We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cretan village experience”
Review of Kastellos Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kastellos Village
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The silence across the olive tree valley below was blissful, save for the occasional cockerel crow and the intermittent jangle of tin bells from the odd stray foraging goat. Welcome to rural village Crete, just a 15 minute drive away from the resort of Georgiopoulis and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of home. For us, this was different from previous holidays in Crete where Rethymnon and Elounda gave us the contrast of a resort base to tour this lovely island. A stay in Kastellos village is a life living among the locals, a taste of real Crete where nobody speaks English. And why should they? We got by with what little Greek we had picked up over the years and it was enough for us to get a warm welcome – not as tourists – but as friends. We stayed in the Agathes apartments at the bottom end of the village which sit in the hillside above the valley, with views of the sea in the distance. These are beautifully appointed and tastefully created Cretan style buildings, lovely archways, nooks and crannies in which to sit – and a wonderful pool area where you can be in blissful isolation in your own little world. We had the complex to ourselves on the four days we were there and the pace of life is slow to almost stop. Yiannis, the owner, greeted us and settled us in and then left us to enjoy one of our best holidays on the island. The isolation was only broken by the mobile bread man and greengrocer beckoning us to their well-stocked vans, and our trips up to the top of the village to the taverna run by Maria and her lovely family, where locals welcome you as friends and ply you with traditional Cretan food and drink and lots of bonhomie. This is the antidote to the rat race, a different world where you can practice your Greek – and Maria’s middle son Giorgios and daughter Maria can try out the English they are learning at school. The food – fresh and very good – is just part of the whole experience of being welcomed into a different culture albeit for a brief moment in time. We can’t wait to go back and renew acquaintances with our new friends.

Room Tip: You need a car and there are small narrow and winding roads in the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This apartment is one of several in a new building in a small village about 20 minutes from the coast. The view over the countryside is stunning and the place is very clean. It has all the charm you would imagine: wooden shutters and hand-crafted furniture, a basic kitchen, efficient air-conditioning. The staff is extremely gracious and warm. The village itself has a fine taverna (Maria's) where one can eat local dishes. The pool was refreshing. Our only suggestion is to have one or two comfortable chairs for indoor reading. But that was not a problem in June.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cepparello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Another wonderful visit to Kastellos Village! We extended our stay to enjoy more sun, food,and most of all people. This was our 2nd visit to the hotel and there really are no words to describe this village and it's people. Not only is the hotel the most beautiful place on earth but the people will forever be in our hearts. Yiannis and Litsa did everything to make our stay feel like home. Maria's Tavern is a must! The food is amazing and her family are so welcoming. A true Greece experience! Our 4 year old daughter didn't want to leave and I cried saying goodbye to these wonderful people. We will be back:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Kastellos Village for a week in 2010 and are going back again in July 2013.
Pictures of holiday detinations can sometimes be misleading, but not in this case.
It exceeded our expectations.
We were met by Mr Viannis, who has created a truly wonderful holiday experience up close to the mountains with breathtaking views over the surrounding countryside.This is a superb good value for money accomodation away from the crowds.

The apartment is on two floors, perched on the side of a steep valley, spotlessly clean with an "talian feel." well equiped and very comfortable.

The village close by feels authentic and freindly only ten minutes by car to the beach.

We feel lucky to have found this beautiful place and look forward to going back.
We live in the Oslo area and are used to high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for four days 11th-15th December in the house called Anezina.On arrival we were met by the owner Yanni who showed us our house and left his telephone number in case we needed him.Being winter and out of season we were the only people there and all other houses were empty.The houses have wifi which is really important for me as I need it to keep in contact with work.On arrival Yannis informed me when I asked that it wasn't working and hadn't been for a few days as the part had to come from athens.Living already on crete I can't imagine why the said part had to come from athens as there is wide coverage/parts etc here all over the island.I asked if it could be fixed he said no.I was very unhappy about this as when I booked a few days before having wifi was something I specifically asked about.
The houses are traditional with traditional furniture big open fireplace and they provided us with lots of wood,we really enjoyed the wood fire and it kept the living area and kitchen very warm.The rest of the house were heated by the air con units.The one in the downstairs bedroom worked ok but I was still cold.The one on the stairs worked fine but the one in the upstairs bedroom didnt really blow any hot air at all so my friend and I instead of having a bedroom each ended up sharing the bed downstairs to stay warm.The bathrooms had no heat at all.
The kitchen could be a little better equipped,I understand that people on holiday don't cook much but I didn't have a bowl to make a Greek salad in or a tin opener,basic things.
The views were stunning from upstairs and staying here in the summer would be beautiful.
Overall we had a nice time and holidaying here in the summer would be much nicer.
As for our stay the positives were
Views
Log fire
Peace and quiet

The cons were
Not adequate heating in bedrooms/bathrooms
Kitchen needs basic items
A few more rugs on the floor would have been nice.
Would I stay here again? Only in the summer as I hate the cold

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manosd, Manager at Kastellos Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Sian Q,
First of all we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and also to thank you for your time in writing this review. I read very carefully your opinion as we pay great attention about our guest’s feedback, because out of reviews we learn a lot of things about the houses that we would not possibly have known otherwise. After talking with the owner Mr Yiannis, you where write about some indications that you have pointed out. The Wi-Fi did broke down just a couple of days before your arrival but there were no parts to be replaced and had to be ordered because in Kastellos village and in many other villages in Crete there is still not any internet provider by the normal modem way through the phone and that’s why we have Satellite internet coming and that’s why the part that broke down from the wind was not able to be found in any store. I can reassure you that it’s now already fixed as we have guests staying over for Christmas. As far as the air condition and after investigating this with a mechanic, you where write about the unit on the top floor. The reason is that the covers that we have in the air-co units in order not to spoil the traditional style, made the sensor of the unit warm very fast so by thinking that it was warm enough the unit was closing. Since nobody had mentioned this before we were not able to know about it, but now that we found the reason, I can tell you that all the covers have been removed from all the houses already.
Last we would like to thank you for your nice words about our ‘’stunning views’’ as you say and we would love to welcome you again in Kastellos. All the best
Manos Dafermos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in this lovely villa our last night in Crete. Since we had a flight the next day, this provided us an excellent option to spending the night in the city. The views were spectacular, and the quality of the villa was superior. Taking the short walk to the nearby taverna was a delight! Our food was excellent, and the two young boys (11 & 15, I believe) who served us were adorable!

My only complaint would be the heat. While there may have been air conditioning, we weren't able to access it, so we were warm during the night and had some problems with mosquitoes. Other times of the year would probably be much more pleasant, but this was late July.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manosd, Manager at Kastellos Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Ms Judy C.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Kastellos. I did notice thought that you say you could not access the air condition. I don't know why this happened because the air condition is included in the price and there is no extra charge. But as you said by staying only one night, we didn't have the time to look into it. Maybe the batteries where empty or the remote control was somewhere hiding -:)
I want to apologize for this incident and thank you again for your nice words and rate for our villas.
All the best
Manos D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Kastellos Village property, consisting of three separate villas (sharing a two-pool patio area in the back) was an excellent place for my family to stay on our recent visit to Crete. Situated at the top of the small village of Kastellos, the villas offer wonderful views of the olive tree filled hills and valleys. The villa we stayed in, which comfortably housed 5 of us, was immaculate. Clean with modern conveniences (always plenty of hot water) it was also rustic and authentic.

The most pleasant surprise was Maria's Restaurant, a short walk from the villa. Maria and her family produce amazing Cretan food, fresh daily, and were always willing to deliver it to us (along with a complimentary carafe of homemade wine), though dining at the restaurant (sitting at tables in the narrow street) was also a treat.

Kastellos is located a few kilometers from the seaside -- we had a view of it -- and takes about 15-20 minutes driving through the rolling hills. The seaside offers some nice beaches, plenty of restaurants and cafes, and grocery stores. Kournas, a village closer to Kastellos, features a wonderful pottery shop, a few cafes, and a bakery but not much else. (So stock up on supplies when down by the sea.)

We also took day trips around the area, with both Rethymno and Chania close enough to visit.

I'd advise flying/ferrying in to Chania, as the drive from Iraklio is a longish one.

We enjoyed staying at Kastellos Village so much we're already dreaming of making another trip to Crete just to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
4.4 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows
Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows
#20 of 47 in Georgioupolis
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vardis Olive Garden
Vardis Olive Garden
#13 of 47 in Georgioupolis
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vantaris Beach
Vantaris Beach
#18 of 47 in Georgioupolis
108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#17 of 47 in Georgioupolis
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastellos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastellos Village

Address: Village of Kastellos | Eastern Apokoronas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Georgioupolis
Price Range: $87 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kastellos Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastellos Village is situated in the picturesque village of Kastellos in Georgioupolis, Chania and comprises of two complexes. Each one of these complexes consists of 4 traditional houses built in 1650, but been fully rebuilt in 2009 and offer all modern comforts and a magnificent ambiance to all guests. The complex is ideal for those wishing to escape everyday routine and relax enjoying the Cretan countryside. All houses are independent and fully equipped. They are built according to the traditional architecture. On the outside, beautiful stone work frames the dark green doorways and windows, further accentuated by the pastel strawberry and lemon walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kastellos Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastellos Village Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing