We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Hotel”
Review of Pilot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilot Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just come back from a one week vacation at pilot beach resort. We had a most wonderful stay and would gladly return. Everything in this hotel has a touch of high quality to it and it seems that every little detail is thought of and well taken care of. the place itself is full of beauty and well maintained. we had a beach view room and the view of the sea from our balcony each morning was great. the food was excellent and we mostly enjoyed the Beach Restaurant for its wonderful view and staff and excellent service. All through the Hotel the service is indeed first class starting with the reception staff and ending with the lady who cleaned our room... All very professional kind and friendly ,always willing and wanting to help with anything! We had a lovely time and would like to say special thanks to Ilias Stella & Costas at the Reception And to Gabriela Stratos& Cristi at the Beach Restaurant for making our stay so enjoyable! If you're thinking of going there ....don't think twice!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808Dalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I disagree with other reviews that I have seen about this resort. London24601 stated that everything was a rip off, so we were concerned before we arrived.
It transpires that the Wifi is free for
Residents. You just need to log in every day with your name and room number every day. It also has a good wifi range. I can use the wifi from my room, which is two blocks from the main reception. It is a large complex, but each area has its own pool, and is therefore not over indulgent with people.
The restaurants, food and staff service is first class. This is 5 star and you would expect prices to reflect that.
We were very pleased to have two separate single beds that you can either keep separate or push together. It is true that there are less English than other Nationalities, but this is what you got on holiday for. We are still at the hotel as I write this. There are children about, but there are some fantastic areas for child care, so they are not running amok as suggested in other reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidGilliesHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Pilot Beach Resort for two weeks on our honeymoon. Having read the reviews from the past six months or so, this review will try to objectively discuss everything you need to know about this place.

The resort is nicely spread out and hardly ever felt full. It takes an hour-and-a-half to two hours from Heraklion airport depending on the number of drop-offs / pick-ups externally. It looks and feels like the 5-star resort it claims to be (we’ll come back to this) and is clean and well maintained. There are four outdoor pools as well as the sandy beach and you can always find loungers. The beach is accessed via an extremely short walk through a large underpass / tunnel that saves you having to cross a highway. We’re ashamed to say that we didn’t make it into the sea, but lots of people went in on non-red flag days. Our only gripe is that the sun-shades in the complex only block approx 70% of the sun out as they seem to be made of a mesh-type material. There are some wooden shades around the main pool opposite the restaurants if you need 100% protection.

There were three days when the skies were overcast. The restaurants tended to get quite busy when the outside tables were made off-limits due to the wind and / or rain, so get to breakfast early and dinner late. The rest of the time, it was sun, sun, sun. We took Deet with us but didn’t need it. We each got bitten once, so nothing to worry about there.

The rooms are spacious and clean, though could do with some pictures on the walls to brighten them up a bit, and most seem to overlook one of the pools, but they are not 5-star quality in our opinion. Guests are provided with all toiletries and the daily maid service is excellent. Free wi-fi is available in the room (and elsewhere) that you need to log on to daily... it suited our needs (mobile sites), but if you were looking to download music or watch videos, you may have to buy a higher speed connection. Make sure you request a double bed when booking, or else you will find two single beds made separately and pushed together as we did! These were changed for the next night. We found the bed too soft and struggled, but that might just have been us? Not that you will want to watch it much, but the majority of the tv channels are foreign. Finally, you must pay extra to hire the safety deposit box; approx £1 per day, which is a bit tight for a 5-star resort.

The staff are very friendly, polite, helpful and multi-lingual. The majority of the guests are German and Russian, so if you like to mingle with other guests while on holiday, you will struggle... we didn’t bump into a single British person during our first week. We don’t have children so cannot comment on the kids facilities, though it does seem to be a very family friendly hotel which was evident by the number of families there; the animation was specifically geared to entertain their ‘young clientele.’ You will tire of hearing the same songs from 7 pm to 9 pm every night. However, if you get a chance to see the Magician ‘Mr Tony,’ do it!

Now for the important bit – food and drink! The food was great. Not quite 5-star grub, and the restaurants did have a slight ‘canteen’ feel, but there was always plenty of choice. Some dishes are repeated after a few days or a week, but there’s always something else available. We enjoyed breakfast at the beach restaurant and (due to us needing to self-impose portion control) dinner in the a la carte restaurant. Everything served was lovely and I defy anyone to come back from the dessert area with just one dessert.

The thing that let the dining experience down was the quality of the house wine. We were on full board plus, but stopped ordering the wine by week two. The rose was just about bearable, but the white and red were awful – even the staff were apologetic about the quality! We tried to turn the red into a Sangria by ordering lemon Fanta (one of the waiters gave us some tumblers and ice) and it is still a struggle. We tried three different bottles of wine from the menu (approx £18 a bottle) and that was still nasty stuff. We’re sure that the acidity gave us both upset stomachs. Disappointing and not be-fitting a 5-star resort. However, the draught lager was good and there is plenty of choice in relation to soft drinks including still and sparkling water. If we went back, we might be tempted we go half board and simply grab some bananas at breakfast to see us through to dinner.

As we were honeymooners, we had invitations to the Wednesday evening Greek Zorbas night (normally approx £16 each). They do a similar thing on a Thursday night in the main restaurant for no extra charge. However, you miss out on the beachfront setting, the outdoor barbeque, the plates of lamb and rice brought to your table, and the more intimate music / dance show. Let them pull you up for a dance – it’s fun! We didn’t do the Saturday night Lobster night at the beach restaurant so are unable to comment on that.

We went to the Olive spa for a thermo massage and made use of the sauna and steam rooms. Some of our European friends were a little underdressed, but a quick word with the receptionist righted that soon enough. Very relaxing and well worth a look. Good little gym too. Also, the on-site mini-mart isn’t as expensive as you might think and is well stocked.

Apparently, the small town of Georgioupolis is a ten minute walk away, a trip to the lake on the small road-train in 30 minutes away, and there are frequent buses to Chania, but we had the laziest holiday in the world and didn’t leave the resort once. I’m sure we’re not the only ones who do that!

All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday in a spread out resort. We would recommend if you are after a chilled-out week or two to recharge your batteries. They just need to improve the shades and the WINE!!!

Room Tip: First floor overlooking a pool and AWAY from the front of the hotel i.e. the road / highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossinWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a very relaxing week at Pilot Beach. The beachside position, the pools and cleanliness of the hotel were excellent. It's positioned well for an easy stroll along the beach to Georgioupolis & for the regular busses to Chania & Rethymon.
We stayed in a beachside room, which had great views, it was lovely to open the doors in the morning to the beach & sea beyond. As mentioned previously the rooms could do with an update. It can also be noisy, the traffic from the nearby busy road can be a nuisance.
The service was friendly & prompt & the staff were all excellent, very helpful & welcoming. The food is ok, but I would say this hotel has the feel of an all inclusive hotel, but without the advantages.

Room Tip: If you choose a beachside room ask for one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quadriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Time for some objective truths truths about this hotel. The most important thing to note is that this hotel has thought of every way possible to rip you off and take money from you for various services that should really be included so be warned. The other key thing to note is that the hotel is very big and very impersonal. There are hundreds and hundreds of guests so the whole experience is very impersonal.

Staff - on the whole polite and welcoming. A lot of the staff are Russian and tend to favour the Russian guests which was a little weird. There was an issue with the restaurant manager of the beach restaurant (small man with a moustache) who refused to serve us tabasco sauce and said he didnt have any. I then found some at the bar which really annoyed him and he started speaking Greek to me. This member of staff could also be seen regularly touching the younger female waitresses.

Beds - Not very comfortable at all. We asked for a double room and we were put in a room with two twin beds that were pushed together. Ridiculous. When I asked for a double bed, they said that was all they had.

Other guests - We were one of very few British people there. The whole hotel was full of Russians and some Germans. Be aware of this before you book. The Russians can really take over. There were also a lot of kids running around everywhere so if youre looking for a child free hotel, this is NOT the place. We travelled in mid September when we thought there would be fewer kids but there were actually more!

Standards - The hotel was overall very clean but was nowhere near a 5 star hotel but more like a 3 star. This wouldnt be a problem if the prices were lower but the main issue is that the hotel charges proper 5 star prices for a 3 star service. The hotel regularly ran out of beach towels. For a beach hotel to run out of beach towels is funny and also annoying if you have walked from the beach to the hotel to get towels. They only have one towels kiosk which is near reception so if you are going to the beach or your room is near the beach you have to walk all the way to reception to get towels. Why they dont have another towel kiosk is beyond me. On the subject of towels, the towels in our room were rarely clean. They always had some marks on them. The robes were both dirty in the room.

The Safe - This is the first 5 star hotel i stayed at where you have to PAY to use the safe in your room !! I had to go to reception to get the safe key and sign an agreement to say that there was a charge of 2 Euros per day for the safe. Not very 5 star.

Internet - The hotel says that there is WIFI included all over the hotel but this is rubbish. You have to log on and then once you are on, the WIFI is free for one day only and then you have to pay. Not very 5 star. The WIFI is also very slow.
Drinks - The drinks in the hotel are very overpriced, including water and soft drinks.

Food - The buffet had a good range of dishes (none if which were hot but always warm) and the restaurants were clean. Avoid the Greek night as the hotel charges 18 Euros for this but its the same food. The only difference is that they have some entertainment. The Lobster night was a disaster. An extra 38 Euros per person charge for substandard food. The smoked salmon salad had one piece of smoked salmon in it as big as my finger nail. The actual lobster itself was terrible. Overcooked and bizarre taste. The lobster was not fresh at all and must have arrived at the hotel a few days before. The lobster was served with a whole lobster shell (for presentation only) and then the fillet of the lobster seperately which leads me to believe they just buy the fillets of lobster seperately. Avoid.

Pools - Really lovely an clean.

Hotel shop - Fairly priced for some items and sells a wide variety of things.

Entertainment - They had entertainment near the main building every night which was fun although the piano player/singer who plays every night near the beach pool bar was terrible.

Bathrooms - These were kept clean at all times and the hotel toiletries were nice. Also replenished every day.

Location - The location of the hotel is good and bad. Good in that it is right on the beach. Bad in that it is in the middle of nowhere and the nearest village (Giorgiopolous) is 15 minutes walk away.

Breakfast - there is plenty of food and plenty of choice for breakfast. Try the Greek tea.

Checking in and out - this was done well as they collect your luggage and take you in a little hotel car to your room.

Some tips for the area: 1. Go to Kounas lake. 2. Go to Giorgiopolous. The most important tip is to visit the taverna next door to the hotel on the beach. It is called SEVEN SOULS and has the most charming staff. It is great value for drinks (2 Euros for a large ouzo) and food and the beach area is much less crowded than the hotels beach area. In the taverna, try their DAKOS dish. Delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank london24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We simply have no complaints about this resort. We have been before and know what to expect. If you read some reviews they say it's full of Germans....others full of Russians.i wouldn't care if it was full of Martians. We go on holiday to enjoy ourselves and don't need to mix with others. We did meet a few Brits which was nice but we were happy enough. The attention to detail is in my opinion exceptional. ALL of the staff from cleaners to waiters,reception staff to the general manager work extremely hard to make Pilot Beach the best.
The only thing that could have been better was my husbands health. Although regular trips to Heraklion for treatment consumed some of our holidays,the staff always asked after him and wished him well. We have been going to Pilot Beach for 11 years now. Not only is it consistent it gets better. Great location,facilities,staff and management. Looking forward to our next visit.
Kick back and relax or explore the island.....great location and a comfortable bed and hearty food to return to.....who needs more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

my wife and i had a great holiday the beach is the best i have seen
their is good entertainment for kids the hotel is spotless the staff and the owner are fantastic
so good booked to go back next year

Room Tip: choose one looking on to the beach nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.9 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
134 reviews
15.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
60.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
448 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
66.5 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Beach Resort

Address: Eparchiaki Odos Georgioupolis-Kournas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range: $142 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pilot Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hotel Pilot Beach
Pilot Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing