We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend it to my worst ENEMY. holiday from HELL.”
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it to my worst ENEMY. holiday from HELL.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Booked with purple holidays, which i would not adivse, as we didnt book to stay in this hotel. we had booked to stay in Golden Sun which was an hours drive away in a completely different resort. when we get to the airport to get our transfers, we are told Golden Sun is fully booked, nothing can be done about it, but they have the 'sister hotel' just "down the road" from Golden Sun, which was Akti Manos.

When we arrived at Akti Manos we were taken to a room that was the size of a shoe box, and had the most stomach turning stench of human excrement and feces. There was no air conditioning (not even a fan in the room), which we had in fact asked for when we booked at the Golden Sun. The shower when turned on, had brown water running from it which ran cold. we complained straight away, and we were taken to another part of the hotel which did infact have air con and warm running clear water.
However...
there was still a faint smell of human waste. When I used the shower in the second room, there was a drain in the centre of the bathroom, that when you shower, soap and water erupt out of. leaving the bathroom flooded.
The air conditioning that we were now receieving in this room, had a tube running to our balcony and when we had our air con on, water came out of this tube and flooded the balcony. we told the staff and their way of 'fixing' this issue, was to put the end of the tube into a plastic bottle and let it fill up.
the hotel was unclean and the towels and sheets were meant to be changed every 3 days and were not! To top things off there were ants all over the room!
the worst part of this trip was the FOOD. it was UNEDIBLE.
i wouldnt have fed my dog the food that they served up at meal times. the breakfast everyday was bread, cereal or fruit that looked like it had been there for days. the lunch time was always salad. and the dinner time was the worst. the meat they dished up was supposedly 'chicken'. it was grey and looked like slop, i even had to ask what meat it was. i had spaghetti bolognase once, and i was sick all night.
As the food was so bad, we wanted to eat out. Only problem was, our location. there were NO bars or decent restaurants within walking distance. we booked to stay in the heart of the rethymno where there were nice bars etc to go to at night. ·Taxi to rethymno where we were meant to be staying was 25 euros there, 25 euros back. the nearest town Georgioupoli was a 20-25 min taxi drive away. the town itself was mainly German speaking. all the menus, road signs etc were all in German.
the only good thing about this trip was the weather, and even then to enjoy it you had to pay 7 euros each for a sunbed.
Worst hotel i have ever experienced, worst holiday i have ever had. Do not waste your time or money. I had heard so many good things about Crete, but i have been put off for life after this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachhotelcrete, Manager at Sandy Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hotel is operating as Sandy Beach under new management since November 2010. How is possible to review in 2012 your stay in AKTI MANOS during August 2011? Especially when you say that you were brought to Sandy Beach from another "sister hotel" Golden Sun? We have no sister hotels. Probably you are mistaking our hotel to another one. Our rooms were renovated in winter 2010 and have nothing to do with your description as they are all equiped with A/C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    30
    21
    25
See reviews for
36
83
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

we had a realy nice relaxing holiday,and CHEAP,this place,have a nice pool,very good location....and lots of more

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Akti Manos.... Its that greek for Faulty Towers?

Arrived, AC Broken, Room under main generator. Took 7 hrs to move us then to a room like looked like a badly dressed 70s porn set, with no air con

Food Mainly Disgusting, continental buffet, never any coffee and the staff have no idea of what tea is... Hotel is Situated on the beach, you have to pay 7 euros per per per day for the lounger..... Those expecting to be in Georgioupolis, be in for a shock its a twenty minute drive away...

Staff Hopeless and useless, All Inc as we were didnt include tea or coffee, until after 5pm ( different for german tourists )., Bar next soor very noisy, late night music thumping way until 3am most morning, guests from neighbourhood hotel complained over the noise... Night porter about as much use as wet toilet role........ Receptionist only chooses to speak english when your not complaining...

Save your money, and pay extra to stay at one of the nicer hotels down the rd...

This hotel and its staff should be levelled to the ground and start again..........

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EN1GMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgioupolis hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We enjoyed the food and were pleased to be offered some on our arrival in the early hours.As we were all inclusive, we found the drink to be plentiful. The staff were friendly and worked well as a team,The rooms were cool and sufficient although our room was near the pool, by choice. it could be noisy at times but that s to be expected.Unfortunately, the next door hotel held late beach parties with loud party music until 4am twice weekly.Some ear plugs did the trick.Cheers to the beach bar staff for a great birthday party and to the ever patient receptionists. A terrific holiday.Thanks to Dimitris, Nicos ,Sofia,Antigoni, Lefteris, Riannis and Jeta. We ll be back/ Rob and Linda Newton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive and, as it was a cheap deal we expected the worse. To be honest everything was fine, drinks ok and the chef was doing his best to get a good buffet on a very tight budget I suppose. The barman in the evening really knows his cocktails and all inclusive guests get 50% discount so 2.5 euro/cocktail. Nice tropical gardens, beach bar, and the beach was nice enough. A good location from where to explore central and western Crete, many restaurants,bars, shops around .Also they provide lunch baskets, late dinners, early breakfast. Majority of guests are german speakers, we were the only ones from UK( probably because of the distance from the airport). Nice pool with fresh water.On the downside you have to pay 5 euros/day for 2 sunloungers and an umbrella( things that you expect to be included).
As a suggestion: fresh fruits for breakfast, fresh orange juice for breakfast( as there are oranges everywhere you'd expect fresh juice)-the juices provided are awfull, maybe 2 hot items for bfast every day- like fried eggs and bacon, next day sausages and scrambled eggs, etc, improve the desserts for dinner and also provide desserts for lunch as well.
Rooms: although advertised like 3 stars its actually of a 2 star standard. Rooms are ok but bathrooms need improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigru8haiduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Engalnd
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

the akti manos is now called the Sandy Beach. We were the first guests of the 2011 season and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms have had a makeover including LED TVs, athough the bathrooms could do with a refresh.
The food was fine and the AI drinks were OK as long as you accept that Ouzo is the only spirit available. The staff were very pleasant and keen to show us how they have improved the hotel.
The room had a very pleasant patio and the gardens were a delight.
The hotel is quite a way from the centre of Georgioupolis and unless you have a car you will have to use local buses although they are very modern and not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bargain_breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The all inclusive was terrible. Same food everyday and they were super stingy on the drinks. The bar tender Georges got his [--] and giggs out of picking and choosing who he'd give drinks to- how much booze would go into them- and how often or speedy his service to you would be. For example, if you were a hot lil lady, you could get pretty drunk quickly. If you were male looking for a beer- fat chance.
They also play a game where they say they are full and put you upstairs in these steamer rooms where you can rest your chin on the sink while you're on the toilet... but there are beautiful (if you ask for a fan and a mosquito net) bungalows available near the beach.
Also- don't pay their little 5$chair rental scam--walk down the beach and buy a huge mythos cheap and use their beds for free- (go right once you hit the beach)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888charlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#26 of 47 in Georgioupolis
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#21 of 47 in Georgioupolis
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#25 of 47 in Georgioupolis
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel
Georgioupolis Resort Hotel
#18 of 47 in Georgioupolis
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Despo
Despo
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Property: Sandy Beach Hotel
Address: Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece (Formerly Akti Manos Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct on a wide, bright sandy beach. A small middle-class resort which consists of the main building and small quiet bungalow-like buildings with the rooms which lay out in an exotic garden. You will be staying in friendly double rooms with A/C, sat-TV, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Manos Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Akti Manos Beach Georgioupolis
Sandy Beach Hotel Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing