We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pilot Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Eliros Mare Hotel(Georgioupolis)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Romantica(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$64
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vardis Olive Garden(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$64
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vantaris Palace(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$96
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vantaris Beach(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orpheas Resort(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveler rating
787
366
111
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
366
111
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreek restaurantkids clubhalf boardlarge resortlobster nightolive oilmain restaurantbuffet stylechoice of restaurantssea viewindoor poolanimation teamroad noisenearest townmain partbreakfast and dinnerevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Pilot beach for a week through Travelzoo from 30 April to 7 May 2013. We had a superior bungalow on the beach room 2101. Other room choices 2030 is right on the beach you couldn't get any closer. If you are not particularly bothered about having the beach on your doorstep rooms 4411-4772 are in the vicinity of the spa with gym and indoor pool, small garden with loungers and a hammock. We paid 15 euros for use of the spa which has steam room, sauna and one other which seemed to be a combination of the two and their is a calm relaxation area. The gym and indoor pool are free to use during opening hours and are separated from the spa area.

Our room was well positioned for the main building, restaurants and beach. Yes there is a main road running through the resort but frankly I did not notice any noise during our wonderful stay. It is hard to find fault with this holiday. The sun shone for us all week and went in on the last day :-) There has been previous negative reviews about the food but honestly apart from are first night when we chose a fish dish from the a-la-carte menu (Sauce was banana based yuk!!!) I had to contain myself so as not to be spending all my spare time on return home on diet and in the gym. I am quite a fussy eater and would not hesitate in giving warranted criticism. We were not staying during high (extremely hot) season so there were no problems with flies around the food. I inquired about the temperature of the food from a guest who visits Greece frequently. Apparently in Greece food is eaten warm and not hot, how true this is I'm not sure but certainly at Pilot Beach the hottest food I had was pizza from the children's food section.

We didn't travel around Crete, one we were not driving and two this holiday was really about rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we had. We did travel to the small Georgioupolis village first by the hotel train and on the second occasion we walked. You can walk to the village by roadside or along the beach front, the beach front is the quicker and more scenic view. We also took a taxi (7 euros there and back) to Lake Kourna the only freshwater lake in Crete. We went out on a paddle boat for another 7 euros for just over an hour, it was picturesque.

We became well acquainted with some of the staff and will be sending them photographs we took with them including the resort manager. We will definitely be returning to Pilot Beach as we now hold some very fond memories of the resort and some of its staff.

Room Tip: Superior bungalows on the beach offer a beautiful view of sea and sand to wake up to.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and our 2 year old boy in a superior bungalow (room).

This hotel is defiantly set up for families, the children's pool is fantastic and so is the play area.
There is a kids club open until 10pm to keep the children entertain with regular activities.

The maids stock your bathroom with olive oil toiletries every 2 days whether you have used them all or not. We ended up taking lots home.

The hotel is right on the beach. Fantastic beach and free sun beds.

Train ride around the complex after dinner - around 7:30pm (for children and adults alike) then a mini disco.

There are regular buses, actually more like coaches. We took the 40 minute bus journey to Chiania a couple of times. I can defiantly recommend it. Beautiful place, historic harbour and wonderful people, shops and eateries.

Overall this holiday was fantastic. I would return in a heart beat.

One more thing, on your departure you are given a bottle of pure olive oil from the hotels olive grove.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Enjoyed a week long break during April this year. Weather could have been kinder but there were plenty of things to keep us occupied in the hotel and grounds. The indoor pool is nice and warm and the complimentary use of the spa was really good, it was nice and relaxing and comfortable. My wife booked the special offer facial and was very impressed. The food was good, we dined in the Greek restaurant where your main course is served to you at the table, makes eating a bit more special. Breakfast outside on the veranda ( on the nice days ) was a great way to start the day. All restaurants have lovely white linen table covers which are changed after every each setting so you always have a fresh table, nice touch. Our room overlooked one of the pools in the grounds and it was nice to have the option of sitting outside your room or at the side of the pool. Be warned, the pools are fresh water and a bit cold, but really clean, the staff are out washing and brushing the poolside early every morning. The beach is nice and clean and it was great to have free use of the sun beds and umbrellas. The hotesl dedicated Lifeguard at the beach was comforting, he was very friendly and approachable. The rooms are well finished and clean, with maid service every day, nice to have the use of the white towelling robes and slippers and the sliding patio doors with the additional sliding louvre on the outside kept out any noise, and with both being lockable gave a good sense of security.
All the staff that we encountered went out of their way to make sure you were happy, particularily in the restaurants, and everywhere you looked people were cleaning or tidying up. My only slight grumble during our stay was the lack of table water with meals, if you wanted water with your meal you had to buy the bottled water which was dearer than the other drinks, small point but annoying. However, overall great value for money if you book one of the special offers, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a trip to the pilot beach resort. what a fabulous property, my room was a beach front room which was lovely. it was great to step straight from the decking to the sand. I cannot fault the food in the hotel. the staff were very friendly and i loved the waiter service on the beach. i cannot wait to go back there again.

Room Tip: beach front room well worth the extra
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angie187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel through Travelzoo, and as always I look up the reviews before travelling anywhere...believe me this place is good!
We have been lucky enough to travel extensively and the setting for this hotel is one of the best, having a pre -dinner drink by the beach pool, with the sun setting over the mountains is superb.
If you are up-graded to full board, you get free wine (good by Greek standards) at meals. Personally we ate so much we eventually skipped lunch!
Food id, perhaps not 5 star, but is certainly very good with good array of dishes, constantly replenished by staff, who are friendly, helpful & above all efficient, makes a nice change from some hotels we have stayed at.
Front bungalows are best, some right on the beach, nice to wake up to the sun each morning.
The pools are clean, well maintained & the restaurants overlook them.
we arrived late at night & were pleasantly surprised to be offered hot food in the restaurant, as opposed to the usual roll & banana!
Drinks are keenly priced, & they have theme nights, not really worth the extra, but the shows are quite good (not sure about the Cretan dancers though!).
If you hire a car , there are many mountain villages to explore on empty roads, Kournas lake is lovely, though might be a bit of a bone-shaker on the train.
One point to note, if you are driving from Heraklion at night it takes about 1 1/2 hours but keep your eyes peeled for the hotel sign, just before Giorgioupolis, as the road is quite dark, and although the resort lies on both sides of the road, the entrance is facing east!
We travelled late April, & the weather was lovely, temps up to 28 degrees.
A great hotel in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows, great views & early morning sun.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bruce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews