We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Athena Hotel(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Romantica(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$65
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vantaris Palace(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vantaris Beach(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilot Beach Resort(Georgioupolis)
$194
$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orpheas Resort(Georgioupolis)(Great Value!)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anna's House(Georgioupolis)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
38
47
33
22
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
47
33
22
31
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 171 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June and i can say we were pleasently surprised! The staff at the hotel were amazing and so friendly. The hotel has recently been taken over by new management and the old reviews must relate to the old hotel as this hotel was great value for money.The room was cleaned everyday (except on a Sunday) and our towels were changed every other day. The food was OK but if you choose to eat out, there is plenty of choice and it is quite cheap too!.(Definetly reccommend the gyros pita). Breakfast was mainly cheese, hams, fruit, cererals and eggs with tea or coffee avaliable. Lunch included feta cheese, salad and traditional greek foods. Dinner was varied every night with chicken, burgers, spag bol and greek cusine aswell. The hotel was right on the beach front which was amazing as it is only a 2 minute walk from the rooms.The main bar towards to beach provides good entertainment and the two bar staff were amazing!! There is lot to do around the hotel- with regular buses to Georgiouspolis and Rethaymon for a reasonable price. You can also walk to Georgiouspolis along the beach front which takes approx 35 mins. There are also trips and excursions avaliable just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justin1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Having read some reviews we were very pleasantly surprised! i would question if the people writing the very negative reviews have actually stayed at this hotel as our experience is at such varience with their apparent visit!
The staff are very helpful, Nicos the bar steward is good at keeping the drinks ( and fun) flowing, the room was more than adequate and the food whilst being basic was good ( especially the feta)
If you are looking for chips with every meal then this is not the place for you. But if you make a small effort getting to know the staff the rewards are great ( we were invited to a member of staff's mothers house for a meal) Geogeopolis is a 10 min bus ride at 2.6 euros
Would reccomend!

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nickMiltonKeynesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My partner and I wanted to get away for a 'cheap' relaxing all inclusive deal; we decided to book to a week to Crete in the Hotel Sandy Beach. Please note that the hotel was once called Akti Manos, this is no longer and the hotel has been took over by new management a while ago and it seems some of the reviews maybe based on the 'old' hotel. I understand the management are in the process of getting the name changed. We paid £495 for both of us for 7 nights all inclusive with flights and transfers. Bargain!

The Hotel itself is approx 4km from the village of Georgiopolis and approx 40km from Chania airport. Our transfer cost £68 for the 2 of us there and back which was booked with Travel Republic, which was included in the p[rice of £495. I believe if a taxi was used for a transfer it would cost approx 140 euro.

Hotel Sandy Beach is included in a row of hotels on the beach front with many Taverna and shops etc situated across the road. Please try the Gyros Pitta/Kebab for around 2 euro these are delicious. My partner had breakfast out one morning and had fried eggs, bacon and chips for 2.50 euro, the food is good and cheap. There are many trips and car hire facilities also situated across the road. There is also a bus stop outside which you can hop on and travel to nearby villages. In otherwords there is plenty to do. The strip is not commercialised and keeps its traditional feel. So please do not expect what you would expect in other built up tourist parts of Crete.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, full of nature and flowers. Please view my photos.

The rooms are basic and consist of a balcony, wardrobe, safe, fridge, bedroom with bed, dressing table, mirror, TV (1 English speaking channel), air conditioning, bathroom with bath and shower. Although the temperature was around 28-30 degrees we did not need to use the air conditioning. This was an extra payable at 6 Euros a day. The fridge and safe were also an extra and were also around 6 Euros a day again we did not need these. A double bed was requested but not fulfilled. The maid placed the bed together and made the bed with sheets laid over; we had no problem with this as it was no different to a double in the end.
Prior to booking a request was made to the hotel for a refurbished room as part of the hotel has not yet been updated, the request was fulfilled. The rooms were cleaned everyday but Sunday. The bedding/sheets were cleaned every 2 days and fresh towels every day. The maid did an excellent job so we were more than happy to provide a tip at the end of the week.

The restaurant was clean and small but with plenty of seating. Breakfast was the same each day consisting of cereal, ham, cheese, bread, boiled eggs and one hot such as scrambled egg. Coffee and Teas were also available with whatever drink you would require from the restaurant bar. Lunch was salad, and a variety of Greek dishes and continental dishes which was different every day we were there. Dinner was also a variety which changed every day. We very much enjoyed the food, but please note you will not find chips on the menu or any typical English food. It wasn’t a rule as such in the restaurant but everyone cleared their own plates from the table which wasn’t a problem at all, with the price you pay I wouldn’t expected a 5* waiter service.

The bar is situated on the beach front with fantastic and beautiful views. The all inclusive allows you to drink the local larger, beer, ouzo and reki, water, cola and lemon etc. More was probably included but we didn’t drink much else. The cocktails were payable but all inclusive guests received a discount of up to 50%. I had a frozen strawberry daiquiri which was to die for at 2.50 euro. I have paid up to 7 euro for this drink before. The barman Nikos is the best bar man in Greece! You can sit on the terrace outside the bar and watch the sunset/soak up the sun it’s up to you. The bar holds parties on a Wednesday and Saturday with a DJ. These are great nights.

There is a child’s pool and adult pool which are a good size, there are approx 8 sun beds around the pool which we managed to get every day, in high season I’m not sure if this would be as easy.

The beach is accessible through the bar or by walking around the bar. The beach is mostly sandy with a few pebbles and the sea is clear and warm. You can walk on the beach all way to Georgiopolis and can find various activities along the way. There are plenty of beds on the beach with parasols; these are charged at 2.50 Euros a day so 5 euro for 2 beds. But for example in Portugal the beds on the beach were charged at 12 euro for two!!! For those who do not want to pay the charge can simply lay on the sand on a towel/lilo this is not a problem.

The surrounding hotels do have parties and this is to be expected. This only happened to us once that week and the music was turned down the later it got. If you do not want to perhaps listen to the hotels music on party nights then it maybe better you request a room away from the pool/bar area.

Greece is known for mosquito’s so I would recommend that you pack some repellent or plug-ins etc. However if you do not there is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away which stocks all of these.

The guests were mainly German and Russians most of which we made great friends with. They just wanted to have a good time too. The hotel welcomes more English guests.

The staff at the hotel are some of the friendliest and helpful staff we have met whilst on holiday. Pedros who works the reception etc is an asset to the hotel, he was helpful, informative and made us laugh. Thank you too Ade, Nikos, Pedros, Dimitri and Stavros you made out holiday so enjoyable that we will be back.

If anyone has any questions I can always try and answer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lou_C_Lou43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Booked with purple holidays, which i would not adivse, as we didnt book to stay in this hotel. we had booked to stay in Golden Sun which was an hours drive away in a completely different resort. when we get to the airport to get our transfers, we are told Golden Sun is fully booked, nothing can be done about it, but they have the 'sister hotel' just "down the road" from Golden Sun, which was Akti Manos.

When we arrived at Akti Manos we were taken to a room that was the size of a shoe box, and had the most stomach turning stench of human excrement and feces. There was no air conditioning (not even a fan in the room), which we had in fact asked for when we booked at the Golden Sun. The shower when turned on, had brown water running from it which ran cold. we complained straight away, and we were taken to another part of the hotel which did infact have air con and warm running clear water.
However...
there was still a faint smell of human waste. When I used the shower in the second room, there was a drain in the centre of the bathroom, that when you shower, soap and water erupt out of. leaving the bathroom flooded.
The air conditioning that we were now receieving in this room, had a tube running to our balcony and when we had our air con on, water came out of this tube and flooded the balcony. we told the staff and their way of 'fixing' this issue, was to put the end of the tube into a plastic bottle and let it fill up.
the hotel was unclean and the towels and sheets were meant to be changed every 3 days and were not! To top things off there were ants all over the room!
the worst part of this trip was the FOOD. it was UNEDIBLE.
i wouldnt have fed my dog the food that they served up at meal times. the breakfast everyday was bread, cereal or fruit that looked like it had been there for days. the lunch time was always salad. and the dinner time was the worst. the meat they dished up was supposedly 'chicken'. it was grey and looked like slop, i even had to ask what meat it was. i had spaghetti bolognase once, and i was sick all night.
As the food was so bad, we wanted to eat out. Only problem was, our location. there were NO bars or decent restaurants within walking distance. we booked to stay in the heart of the rethymno where there were nice bars etc to go to at night. ·Taxi to rethymno where we were meant to be staying was 25 euros there, 25 euros back. the nearest town Georgioupoli was a 20-25 min taxi drive away. the town itself was mainly German speaking. all the menus, road signs etc were all in German.
the only good thing about this trip was the weather, and even then to enjoy it you had to pay 7 euros each for a sunbed.
Worst hotel i have ever experienced, worst holiday i have ever had. Do not waste your time or money. I had heard so many good things about Crete, but i have been put off for life after this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachhotelcrete, Manager at Sandy Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Hotel is operating as Sandy Beach under new management since November 2010. How is possible to review in 2012 your stay in AKTI MANOS during August 2011? Especially when you say that you were brought to Sandy Beach from another "sister hotel" Golden Sun? We have no sister hotels. Probably you are mistaking our hotel to another one. Our rooms were renovated in winter 2010 and have nothing to do with your description as they are all equiped with A/C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

we had a realy nice relaxing holiday,and CHEAP,this place,have a nice pool,very good location....and lots of more

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Medo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews