We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, owner is amazing!”
Review of Apollo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apollo
Ranked #11 of 17 Georgioupolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here a few weeks ago! This is an amazing hotel, the food was great. The rooms are clean and spacious! The hotel itself is gorgeous, especially the pool area! The owner, wow, that man is amazing and is always there to look after his guests! It was mostly Germans however all were very polite and I made friends with one women who was there to paint, she was lovely! The town itself is quiet but a lovely atmosphere. I would recommend getting a mo-ped, we hired one for 3 days at 32euros and explored the hills and villages around us, it was amazing and some breath takin scenery. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarabell1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here in August 2011 , on arrival we were a little disappointed... we were a family of 4 .15 year old 12 year old and us parents....the room was basic and not great. We were also the only English there!! HOWEVER... without being asked we were upgraded to the apartment on the hill, which was huge,clean and finished to a resonably high standard.. the staff were all lovely and the food was good. In fact, it was our most relaxing holiday ever.. so much so that we are now a family of 5! we would go back, the surrounding area was beautiful especially Kournos Lake. Which is truly a revelation, my elder son and i often walked there to chill out and snorkle.. water is crystal clear.. just a lot of men in Speedos....

Room Tip: try to get apartment rather than room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cawwwwiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

do not think you are getting all inclusive with this hotel as they are severely limited in only allowing you disgusting wine raki and beer - coffee only at breakfast and then between 4 - 5; maids told by smarmy boss only to change towels every 3 days!!
bus service to and from beach does not turn up so you have to walk you have to pay for beach sun beds air con and safes even if you are all inclusive!!!
not a good place at all

Room Tip: do not go at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlf186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

The service in this hotel is terrible,the barman is like a tramp that has been dragged in off the street.Be prepared to stand and wait for drinks even though it's not busy(unless you can speak german,the barman will ignore you).After waiting 10 minutes to be served at 22.50(last orders 11.00) everyone else was served and when out turn came it was 11.02 and was refused!!!!
The food is utter rubbish,only ate there twice for evening meal,there is enough places to eat nice food.The first restaurant you come to on the same side of the hotel towards town is the best and reasonably priced.
The rooms are ok but the maid only cleaned 3 times in a week.
The hotel all in all has potential to be nice hotel if the staff and food was better.All the staff were rude and ignorant the only redeeming feature was the receptionist that over compensated for the rest of the staff in my opinion.
I would go back to the area but definatley not back to the Apollo.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

we took this deal as a flight+ hotel, just because of the low price and the geographical location.
The experience with the hotel was not one to forget.
We arrived at night (9:30), and the (drunk and smelly) man at the reception did not even allow us to see the room, but "invited" us to leave our bags in the corridor and have dinner. This was just because they were in a rush to close down the "kitchen". The hotel is populated mainly by germans who have dinner no later than 7, whereas in crete people east starting at 9 or later.
The food was awful. Some liver sauce that was simply disgusting and other food that did not taste fresh nor good. Terrible. Walking out you have wonderful greek food at incredibly low prices, so we had no reason to give the crappy buffet another chance.
Breakfast was also terrible, with hard cakes and watered down juices. Adding to that the unfriendliness of most of the staff, especially a guy at the restaurant from whom we could never manage to get out a word, only bad stares.
Just the cleaning lady and a receptionist were nice. The rest of the make staff was always drunk and somehow smelly, also they spoke only a little bit oid german and no english.
On the few bright sides, the room was clean, although the bed was not very comfortable.
The hotel in a small village seemingly built around german tourism. Despite this, you can still find wonderful food that, although the place is a little sad.
The good thing is that you are on a big road and you can easily take your car and reach many nice places, starting from the close georgioupolis, and other beautiful towns within one hour or so.
our week in greece was wonderful, but not thanks to hotel apollo. we'll go back, but not in this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isiltarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

booked this hotel through 'Bookable Holidays' and when we arrived they had no record of our booking. Apparently emails do not get through to this hotel. we had to find somewhere else to stay. Turned out for the best in the end as the Apollo all inclusive deal was not up to much: no vodka, no ouzo, no whisky. Ice creams were restricted to one hour per day. Hotel is not as close to the beach as they say and you have to cross a major road to get to it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcdbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind alle neu eingerichtet und haben auch alle einen Balkon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rrkuenstleragentur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
2.3 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kournas
19 reviews
27.6 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#5 of 12 in Kolymbari
756 reviews
44.1 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
416 reviews
60.6 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo

Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Georgioupolis
Price Range: $48 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Georgioupolis
Apollo Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing