We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in a wonderful low key resort”
Review of Zorbas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zorbas Apartments
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location in a wonderful low key resort”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at the zorbas after booking last minute and were pleasantly surprised by the large apartment and balcony. As a family of four there was ample room and although basic it more than made up for it with it's central location close to the beach, town square and tavernas.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We made a last minute decision to go to Crete for a week when we found out that two of us could get flights and accommodation for around £200 each. I'd been before and decided that Georgioupoli would be the ideal location: close to the beach; well situated for visiting Chania and Rethymno; and not overrun with tourists. Originally we had chosen some different apartments but I had doubts after reading some of the reviews; instead, we opted for Zorbas Apartments and we're really pleased that we made the switch, even though it cost a little more.

Our studio apartment was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the small road at the front of the building where we were also able to park our hire car. The apartment had very comfortable twin beds, a small kitchen area with a fridge and cooking facilities, and a bathroom with a bath/shower. It was very clean and just what we needed for the week. The room was equipped with a small television and air conditioning (which was free, even though the leaflet in the room stated 6€ per night), and a small safe for which we were charged 2€ per night. There was a small balcony overlooking the road but we could also see the sea, which was about 200m away. There was a patio table and two chairs on the balcony, along with a clothes dryer, which was very useful for drying swimwear and towels. The room had a hairdryer, which we didn't use because we'd taken our own; there was also a communal pool for the apartments but we didn't use that either because we preferred to spend time on the beach.

We opted for self-catering because we didn't want to be tied as to when or what to eat: there are many restaurants and tavernas in Georgioupoli, which were all very reasonably priced, and we chose somewhere different every night. Zorbas has its own taverna and we had a very enjoyable meal there one evening.

We were very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We found that there was a small leak in the shower hose, which we reported, and it was replaced the following day. Our room was cleaned every day except Sunday, with clean towels several times during the week. The cleaner even put away the plates and cutlery that we'd left to dry.

Georgioupoli is a lovely little village with plenty of restaurants and bars as well as some small supermarkets and gift shops. The beach was only 5 minutes walk from the apartment although we opted to walk a little further east, away from the sunbeds and parasols. The beach is clean and sandy, and the water is clear, very blue, warm and perfect for swimming. It felt very safe too because it's deep enough to swim in but shallow enough to touch the floor some distance from the beach.

We would definitely return to Georgioupoli and Zorbas Apartments, especially at £189 for two of us for the week, although we've been attracted by the more secluded coves, warm waters and rustic landscape of the southern coast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheTravellingThinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Zorbas has to be one of the best. We stayed in June 10 for one week. We booked a one bed apartment which was very spacious and clean. There was a full bathroom with bath and powerful shower. We were on the front ground floor and had a good size balcony / terrace over looking the street, good for watching the world go by. The owners are all one family, Mum Dad and Sons. They are lovely people and nothing was to much trouble. Every morning Mum would lean over the end wall of your terrace and give us a nice cup of coffee on the house. Zorbas is also a Tavern with a small bar. The food is very tasty mainly traditional Cretan dishes. On our first night, as we waited for your meal to come, the local priest sat at a table behind us with the owners and some guests who have been returning year after year. They all seamed to be fiddling with something in a bucket and a knife and spoon. Being very curious my husband and I asked what they were doing. Sea urchin was the reply and then promptly given one cut in half to try. (It must be eaten alive or it is poisonous). You pour a little olive oil and a squeeze of lemon juice on to the orange roe in side and then scoop out with a piece of bread. It was very good and with a distinct taste of the sea and meant to be an aphrodisiac. As we obviously approved we were then presented with another one. We felt very honoured as the sea urchin is considered by the Greeks to be a great delicacy, better then caviar and very expensive.
Zorbas doesn’t have sea and mountain views but being only 3 minutes walk to the beach and a 100 meters to the main square, is in an excellent position. Georgiouplois is a lovely little village with a nice main square. It also had the Almiros River running through to the sea and a little harbour area. Therefore sea food is always good and very fresh. The beach goes on for miles and it is easy to find a less populated spot to spend the day. Beware though of strong under currents on a windy day. There are life guard stands scattered along the beach which is reassuring.
We hired a Jeep as there is a lot to see and do in the area. We have been visiting Greece for many years and been to many of the islands. We love Crete but our stay at Zorbas made our holiday. Would we stay there again? You bet, in fact we could happily move in. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeicestershireDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful two weeks in June. Zorbas was excellent. Spacious, spotlessly clean rooms, well serviced. Overlooking a quiet but very interesting side street. Restaurant provided very good, reasonably priced meals. Staff all very friendly and not at all pushy. Nice quiet pool. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob44east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#8 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
#27 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#23 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#21 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mythos Palace
Mythos Palace
#6 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kastellos Village
Kastellos Village
#3 of 18 in Georgioupolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Apartments

Property: Zorbas Apartments
Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zorbas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zorbas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorbas Apartments Hotel Georgioupolis
Zorbas Apartments Crete/Georgioupolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing