We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lucky to have found this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vardis Olive Garden
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived early evening after an adrenalin pumping drive from Fragokastelo across the mountain road - brilliant! We did have a little difficulty finding the hotel but once there received a very warm welcome. Our room was huge and very comfortable. We had a relaxing swim in the pool (only 2 other people in it) and then to the bar for some great cocktails recommended by the barman who was quite a character! A nice dinner and wine to end a great day.

Breakfast was wide ranging and reflected the tastes of the Dutch & German guests there. We asked about local points of interest and we told we MUST walk out into the sea to the Chapel of Saint Nicholas (which we did - well worth visiting but wear non-slip shoes and no socks as a perfectly calm sea can suddenly send in a wave to, momentarily, cover the causeway). Reluctantly, we had to leave for Rethimnou but, on settling the bill, were presented with a small bottle of olive oil pressed from the trees surrounding the hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Okay, this hotel is ideal if you don't want to fight for sunbeds, taste horrible food and put up with loads of screaming kids.
We stayed last week and had a wonderful time, yes 95% of the guests were German, but that wasn't a problem they were all very nice people, and the few children there were very well behaved. The food is excellent, although the Lunchtime menu is quite limited, however after a hearty breakfast and a superb evening meal this didn't reall cause any problems. The main shops, bars etc are a good mile away so if you wish to leave the hotel car hire is advisable.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and this is a shining example of ahopw a hotel should be run. More suited to the over 40's without children as there is little to do apart from rest, eat and drink.

Worth every penny.

Room Tip: We asked for a Pool View and had a lovely room right over the pool. A/C is 7 euros a night or 42 eu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at Hotel Vardis Olive Garden in Asproulianos, near Georgioupolis. Highly recommended! We had a great time: the rooms, the service, the swimmingpool and the restaurant with local ,homemade food are super and so is the hospitality: thank you Sophia. We strongly advise to rent a car during your stay to do some splendid trips sites and to reach the better beaches. Pelekanos Beach along the main road, just 3 km. to the east of the hotel is perfect, tranquil and easy going: thank you Janos and Vaso.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmsterdamPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a week at this hotel very recently. It's a little off the beaten track set in the middle of an olive grove with a mountain range close by. It's lovely and peaceful and very attractive - our room opened onto the olive grove and the view was lovely; it also smells divine. The place is just the right size and very well run. It's spotlessly clean and very comfortable with one exception which is the PILLOWS - they were terrible (to an English visitor!) being small and hard and very uncomfortable. Also, it would have been great to have a mosquito screen across the door to the terrace so that the insects were kept out at night - I got bitten to death, but that always happens to me. The pool are is lovely, with two good pools - one for adults, one for children. The restaurant is on a terrace with lovely views of the mountain range - having breakfast and dinner there was just fabulous. There's a terrace bar and a small shop for basics (all the rooms have a fridge and small kitchenette area although we could never make a cup of tea as we couldn't get the water to boil!). All the staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities are very good. It's a short walk into the nearest village and about a kilometre to the beach which was beautiful - very long and sandy and safe with some busy 'family' areas and other much quieter parts. We didn't have a car and didn't find we really needed one as we walked everywhere and on the day we went to Chania we got the bus which was pretty easy. I would thoroughly recommend this place and would definitely go back. A nice little touch was that we were each given a bottle of olive oil made from the olives of the estate.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor overlooking the olive grove, so away from the pool and bar area which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittykatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Our room was large, with a bath, a fridge and prefectly lokated. and clean. In the two weeks we were there,they changed the sheets and towels 4 times.

The restaurant for the breakfast and the dinner is lokated near the pool with a vieuw to the mountains. At the bar there's free WIFI and there's a very relaxed atmosphere. Prices and quality are ok for drinks and food.

I recommend a car or at least a bicycle, otherwise you have to walk about 2 km to the beach. The island has enough possibilities to discover, for that you'll need a car.

All the people who are working at this hotel are friendly and helpfull.

So when you're looking for a quiet hotel, friendly people, clean rooms, clean surroundings and small prices, this is the hotel to be!

Room Tip: Large, clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rayka_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed at The Vardis Olive Garden with my wife and our kids Fei & Apostolos . It was the most amazing tow weeks of my life. On arrival we were welcomed with such warmth and friendliness that lasted all through our stay. The rooms are lovely, clean and well furnishedand .The pool is very good for the kinds . The staff are amazing and couldn't be more helpful. The manager, was always around checking on guests and making sure that everyone was happy and having a great holiday.If there is something I'd really recommend it's the restaurant which offers the breakfast and dinner . The food is just delicious and the atmosphere really coolI .Ido recommend this hotel without a doubt to anyone.
All really good. Nothing to say.
I will definately be back again for a family holiday as soon as I get a chance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitrisKotrotsios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Kind and helpful staff. Nice restaurant with delicious food. Quiet, clean room, with a balcony, and a view to the garden. Nice, relaxing pool. As to the location, this is a perfect one, with a view to the mountains. I strongly recommend Vardis Olive Garden hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_bavetsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
2.5 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
119 reviews
2 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#7 of 47 in Georgioupolis
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows
Happy Days Hotel and Bungalows
#20 of 47 in Georgioupolis
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vantaris Beach
Vantaris Beach
#17 of 47 in Georgioupolis
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#22 of 47 in Georgioupolis
35 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
#5 of 47 in Georgioupolis
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vardis Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vardis Olive Garden

Address: Asproulianos, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 730 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range: $48 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vardis Olive Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within an organic olive garden of 22000 square meters, offers its guests great moments of peace and nature. Its privileged location between the historic cities of Rethymno (17km) and Chania (43km, international airport), allows visitors to explore the island. Enjoy the longest sandy beach of Crete (1km) and relax by the unique ecosystem of Kournas lake (4km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vardis Olive Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardis Hotel Georgioupolis
Vardis Olive Garden Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing