We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous family holiday at Villa Splendid”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Splendid

Beautiful new pool and terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful new pool and terrace
Villa Splendid in all its glory First bedroom of three
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Beautiful new pool and terrace
Villa Splendid in all its glory
First bedroom of three
Magnificent view of Lake Kournas from the villa
Spacious and comfortable lounge
Second bedroom
The verandah area - ideal for a barbecue
Balcony with breathtaking views of Lake Kournas
Well appointed kitchen area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
090265
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family holiday at Villa Splendid”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from an excellent two week stay at Villa Splendid.
Perfect for our family of five which includes three teenage boys.
The villa is modern,spacious and was spotlessly clean on our arrival.A welcome pack of wine,bread,olive oil,milk and preserves was perfect after a long journey.
The villa is on two levels with three bedrooms and bathroom on the ground floor and kitchen/lounge and shower room upstairs.
Outside there is a balcony with outdoor table and chairs and a barbeque and on the ground floor a generous pool area and an additional terrace.
The villa has a well equipped kitchen and there is a plentiful supply of towels available ,in addition all the linen was changed during our stay and the pool was cleaned.
The location of the property is breathtaking with wonderful views of Lake Kournas and the coast.We enjoyed many days out on the lake which a lovely 15 minute walk from the villa,and visits to the beach at Georgioupolis which was a 10 minute drive away.
We barbequed at the villa on a number of occasions and visited the Kavalos Taverna, which is just a minutes walk from the villa, frequently.Excellent ,simple Cretan food in a beautiful setting.
Anne and Richard who look after the property for the owner are very helpful and friendly.
We would highly recommend Villa Splendid as the perfect place to stay in Crete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing villa with a view to match.”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this villa in August. It is a most beautiful villa with an excellent pool and all the amenities you could ever wish for in a holiday rental. The villa is beautifully maintained inside and out and we had many an enjoyable evening sitting on the balcony enjoying the setting sun over the mountain that is above the lake. The view over the fresh water like is exceptional and in the 11 days we were there you could never tire of it. We swam in the lake every morning before breakfast. There are many superb local tavernas to eat in, and a visit to the local town of Georgopolis is a must to enjoy a walk along the seafront with a drink in one of the many local bars. I would highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool.
Liked least: No wifi access in the villa but it is being installed.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herecmstr...
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE VIEWS ARE TO DIE FOR - STUNNING PLACE”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived during the night so it wasn't until we awoke that we truly saw the views, opening the bedroom doors to those views was amazing, the photos look great, but the reality is so much better. Villa is huge, very spacious and Kevin & Teri were lovely hosts.
I was with my mum & aunt (all 3 of us aged 35 - 55), we got a taxi every other day into Georgopolis for trip out (also closest supermarket) (its 8€ each way, we decided this was cheaper than hiring a car for us). English is spoken by most out there so had no problems communicating, food is wonderful, so fresh & tasty. Lake Kuernos is great fun with the pedalos, tavernas & souvenier shops.
Katrinas Taverna which is literally 2 villas away is SUPERB, she cooks to order and it was some of the best food we tasted and very reasonable (around 30€ for the 3 of us to eat & drink!!)
Please remember at night once sun goes down it does cool down a fair bit, so warm clothes are a must for the evenings/nights.
Take DVD's if you want to watch tv, theres a small portable DVD player to use. Local Tv is available.
There is no Wifi in the actual villa although Katrinas up the road has it, so you just walk outside and up the road to borrow their signal.
Ensure you keep plenty of bottled water, Cretes water & electric can come and go, so just be prepared, we managed to survive fine with it all.
As ell as the view of the lakes you also have the sea view which is also amazing.
The Sweets & Desserts place in Georgopolis square is amazing, waffles, crepes and yummy cakes, ice creams and shakes is a must to visit. Cotton club down towards the beach is also a great taverna to eat at.
There is a bread van every morning, he beeps around 9am and stops just up the road, fresh bread, rolls & biscuits, perfect for your breakfast if you catch him.
Most of all...ENJOY!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving to come home!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you so much for your response and so glad you had a good time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky0137
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cant wait to go back.”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What can i say, the views are to die for, the Villa is very spacious and relaxing. We had lots of room for a family of six. Great size pool, and just a short walk down to the beautiful Lake Kournas. There is a pair of Eagles that fly over the villa now and then and there is some binoculars to doing some eagle spotting. Kids enjoyed going on the pedalos to look for the turtles. We found lots of fish, and the food is great, and very good value for money. We got a hire car and went down to giogopolli beach which is a lovely beach and the sea is so warm the kids loved it. You can get taxis to order if you fancy a night in giogopolli but we were quite content to visit yanis restaurant half way up to the villa. Anna and yani are very freindly and always welcomed us. Also the taverner up near the villa is great and the views are beautiful looking out to see with the sunset. Definitely a great holiday with great memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of this great villa.
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful. Thank you so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Having to go from the pool (wet) upstairs to the kitchen for drinks
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing