We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just back after a great holiday here in Sandy Beach hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just back after a great holiday here in Sandy Beach hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We enjoyed the food and were pleased to be offered some on our arrival in the early hours.As we were all inclusive, we found the drink to be plentiful. The staff were friendly and worked well as a team,The rooms were cool and sufficient although our room was near the pool, by choice. it could be noisy at times but that s to be expected.Unfortunately, the next door hotel held late beach parties with loud party music until 4am twice weekly.Some ear plugs did the trick.Cheers to the beach bar staff for a great birthday party and to the ever patient receptionists. A terrific holiday.Thanks to Dimitris, Nicos ,Sofia,Antigoni, Lefteris, Riannis and Jeta. We ll be back/ Rob and Linda Newton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    27
    18
    23
See reviews for
31
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive and, as it was a cheap deal we expected the worse. To be honest everything was fine, drinks ok and the chef was doing his best to get a good buffet on a very tight budget I suppose. The barman in the evening really knows his cocktails and all inclusive guests get 50% discount so 2.5 euro/cocktail. Nice tropical gardens, beach bar, and the beach was nice enough. A good location from where to explore central and western Crete, many restaurants,bars, shops around .Also they provide lunch baskets, late dinners, early breakfast. Majority of guests are german speakers, we were the only ones from UK( probably because of the distance from the airport). Nice pool with fresh water.On the downside you have to pay 5 euros/day for 2 sunloungers and an umbrella( things that you expect to be included).
As a suggestion: fresh fruits for breakfast, fresh orange juice for breakfast( as there are oranges everywhere you'd expect fresh juice)-the juices provided are awfull, maybe 2 hot items for bfast every day- like fried eggs and bacon, next day sausages and scrambled eggs, etc, improve the desserts for dinner and also provide desserts for lunch as well.
Rooms: although advertised like 3 stars its actually of a 2 star standard. Rooms are ok but bathrooms need improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigru8haiduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Engalnd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

the akti manos is now called the Sandy Beach. We were the first guests of the 2011 season and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms have had a makeover including LED TVs, athough the bathrooms could do with a refresh.
The food was fine and the AI drinks were OK as long as you accept that Ouzo is the only spirit available. The staff were very pleasant and keen to show us how they have improved the hotel.
The room had a very pleasant patio and the gardens were a delight.
The hotel is quite a way from the centre of Georgioupolis and unless you have a car you will have to use local buses although they are very modern and not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bargain_breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

The all inclusive was terrible. Same food everyday and they were super stingy on the drinks. The bar tender Georges got his [--] and giggs out of picking and choosing who he'd give drinks to- how much booze would go into them- and how often or speedy his service to you would be. For example, if you were a hot lil lady, you could get pretty drunk quickly. If you were male looking for a beer- fat chance.
They also play a game where they say they are full and put you upstairs in these steamer rooms where you can rest your chin on the sink while you're on the toilet... but there are beautiful (if you ask for a fan and a mosquito net) bungalows available near the beach.
Also- don't pay their little 5$chair rental scam--walk down the beach and buy a huge mythos cheap and use their beds for free- (go right once you hit the beach)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888charlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

this hotel will charge you for the things that are normally in the all inclusive deal.the only drinks included are lager brandy wine ouzo or soft drinks.the food is very basic with limited choice and often recycled from the last meal .coffee is only available at breakfast or between 5&6pm in the pool bar .no drink of any kind between the end of breakfast at 9.00am and the start of the all inclusive at11.00am .sunbeds are extra on the beach run by the hotel 5.00 euros a day for 2 beds this is collected by the hotel staff we were there 10 days so thats an extra 50 euros to pay .towels and sheets are not changed often enough the rooms are not cleaned every day you are also expected to clear your own tables at meal times.the beds are the most uncomfortable that we have ever slept on. apart from this the hotel is in a great location right on the beach .the gardens are small but well looked after .this is a hotel that i will not stay at again but dont let this put you off crete it is great place . take mosquito repellant there are plenty ofthem and they are hungry

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Akti Manos Hotel, Crete. Firstly can I say that the location of this hotel is beautiful, right on a lovely wide sandy beach, with beautiful grounds in a small village called Kavros, only a few miles down the road from Georgioupolis.

We arrived at the hotel at 0445 hours on Wednesday having flown into Heraklion, and had a 2.5 hour transfer in a minibus, so were very tired. We only booked our holiday 12 days before we travelled, and paid less than £300 for flights, hotel and transfers, so were not expecting luxury, but it was an 'all inclusive' deal. As it turned out, not as inclusive as we had expected.

On check in we were tagged with white hospital-style bracelets for the all inclusive and later saw that the Germans had blue ones, indicating they had 'ultra all inclusive'. "Ultra" gave them brandy and coffee throughout the day!

We had requested an upstairs room, with sea view if possible, and were shown to room 112 in the main building. It was very small, with a tiny shower room which had a sliding door, with no handle on either side, so you could either not close the door, or close it and not get out!
There was a loud continuous droning sound from above which I assume was a generator or similar. We only slept due to exhaustion from the night flight as it was too loud! The room had a metal shutter, but the balcony door would not close properly. The room was very basic, with a gap where a tv was and another gap where the fridge used to be. These were included in each room according to the hotel website. We managed to sleep for a couple of hours and then went for breakfast, and asked to move rooms. After being shown a double room (204), that we didnt want, we were offered 412, further down towards the beach. This had a small fridge, full size bathroom, and TV on the wall, and was much larger, so we swapped rooms. On chatting with other guests, we discovered that every room has completely different contents and facilities. It appears to be pot luck! Despite the web site information, there seemed to be no standard facilities.
We chose not to have the aircon at 6 euros per night, but did have the safe at 1.5 euros per night.

The food at the hotel was terrible. Definately not of an "all inclusive" standard. There was no variety, and most meals catered mainly for the German guests.
Breakfast was probably the best meal, with lovely fresh bread, jams, honey, cereals and greek yogurt. Sometimes there was omelette, hard boiled eggs and/or sausages. But it was mainly cold meat and cheeses for the Germans.
Lunch and dinner were very repetitive, and as I don't eat red meat, was very restricted. It tended to be plenty of salad, rice, bread (but no butter- only at breakfast!), pasta with 2 unidentifiable pasta sauces and then 2 meat or sometimes fish dishes. Sometimes it was clear what these were, but it became a game of "Guess what this might be" at most meals. Some of the food was completely unidentifiable.
We found out very early on what little was included in the all inclusive deal. The only alcohol available to us was draught lager, house red or white wine by the glass, and Ouzo. No spirits, these were all at extra cost. There was "cola", orange and lemon fizzy drinks by the glass (soda stream variety) and juices at breakfast. Coffee/tea at breakfast and I believe in the pool bar at 5pm, though I didn't go to find out.
But the only milk available in the hotel was whole fat milk, which I detest, so ruled out tea/coffee and cereal!

We took enough money with us planning to eat out 2 or 3 times, but ended up eating out for 5 nights, making this hotel more half board than all inclusive. We ended up spending all our money on meals out..! Luckily the house wine was drinkable or we would have been desperate.

The hotel pool was the size of an ornamental pond and had 10 sunbeds around it. I think 6 of these were in constant shade and as there was so little space around the edge of the pool, they could not be repositioned. Useless! But the hotel has a small section of beach outside the pool bar, with sun loungers and umbrellas. Most guests had no choice but to go to the beach due to the tiny pool. But then we were charged 5 euro per day to use the beach loungers, collected by hotel staff, charging their own guests to sit on their own bit of beach!! Unreal. We only paid once, and decided to stretch our 'bands of shame' and remove them, and use the hotel pool next door and buy an icecream there each afternoon. They were okay about this and we felt that we wanted to avoid paying the Akti Manos more money than we had to.
The Taverna on the beach is no more! - presumably not making enough money..? All that is there is the Pool bar, which is a great setting to sit and watch the waves breaking in the beach with a glass of wine. (Unless you drink Ouzo!)

On our last night, we were not leaving the hotel until 1030pm. We opted to pay the additional 25 euro to keep our room on. However we were told that our 'bands of shame' would be cut off, and we would not be allowed lunch, dinner or drinks on our final day! Bearing in mind we had payed for 7 nights and the accompanying all inclusive, as we had arrived in the early hours at the end of our "first" night, we had assumed the all inclusive would remain till we left. Oh no. On pointing this out, we did get lunch, and when we asked for lager, we also got it, but we were not offered dinner. As we did not want to spoil our last night with dinner there, we didn't argue and we ate out.

We booked for 7 nights, but due to the night flight, missed out on 2 meals at the hotel. We chose to eat out on our last night, but those that didn't, had no choice and were told that no meal was available to them. I feel that if you pay to keep your room on, as we did, we should also be able to keep the all inclusive facilities. Everything at the hotel seemed to be done on the cheap, and any opportunity to charge you extra was quickly seized upon.

I can recommend the Pizzeria at the end of the strip of tavernas (by the petrol station) for great tasty pizzas. We also had a superb meal at the Poseidon fish restaurant in Georgioupolis.

Overall we did have a good holiday, and loved the location but feel that the hotel was a let down. There were a lot of hidden costs, and it would have been worth paying abit extra for a better hotel, as it actually cost us about £120 each extra to eat out.

Still, a beautiful location on a lovely island!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Georgioupolis hotels

North West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Shall try and give a balanced review of this hotel. Anyone who has read any of my other reviews on Greek hotels will know that I defend the facilities and accommodation standards being reasonably well aware as to what is 'traditional greek'. However, this is the first time that I have been disappointed!

Arrived early doors to a very friendly arrival from reception. Room one was awful, right under the hotel generator with broken shutter (no curtain) and broken pane of glass but was moved at midday. This room was old, small and basic and resembled a sauna (wooden panelling), with no air conditioning or fridge as per hotel write up and the tv didnt work (not that that bothered us). We did however have a fan where the lead would just reach the socket in the ceiling leaving one other socket for everything else we had with. I am sure that the write up advised a hairdryer was available also but there wasn't one. The bed has had the hardest mattress I have ever known and I prefer firm mattresses. Between that and the racket each night sleep was not something I managed to enjoy much of whilst in Crete! I was pleased that I was aware of the sunbed charges on the beach and the drinks which you couldnt access at the beach bar prior to arrival, however, was surprised to discover that coffee was not included in the AI other than at meal times?! The wine wasn't great, the coffee when available tended to be weak and we weren't struck with the food. Breakfast was the best catered for with either omlette or hard boiled eggs, selection of meet and cheese with fresh bread and delicious home made jam. The cereal was soggy so didnt go there after the first experience. Lunch and dinner were very mixed experiences with some food being delightful and other dishes plain awful - reheated from prior serving on several occasions, mousaka too greasy etc and quickly we decided that rather than see whether it was good that evening or not, would eat out. There was no entertainment in an evening bar one bikini party and the bars were very quiet so we tended to go out into the resort again in an evening. There appeared to be very little socialising amongst the guests and the bar staff whilst pleasant enough did not encourage much banter.

All in all for an all inclusive it turned out to be very disappointing and not worth the extra paid over and above half board or even self catering. It was very hot without the air con which we had specifically requested and so the window was open at night which only meant that the battle of the local up and coming wannabe DJ's at nearby hotels could be heard until 5am in a morning! I was also extremely disappointed that on check out the wrist bands were removed. I have never been to an all inclusive before where you havent been able to 'enjoy' the facilities until you actually left. Given that we arrived at 7am on the Saturday and checked out of the room at 12 noon on the Friday, we felt short changed again and this really summed up our impression of the hotel, its facilities and the food. Everything was done on the cheap and where they thought they could get away with charging extra they did. I appreciate that it is a business but when this approach is so blatant it does not come across as being customer orientated. Apparently it is part owned by the owners of the hotel next door so it would be interesting to know what their policies were and what their food was like! However, the staff smiled, were friendly and obviously were just implementing the owners policies which couldnt have made their job any easier although they largely did it well and with cheery spirit.

It is in a great location with a great beach and nearby facilities. The local bars and restaurants are worth a visit. Olympus did fantastic cocktails (check out the greek american) and always made you feel special as did the cocktail bar next to the hotel with the Aussie Greek. We had a super meal in Rethymnon for 22 Euros and Georgiopolis (which is where we thought we were staying - again from the hotel write up) is also worth a visit esp at only 3 Euros return on the "Happy Train". Car hire was quite cheap but be aware that the price of unleaded is very expensive in comparison to the UK but did allow us to explore more of this beautiful island. Oh, and for the reviewer who did not find the wireless internet, it did come up on a search for WIFI on my phone but I didnt ask for the access codes. Again, the bar next to the hotel has free WIFI as does several of the cafe's in the resort. One in particular with the white directors chairs is good, access codes given out freely and you get home made cake free with their coffee, both of which I hasten to add was excellent as was the service!!!

All in all we had a good holiday but this was not due to the hotel and if you are considering staying there, also consider the additional costs which you might incur against the price of staying somewhere else in this resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxineCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgioupolis
0.0 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#22 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Despo Hotel
Despo Hotel
#15 of 38 in Kato Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pantheon Hotel
Pantheon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vardis Olive Garden
Vardis Olive Garden
#14 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#29 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Property: Sandy Beach Hotel
Address: Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece (Formerly Akti Manos Beach)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct on a wide, bright sandy beach. A small middle-class resort which consists of the main building and small quiet bungalow-like buildings with the rooms which lay out in an exotic garden. You will be staying in friendly double rooms with A/C, sat-TV, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Manos Beach Hotel Georgioupolis
Akti Manos Beach Georgioupolis
Sandy Beach Hotel Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing