view room with a friend on full board with drinks, gained almost half a stone in weight!! Despite wave bombing daily in the wonderful Cretan Sea. We had great weather.
I write to mainly compliment the hotel and it`s extremely, hard working staff who could not do enough for us and their attention to detail was unsurpassed.
Cleanliness.. Check. House keeping staff very friendly and efficient. Bedding and towels of good quality, changed daily. Fabulous toiletries.
Comfort....Check. Beds firm but comfy.A very quiet location. Great hair dryer.
Cuisine...Check...in fact, super choices, at every sitting.Want to know how chef enables such luscious ,juicy meat/fish to be on offer at each meal time. Great local, Cretan and European choices. The children`s Pizzeria is a great idea and the pizza`s are fab!
Central...location to Chania town and Rethymnon town within a cheap local bus ride. Beach walk to Georgioupolis and the quaint, spiritual site of St Nickolas. Transfer from airport is scenic and all part of the holiday.
Cretan...Great example of the generous hospitality that Cretans provide. A must experience!

Room Tip: A sea view room is recommended, very relaxing .Not all balconies get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Pilot Beach for 10 days at the beginning of October due to another hotel we booked into which wasnt fit for animals to be quite honest. We are Myself my husband and our children who are 6 and 4. The hotel was fantastic with ourselves and our children - Plenty of things for the youngsters to do including the indoor play type arena with the creche / painting games room. The pools were a little cold both indoor and outdoor but then it is October but the indoor pool could have been warmed up a bit more than it had been as we had 3 days of not very good weather. That said the food in the buffet style restaurants more than made up for this. The rooms are clean but I would say it needs a little more home comforts but I dont think it has been updated for the last few years.. The hotel complex is mainly two floors of linked style apartments set out like a small village with everywhere having very good access to the main part of the hotel.

Overall very pleased with our stay to include the maods that gave my children a lot of toys and inflatables that another room had left behind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillroberts80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went for one week mid October and were very lucky and had a beautiful sunny week.The Hotel was perfect clean, spacious with all facilities expected of a 5 star Hotel.The food in all the Restaurants was of an excellent standard and there was something for everyone.We travelled in a party of 6, elderly parents, 2 daughters and 2 granddaughters and found all the staff extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble and this made our stay very special! We have all visited many resorts but this was one of our Best Holidays Thank You Pilot Beach.

Room Tip: Superior Pool Room if you like Peace and Quiet nice and sheltered but Beach was Beautiful Too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this this 5* hotel which has beautiful, spacious grounds and the rooms and balconies are also a good size. It never felt crowded. We were in a superior garden room overlooking a pool and the nearby mountains. The staff were very pleasant and always very helpful. We were on a half board plus basis and we had drinks included with the evening meal which was a real bonus. The choice of restaurants and the food itself was very good. We ate most nights in the Greek restaurant where the main course is served at your table, rather than in the main buffet restaurant, where the choice was huge. The long sandy beach with free loungers and umbrellas, is reached by an underpass and you can walk both ways on the beach either to Georgioupolis (approx. 15minutes) or further along the other way passing small snack bars and tavernas. There were several pools outside and one heated indoor pool. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny balcony as we did - many are in shade for a lot of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
15.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
42.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
986 reviews
0.9 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
678 reviews
62.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Beach Resort

Property: Pilot Beach Resort
Address: Eparchiaki Odos Georgioupolis-Kournas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pilot Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hotel Pilot Beach
Pilot Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing