We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up, up and away!”
Review of Pilot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pilot Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Up, up and away!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I contacted the hotel before we arrived to ask for firm mattresses (as I had read on Trip Advisor that some were too soft ), for directions from airport and more importantly to inform them that my teenage daughter had broken her leg so asked if we could be on the ground floor.When we arrived every need was met and although our two rooms weren't quite together we were very near reception so avoided the need for long walks to and from facilities. Not bad for height of Summer season! The rooms were spacious and clean and when we returned from breakfast each morning they were clean and tidy (which is saying a lot with my 3 kids in theirs!) The pools were lovely, the main one had an activity for all the family and the beachside one was picturesque. Lifeguards both at pool and private beach were fun and helpful, dishing out first aid on many occasions to my son and husbands football wounds. If the staff saw my daughter struggling they gave her a lift in the resorts little vans. The manager was constantly around over seeing mealtimes etc. He was extremely approachable and very kindly gave us a freemeal and drinks pass on our last night as we had a very late flight. The resort itself was extremely clean, staff friendly and very helpful and great choice of food (and we are consider ourselves foodies!). The breakfasts were especially wonderful with the chefs serving up copious amounts of fresh pancakes and waffles. One very helpful extra was a kids food area for under 13s. Although we were only halfboard our son (12) could eat all day whenever he liked, which he did often with his new friends after bouts of swimming, football, tennis, water polo etc etc!


Plenty of fresh fruit and veg. If I had to be picky I have to say we were surprised by the amount of Russians and at times felt rather outnumbered (I.e in the buffet there wasn't a lot of queuing! ) But this in no way detracted from a wonderful holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend Pilot Beach.



R

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    337
    93
    24
    17
See reviews for
588
369
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family (including three teenagers aged between 13-17) have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Pilot Beach Resort in Crete. We all agreed that it was both a relaxing and enjoyable stay as the facilities and the location of the hotel were beautiful.

he pool by the beach was perfectly situated as it enabled us to be able to enjoy both the sea and the pool environment. There was also a nice shaded area with seating by the pool which provided great protection from the sun at peak times Both the water in the pool and the sea was always clean and a refreshing escape from the hot climate. Along the beach there were rentals for jetskiing, banana boating and other water sports and my teenagers and their friends had great fun on the banana boat. The most relaxing thing about the resort was that you never felt that there were a lot of people due to the many pools and areas where people could go. This ensured that the areas were quiet and tranquil for everyone.

There were plenty activities on offer for the teenagers varying from water polo to beach volleyball. Despite this they enjoyed making friends by the pool and hanging out with them,

Upon arrival we were somewhat disappointed with the rooms, they are more of a 4* standard than 5*. They also did not have a turn down service which was okay not greatly missed however, noticeable missing. The rooms were clean, however things were not frequently replaced if missing, it often felt that when returning to the room after a day at the pool or beach, the rooms appeared as if they had just had the bed made and the bathrooms had been washed down and towels replaced. However, it was more than adequate as we spent more time by the pool and beach then in the room.

The food was good however, sometimes lacked variety, There would always be meat however, normally only one or two options and one option of fish. They had a great vary of deserts and a nice salad bar. I would highly recommend the Greek/Italian restaurant where you have a buffet starter and dessert and a served main course (in which you have three options). The dinner than was very enjoyable as it escaped the hustle and bustle of a buffet and also stopped you from over eating!


Whilst your staying in Crete you should take the opportunity to visit the local villages and definitely go and visit the village of Chania; it was very beautiful and reminded us of Venice.

Overall, to sum the hotel up I would say that the facilities (pool, gym, etc) were 5* however, the rooms and food were more of 4* + standard. An enjoyable stay and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rooms require renovation, at least located next to the beach (forget about working air condition). Rooms are 3 stars max, food and hotel facilities 4+, staff 4+, location 4+, beach 5. Overall 4+, taking to account Greek specifics and approach to hotels rating it's one of the best on Crete.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz_Tatanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at pilot beach resort for two weeks this year. Lovely hotel and the reception area if out of this world. Plenty of clean towels and bedding throughout my stay and the food was excellent.
The sweets were marvellous the pastry chef must have been quite unique.

I would say that the majority of people who stayed where either German or Russian.

Room Tip: Room was looking over pools and was excellent lovely large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Hotel complex was really good. But... Who calls it a 5 stars, has never seen one... The price was loyal to its number of stars. The food defenetely not. The staff was friendly, specially the greek staff, smilly and helpful. Most of the staff was actually russian, if i wanted to use my greek phrasebook, i would have been really disapointed... When having your dinner keep always an eye, or a hand on your plate ! The staff collects all plates with or without cutlery accross in seconds. Same for your orange juice. As soon as you put your glass down, someone will take it... And you will have to get a new one again... Totally unecessary...
The beach... Beautiful ! But the red flag was up almost every second day.

It's a good hotel If u want a relaxing holiday and loads of farniente, (a bit expensive), if u can forgive the rudeness of the majority of the other customers (not Germans, not British, not French !!!). The sort of customers that go to the furs shops in the neighbouring town (awful).

Being with my familly, I could easily forget those details... But for the kids, going to the kids club, speaking french and english wasn't enaugh for my 6 year old daughter to make friends, as most of the kids were speaking only russian...

I hope this can serve you. Or at least warn you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swiss-English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went on a family vacation for one week, 3 generations. For our purpose the hotel was excellent. We got two double rooms next to each other that had adjoining terraces. Wonderful buffet with a lot to choose from for every taste, both for breakfast and lunch/ dinner. Plenty of activities for all age groups - kids club, water aerobics, yoga class, archery, water polo... A beautiful walk along the beach to Georgiopolis. Nice clean pools, one specially designed for 2-5 year olds with playground equipment, and one indoor pool at the Spa that we used when the kids needed some time out of the burning sun. Staff was very friendly and welcoming and spoke greek, english, russian and german. And not least; nice beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were offered a "could not refuse" opportunity.

We needed sun and rest and good food. We got everything we were looking for.

The word fantastic keeps appearing in the reviews and this is an understatement

We do hope to return to Pilot Beach. Perhaps as soon as September this but certainly
in 2014.

Phil and Jean Rich

Room Tip: Book a poolside bungalow. Do not book a seaside bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhillipLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
15.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.9 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#8 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
42.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
#2 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Beach Resort

Property: Pilot Beach Resort
Address: Eparchiaki Odos Georgioupolis-Kournas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pilot Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pilot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hotel Pilot Beach
Pilot Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing