We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”
Review of Kastellos Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kastellos Village
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Kastllos village is a small village located on an hill. Therefore the appartements have an incredible view over olive trees to the sea and on the other side to a big mountain, during our time snow-covered. The apparement is clean, nicely furnished, clean, comfortable bed, 2 bathrooms, and there's even a chimney. The best is the terrace with the view, on the other side you have a small cosy balcony. It's completely quiet, nightbirds bring you to sleep. The taverna of the village is owned by a very friendly, welcoming familiy and the simple food is delicious. Yannis, the owner, owns another accommodation in Chania, Nostos Hotel - also very charming and perfectly situated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friederike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Kastellos Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Whilst on holiday in Platanias (Axos Hotel), we were given the opportunity to spend a few nights at the excellent Kastellos Village complex. We were not disappointed ! We stayed in a one bedroomed villa, clean fresh and very tastefully designed. Opening the doors to the balcony we were met with terrific views of area, the beautiful coast line of Georgioupolis in the distance. We had a lovely pool shared only with the villa next door. The villa has two bathrooms a dining area, real comfortable double bed and a quaint upstairs balcony over looking the cobbled courtyard below...perfect for that early morning coffee! Nearby is a local family taverna (Mapia) here you can try some home cooked greek dishes. We enjoyed a meze of local food which just kept coming and coming...superb! To summarise if you want to enjoy life in the country hills and experience true cretan hospitality you will not be disappointed by this location. The drive from the main road initially is twisty and adventurous but you are close enough tp Georgiouplois to stock up on groceries and sunbathing on the beach. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had a wonderful time in the apartment kapetan antonis, felt very welcome. Kastellos is the right choice, if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday. It is not, if you want to have an all inclusive holiday with animation, lots of restaurants or nightlife right in front of your door.
There are four apartments situated on the top of a hill, where we stayed. Four more apartments are situated at a lower level of Kastellos. The photos of our apartment we had seen before didn't lie, so I assume, that the photos of the other apartments are realistic too. The apartment is well equipped and very spacious, even has a fireplace, but the best thing was the view from the huge terrace over the mountains to the sea. By seeing this we instantly relaxed and didn't have enough of it after two weeks. The view was so impressive, that we hardly used the second terrace. Also a highlight was the extra bed in the living room.
There are two nice bathrooms, one at the ground floor, the other at the first floor, where the bedroom with a double bed is too. The kitchen equipment is good for breakfast and small meals, but that was good enough because of marias taverna near by, which we liked very much for the food and the atmosphere. There is a small, but nice pool, which we mostly had for us alone and used at the end of the day. A car is definately needed to get around, but then it is only a few minutes to georgioupoulos, the sea or lake kournas. You can also go to rethymnon or chania, even to the south coast. Parking the car is a bit of an adventure, but at least we always found a place where we could leave the car nearby. The mosquitos harassed us at the beginning, but there is an electric device to get rid of them in the bedroom and autan did it outside in the evenings. We also had to get used to the hard matraces.
But overall it is such an outstanding nice place, that we are looking forward to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The views are unbelievable; the location is perfect for rest and relaxation; the villa (we stayed in "Anezina") is the best vacation residence we've stayed in for roominess and had 3 terraces! Yannis, the owner, could not have been more friendly or helpful. A perfect mountain hideaway!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapoliUnplugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at 3 different plcaes during our 2 weeks stay in crete and this was the best by far. We are a family of 4 inc 16 year old twins and it was a hit with all of us. Can't fault it at all. Parking is bit tight but apart from that perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The place is located on the top of a small village, not far from the town of Georgioupolis. The owner provided us with driving directions with photos for better orientation.
The apartment we stayed in (Bardis), was large, well equipped and nice, with a big sunny balcony with a view over the mountains and the sea. The kitchen facilities were good for breakfast or a small uncooked meal, but better to go to a Taverna for dinner.
There's a small swimming pool, not big, but good enough for refreshing. We used it mostly in the end of the day.
The place is perhaps a bit secluded for people that are looking for night-life. But perfect for relaxing holidays.
Near by there is a small taverna, mostly visited by locals, with great food (if you want to experience the real Crete cuisine this is one of those great places, non touristic). Or instead, one can always drive to the lake, Georgioupolis or even Rethymno (which is only about 20min drive away, and quite much nicer than Georgioupolis).
The only drawback I see is the parking place, which gets very messy when the taverna is full in the evening.

Overall we had a good time, and the relaxing holidays we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FilipaFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

To begin with and before we actually go there we had a very good service from the person responsible of our booking. He gave us very good directions with photos, which is very import for places like this, and he also gave us details for things to do and places to visit.
When we arrived the owner was waiting for us to give us the key to ''Vardis'' house. One word to describe it is not enough. It is just like the photos. Romantic, peaceful, nice furniture and amazing views!!! You find yourself in the middle of a village but yet again only 5 minutes with the car from the sea.
Thanks to Mr Yiannis who gave these houses life again and we are looking forward to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocky170974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
4.4 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#8 of 47 in Georgioupolis
113 reviews
4.9 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
114 reviews
3.1 mi away
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel
#16 of 47 in Georgioupolis
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.2 mi away
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#23 of 47 in Georgioupolis
34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Orpheas Resort
Orpheas Resort
#17 of 47 in Georgioupolis
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastellos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastellos Village

Address: Village of Kastellos | Eastern Apokoronas, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Georgioupolis
Price Range: $87 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kastellos Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastellos Village is situated in the picturesque village of Kastellos in Georgioupolis, Chania and comprises of two complexes. Each one of these complexes consists of 4 traditional houses built in 1650, but been fully rebuilt in 2009 and offer all modern comforts and a magnificent ambiance to all guests. The complex is ideal for those wishing to escape everyday routine and relax enjoying the Cretan countryside. All houses are independent and fully equipped. They are built according to the traditional architecture. On the outside, beautiful stone work frames the dark green doorways and windows, further accentuated by the pastel strawberry and lemon walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kastellos Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastellos Village Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing