We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family vacation”
Review of Pilot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilot Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family vacation”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went on a family vacation for one week, 3 generations. For our purpose the hotel was excellent. We got two double rooms next to each other that had adjoining terraces. Wonderful buffet with a lot to choose from for every taste, both for breakfast and lunch/ dinner. Plenty of activities for all age groups - kids club, water aerobics, yoga class, archery, water polo... A beautiful walk along the beach to Georgiopolis. Nice clean pools, one specially designed for 2-5 year olds with playground equipment, and one indoor pool at the Spa that we used when the kids needed some time out of the burning sun. Staff was very friendly and welcoming and spoke greek, english, russian and german. And not least; nice beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    340
    97
    24
    18
See reviews for
597
379
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were offered a "could not refuse" opportunity.

We needed sun and rest and good food. We got everything we were looking for.

The word fantastic keeps appearing in the reviews and this is an understatement

We do hope to return to Pilot Beach. Perhaps as soon as September this but certainly
in 2014.

Phil and Jean Rich

Room Tip: Book a poolside bungalow. Do not book a seaside bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhillipLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I can not fault this hotel, clean, luxurious and friendly with great facilities. The food was amazing, the rooms beautiful and the beach extremely clean. This is the place to stay in Crete, I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May. It has fabulous 5 star facilities but the service is not up 5 star standards. The only restaurant where we felt the service was anywhere near 5 star was in the restaurant on the beach. The greek night in the beach restaurant is a total rip off at an extra £18 Euros each, it is the same food and the same entertainment for free the following night. Don’t pay for it go to one of the other restaurants.
The room was reasonably comfortable and a good size but the bed was a little soft. Some sticky marks which were in the room when we arrived were still there a week later when we left. In the rooms are kettles and cups…that is all ….not even a spoon so take your own tea and coffee. There is a fridge to put milk in.
The food was tasty but was luke warm mostly. Chefs would cook in front of you and place what they cooked on a tray to get cold which would not be put out until the current tray had been emptied. If we stayed at this hotel again we would not book half board as the food was not up to standard. One thing which was good was that we arrived about 1am and were amazed to find that food was available to us that night!!!
There was no way you could have the hot food that had just been cooked.
The position of the hotel is good, on a lovely beach with plenty of sunbeds and a pleasant walk into Giorgioupolis, which is a nice town with plenty of restaurants. Al in all a good hotel for families (we didn’t have children with us) but really far too large for any sort of personal service.

Room Tip: A main road runs through this resort ask for a room away from this road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enamelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

"This place is fantastic!" Right down to the finest detail they know what one needs to have a lovely holiday. We can't fault it. We have already booked to go again in October and are in the proceeds of booking to take our daughters and their families in 2014 to celebrate three very important Anniversaries.
I can tell you how wonderful everything is but I think the fact that we are going back again and again must speak of the quality of this Pilot Beach Resort.
Jess in Wiltshire

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JessChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went with a friend to Pilot Beach Resort to escape long British winter. Got excellent deal from travel agent, with free upgrade to a lovely pool view bungalow - ground floor. Flew with Ryanair from LeedsBradford airport and journey went without a hitch. Met at Chania airport by the Hotel's transport. Reception and check in very friendly and efficient. Taken by car from reception to our bungalow, so did not have to lift or carry luggage. Accommodation spacious and very well equipped and comfortable - included small fridge, kettle and cups, toiletries in bathroom, plenty of towels, etc. Lovely bottle of wine waiting on our arrival. The food was out of this world - so much choice and all absolutely delicious. Choice of restaurants for evening dining. The weather was generally hot and sunny but the water in the outside pools was still too cold for swimming - ALAS !!. The pools were brilliant and looked so inviting. It would have been good if one of the outdoor pools had been heated. Small pool indoors in the Spa was heated, but often full of families with young children. Good beach with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Not much to do in the area - only a walk to a village along the beach. Probably more choice if you hire a car. But we just wanted to relax and chill out and it was wonderful for rest and relaxation. A complimentary visit to use the Spa facilities was included. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ground floor bungalow rooms have their own patio outside the French windows. Ask for a room on grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for a week in May and got a really good deal through Travelzoo - about a 3rd of the price if you booked direct with the hotel - so really couldn't complain.
We stayed full board + drinks. The food was a pretty good standard especially for a hotel, but the free wine was a bit rough! We did take a walk into Georgioupolis every other night for food so that we didn't get too bored of the hotel food.
Lovely pool area - especially the pool by the beach. Only downside was that there were lots of children there, which the hotel did cater for, but as we were travelling as a couple it was a shame they didn't have at least one pool area for 'adults only'.
The staff in the hotel were great - very helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you, but also were not at all imposing.
The rooms were fine - we had a bungalow on the beach. They were a good size, and provided everything you need - fridge, aircon, TV (only a few English channels) all toiletries (except hair conditioner) which were good quality and replenished regularly. Only downside was the bed was a bit too soft for our liking.
Overall if this deal came up again, we would re-visit and Geirgioupolis is a lovely small holiday village to spend a relaxing evening.

Room Tip: some reviews seem to imply that the road through the middle of the resort is an issue - this is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 40scouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
42.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
912 reviews
15.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
13.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 165 in Rethymnon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 48 in Georgioupolis
258 reviews
64.0 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
Anemos Luxury Grand Resort
#1 of 48 in Georgioupolis
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Beach Resort

Property: Pilot Beach Resort
Address: Eparchiaki Odos Georgioupolis-Kournas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pilot Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pilot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Hotel Pilot Beach
Pilot Beach Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing